Help Needed... Trying To Find A Pair Of Earbuds...

DooMRR

Help Needed... Trying To Find A Pair Of Earbuds...

Postby DooMRR » September 10th, 2009, 7:36 pm

http://us.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=0&subcategory=&product=14702&nav=1

http://us.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=0&subcategory=&product=17398&nav=1

Was looking at these...
What confusing me it that under the specifications, the Aurvana Frequency Response is 20 Hz to 20 kHz
The EP-830 Frequency Response is 6Hz-23kHz

From looking at the price and the description, my guess is that the Aurvana is the higher model, yet the EP-830's frequency response is much wider. Now I know you can't hear below 20Hz and hear over 20kHz... But my guess is that the EP-830 will play the lows and highs better. So which of these do you all feel is better and why?

If you know any others that cost no more that $80US, your suggestions will be greatly accepted. Keep in mind I like my quality, but also like my bass... :twisted:
Thanks...

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » September 11th, 2009, 12:59 am

I think u post in d wrong forum.....but
I like the bose earbuds from pricemart....is like $550...best headphones i ever bought.. those give a dread low bass and fit comfortably in my ears

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2009, 10:43 am

the best earbuds i ever heard were those that came with the ipod

outside of that i don't really use headphones so i can't recommend

but based on your info i'd go with the EP-830 due to the wider range.

look for s/n ratio

_Rajiv_

Postby _Rajiv_ » September 11th, 2009, 12:13 pm

DJ Q wrote:the best earbuds i ever heard were those that came with the ipod

for real, same here

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 11th, 2009, 1:25 pm

those sound alright imo, but they fall out my ear easily... hence the reason I looking for the ones that actually go in your ear... And also, they suppose to sound way better...

DJ Q wrote:but based on your info i'd go with the EP-830 due to the wider range.

but you can't hear below 20Hz or over 20kHz. So will it still make a difference in sound quality :?:

xeon

Postby xeon » September 11th, 2009, 1:50 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » September 11th, 2009, 1:56 pm

look at the impedance and sensitivity differences between the two...

the Aurvana is highly sensitive, and has a high impedance (=little power used)

the EP-830 isn't anywhere near as sensitive, but has a much lower impedance to make up for it..

also, just because a freq response is 20Hz - 20kHz means it will effectively play all those freqs..

if i remember correctly, freq response is the range where the expected response stays above the -10dB mark on a graph..

the -3dB freq response is a far better guide, but it is not included..

typically, if the freq response is 20 - 20khz, the -3dB response will be something like 25hz - 18khz.. for example..

but with the 6Hz-23kHz response, the -3dB curve will be something like 15-20khz..

see my reasoning.. :wink:

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 11th, 2009, 3:04 pm

Those DD's are $119US... Would love to buy them, but too expensive...
The Kicker EB101 looks ok (the Frequency Response falls short of the others), but the EB141 looks wicked. Will keep the EB141 in mind... Thanks for the find...

3stagevtec wrote:typically, if the freq response is 20 - 20khz, the -3dB response will be something like 25hz - 18khz.. for example..

but with the 6Hz-23kHz response, the -3dB curve will be something like 15-20khz..

So the EP-830 would play the lows and highs stronger whereas the Aurvana might begin to fade at the ends.

So far,
The EP-830 should sound better due to good speakers and...
The Aurvana cancels out more environmental noises so it should sound more accurately.

Still can't decide which to take. :cry:
And I don't want to make my choice on Price...

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 11th, 2009, 3:14 pm

cvt-7_RR wrote:The Aurvana cancels out more environmental noises so it should sound more accurately..

my bad... It isolates more environmental noises so it should sound more accurately

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 11th, 2009, 3:17 pm

^hence

look for s/n ratio

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 13th, 2009, 12:57 am

I've had great experience with Skullcandy headphones.. kinda out there designs but definitely sexy sound.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 14th, 2009, 12:56 pm

ok guys, I finally narrowed down my search to two:
Aurvana In-Ear Headphones
Shure E2C Sound Isolating Earphones

The Aurvana's s/n ratio is 115db.
The Shure s/n ratio is 109db
Can't find the s/n for the EP-830, but I decided not to take this one...

The Aurvana has the better s/n, but people real boasting up the Shure, so I can't decide...
Which will you pick? Depending on the responses, I will make my decision...

TK!

Postby TK! » September 14th, 2009, 3:08 pm

Sennheiser wireless earbuds
http://www.sennheiserusa.com/private_he ... nes_502494

Sennheiser wired erbuds
http://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-CX300- ... B000E6G9RI

Dell's earbuds that come with de XPS

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » September 14th, 2009, 5:08 pm

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » September 14th, 2009, 7:18 pm

Q you need to hear some good earbuds.....the ipod earbuds are the worst (i will give it 3 out of 10

i talking from experience .....(the ones i have).................if you want quality and bass try the V-moda Vibe (they are rated in the top 10 Best earbuds by cnet) i paid $75us for my set.....
if you just want it loud with killer bass ....try the Skullcandy Ink'd and it's only $20.us(for the price they are the best)

for quality at a low price ......Sennheiser CX300-B Earbuds(it has a new cx400 out) i paid $25us for my cx300

i also loved my bose in-ear set :cry: but it was $100.plus

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 14th, 2009, 7:31 pm

Was looking at these... Found them to be the best bang for you buck... Would strongly recommend these to anyone... But for me, I just can't stand the fact that the wire is long on the right ear and short on the left. It is the same as the Sony Walkman headset(great sounding, but uncomfortable)

_____LAWD allyuh men finding some real bess ones... 8-) 8-)

Thanks for the suggestions...
Decided to choose from either the Creative Aurvana or Shure E2C...

Reason for the Aurvana is because I have a Creative Sound Card in my pc and it just simply amazing in sound quality... Creative really produce some amazing products...
And for the Shure, well... it's Shure... A highly respected company in the sound industry... Friend has a Shure Mic and he says it's the smallest, cleanest and strongest mic he ever had(and he has been through a lot)

So it's between the Shure and Creative...
Which do you guys feel is better :?: :?: :?:

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 14th, 2009, 7:49 pm

Where yall getting those dd headsets from?

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 14th, 2009, 11:09 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Where yall getting those dd headsets from?

I gonna ship down my pair if I can decide which to take...
Like yuh want some earbuDDs or wha? :lol: :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » September 15th, 2009, 6:12 am

http://www.klipsch.com/na-en/products/i ... -overview/

I read very good reviews about these. I have ordered a pair and should be getting them sometime this week. In addition to the good reviews the price is really good for what you're getting.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 15th, 2009, 9:24 am

bought a Skullcandy set from newegg..

all i can say is: WOW !

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

was curious as to how they sounded......... made a good choice!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 15th, 2009, 9:57 am

threeplumes wrote:

Q you need to hear some good earbuds.....the ipod earbuds are the worst (i will give it 3 out of 10

well from my experience i've never heard bass like i've heard from the ipod... so knowing that there's better than that out there... i'm interested in hearing some of these :)

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » September 15th, 2009, 4:28 pm

Chiney wrote:bought a Skullcandy set from newegg..

all i can say is: WOW !

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

was curious as to how they sounded......... made a good choice!

yeah chiney.... i still can't believe i paid $20.us for them ....for the price they are besssss ,and the bass is so low.....but it starts to crack up when you put them on maxx

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » September 15th, 2009, 7:00 pm

yeah skullcandy is rawtid

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 16th, 2009, 1:17 pm

Sully wrote:http://www.klipsch.com/na-en/products/image-s4-overview/

I read very good reviews about these. I have ordered a pair and should be getting them sometime this week. In addition to the good reviews the price is really good for what you're getting.

Damn this looks good... I think I will buy it...
When you get your pair, let me know how they perform.
Will wait for your verdict before I buy them. Thanks... :D

Sully

Postby Sully » September 18th, 2009, 6:17 am

I got them yesterday. They sound surprisingly good. The bass response is smooth, and get's lower than I expected, without compromising the high end response. They are extremely light and very comfortable, which if you've ever been on an 8 hour flight, you'll know is an important thing. The noise isolation aspect of it is very good.

For the price I'd say that you can't go wrong. If you have an iPhone there's a version for it the S4i, same quality but you get the same controls that you get with the iPhone ear buds.

De Hero

Postby De Hero » September 18th, 2009, 9:41 am

Try this link for research resources

http://www.head-fi.org/

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » September 19th, 2009, 1:44 am

Sully wrote:I got them yesterday. They sound surprisingly good. The bass response is smooth, and get's lower than I expected, without compromising the high end response. They are extremely light and very comfortable, which if you've ever been on an 8 hour flight, you'll know is an important thing. The noise isolation aspect of it is very good.

For the price I'd say that you can't go wrong. If you have an iPhone there's a version for it the S4i, same quality but you get the same controls that you get with the iPhone ear buds.

Nice. Good to hear they sound good with clean bass. Then I've made up my mind. Klipsch FTW! :D
Planning to using them on my laptop and other music devices.

Thanks for the help guys.

TK!

Postby TK! » September 24th, 2009, 12:09 am

De Hero wrote:Try this link for research resources

http://www.head-fi.org/

buh wah i do dem so?

"Sorry. The administrator has banned your IP address. To contact the administrator click here"