MeZ Fantasy Build

Mezeker

MeZ Fantasy Build

Postby Mezeker » September 13th, 2009, 12:54 am

So here it is; www.onlinecarstereo.com

I'm a bit of a newbie to the whole car stereo thing. But I'd like a system that has great sound quality and can get a 'little loud' not the kind of 2 blocks away loud but the SQ guys know what I mean. It's more for SQ with a teensy bit of Gallery.

My Budget is $800 US.
I'm looking for
-Deck
-4 speakers
-woofer, preferably shallow mount because i'll be using a truck.
-amp(s)

this does not include install or wiring.

If anyone could hit me up a build that I can order off of onlinecarstereo.com I would much appreciate it, I'd rather ask guys who know than buy a slapstick system and be dissapointed.

:) thx again

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 13th, 2009, 2:04 pm

The only reason i'm asking for it off of that website is cause i'm told they have great prices and it works perfectly for me as i'm in NY and its easy for me to order.

riadb

Postby riadb » September 13th, 2009, 2:40 pm

since u want more SQ

Alpine CDA-9886
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=18771

MB Quart DWI 302 Subwoofer
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19656

MTX TA5604 Amplifier
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=17009

MTX XT603 Speakers ( 2 pairs )
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=18191

Total - $684US

You can check me for installation also.
Last edited by riadb on September 13th, 2009, 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 13th, 2009, 2:43 pm

Will def check ya a trini fro install :P

riadb

Postby riadb » September 13th, 2009, 2:46 pm

glad to help

:wink:

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 13th, 2009, 2:47 pm

Quick ques tho, the amplifier really worth it? and that amp will cover everything?

riadb

Postby riadb » September 13th, 2009, 2:52 pm

yes it will,

amplifier is 300W rms bridged @ 4ohms so it will sufficiently supply your subwoofer and it is 150Wrms x 2 @ 2 ohm so it will sufficiently supply your 4 door speakers.

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 13th, 2009, 3:58 pm

just wondering if anyone else has any other ideas? I like riad's build so far cause its well under 800, leaving extra for cabling etc.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 13th, 2009, 9:10 pm

riad basically have u fully covered there !!

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » September 14th, 2009, 7:25 pm

riadb's options are fine. But I don't have anything else to do so here goes....

HU Kenwood Excelon KDC-X693
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=21642

Amplifiers:
4 channel: Alpine MRP-F300
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19262

Monoblock: Alpine MRP-M500
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19251

Speakers: Alpine SPS-600
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=18863

Subwoofer: RF P3SD412
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=18009

More expensive of course... total of $753.00

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 15th, 2009, 8:18 am

^^ not bad at all

alpine mids and an rf bassline :twisted:

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 15th, 2009, 8:42 am

hrmm, the subwoofer riadb suggested have a few ratings, and they all saying they going to upgrade while the other suggestion those RF woofers have great ratings..
i want solid bass, but not 'street shaking bass' just a bit more than i need to keep the sound in the car.. just a teensy bit of gallery...

I like these two options and i'm keeping an open mind.

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 15th, 2009, 8:44 am

it also seems, from what i heard.. thatthe alpine head unit is better than the kenwood. Isn't having a good head unit the foundation of a good system?

riadb

Postby riadb » September 15th, 2009, 11:02 am

Well the better the source...the better the final output.

The MB Quart Subwoofer is more of a SQ type woofer. If you want a good Street beater sub i would recommend the

Alpine CDA 9886
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=18771
$US276

MTX 5500 Series 12" Dual 4ohm
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=17019
$115US

Alpine MRP M500 Monoblock Amplifier
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19251
$169US

MTX XThunder X504 4ch amplifier
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=18486
$149US

JBL GTO637 6.5" 3-way speakers
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19910
2 pairs - $158US

total cost - $727

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 15th, 2009, 6:58 pm

Got to say, you guys have given me quite a lot to think about. Thanks for the input, hopefully you will see the build someday soon! :)

Postby cinco » September 15th, 2009, 11:57 pm

alpine is the better HU
RF subs are hard

Firewall

Postby Firewall » September 16th, 2009, 6:45 am

Deck:
Eclipse CD5030
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=22362
$259.00

Front stage:
Diamond Audio D362
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19205
$69.00

Rear fill:
Diamond Audio D362i
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=17168
$59.00

Mids Amp:
Orion CO600.4
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19363
$139.00

Sub Amp:
Orion CO800.1
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19365
$159.00

Sub:
Diamond Audio D110D2.2
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio ... ctID=19483
Pair - $98.00

Total - $783.00

What type of van is it? because depending on the type, you may not need to use a slim sub, and honestly, for a hilux that's more than enough for everyday listening.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » September 16th, 2009, 6:36 pm

^^^ I like this option. Personally, might go with different amps. Good comps though. :D

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 16th, 2009, 7:23 pm

Why are you buying new? That is a noobie move, go to ebay and look at used items of good quality that will keep their value, You can source better quality items used for (hopefully) the same price as lower end ones new. Dont rush in to anything on Ebay -- always bide your time get a feel for the market and be willing to let an item go if the "fools" bid it up too high.

Remember low to middle level items lose value from new faster than higher end items.

Spend money on the head unit and speakers - there are lots of discussions about why an amp is an amp is an amp (within limits I am not comparing BOSS to DLS ARC or Audison), you can make a few compromises here.

And for Gods sake figure out what your goals are - if you dont know where you are heading dont expect someone else to take you there.

Go to

http://www.diymobileaudio.com/

and research research research

or go to

http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthreads.php

These are probably polar opposites so between the two of them you should figure out what you want.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » September 16th, 2009, 8:16 pm

De Hero,the man already knows what type of system he wants
I'd like a system that has great sound quality and can get a 'little loud' not the kind of 2 blocks away loud but the SQ guys know what I mean. It's more for SQ with a teensy bit of Gallery.

and what's wrong with asking tuner for ideas? its a lot better than creating a million versus threads. and personally i'd rather buy local used where you can be sure of the quality of the equipment first hand than on e-bay cause remember its delicate electronics. and for all you know he prefers to buy new.

point i'm trying to make, is that we know that you're trying to help, but at least offer an option.

evolution7tt, don't get take by them amps eh, one of the best bang for buck combinations out there. and same amps that aaron took rookie with (at least i think it was rookie)

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 16th, 2009, 8:43 pm

Yes there is a chance of being ripped off - check the sellers ratings; dont buy from a first time seller; pay with PAYPAL (you'll have some degree of protection).

I know I didnt offer a suggestion - that was deliberate - the only thing worse than making your own mistakes is making someone elses.

Do your own research (of which this thread is one type) and make your own choices. The manufacturers love impulse buyers.

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 20th, 2009, 4:14 pm

Well the reason i'm interested in Buying new, especially in NY is that the warrantee's and all that jazz is enforced. + buying it from one source i.e. onlinecarstereo.com allows me to save on shipping and packaging costs. As well as.. ah just want to have a whole 'brand spanking new system' :P
The van is likely to be a mazda pickup double cab. The space behind the backseat is minimal.

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 20th, 2009, 7:20 pm

I have read some good stuff about these - do your own research, but they are not cheap.

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_subs ... ries_id=30

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » October 2nd, 2009, 8:01 pm

yeah boy hero, sorry but thats meh whole system budget for 1 woofer and i looking for a spec system