delete

insane37

delete

Postby insane37 » August 20th, 2009, 2:20 pm

as topic says
Last edited by insane37 on July 11th, 2018, 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 20th, 2009, 3:50 pm

what your intended use? sq, spl?how much power you have on tap?

insane37

Postby insane37 » August 20th, 2009, 3:57 pm

its for a daily played system. power isn't an issue.

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » August 20th, 2009, 5:18 pm

go with the w6v2 it's more musical than the eclipse
the jl will work in a smaller box where as the box for the eclipse might be kinda huge
the eclipse will handle more power though if u decide to go with a loud bass

my advice go with the sub dat would go lower an instead of fighting up to max out the performance on one sub use multiple subs once power is not an issue

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 20th, 2009, 6:14 pm

have experience with the jl..

great subs for sq and the lows..

never worked with a Ti b4

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 20th, 2009, 6:50 pm

This one is tough, but it sounds like you have a lot of power on tap.

I heard both already and for a daily sub ported or sealed, I would choose the eclipse mainly because it should handle more power than the JL.
For a more sound Q approach with lower power, I would choose the JL. At that power level, the JL is a winner and the best all round sub at around 4-600W imo.

insane37

Postby insane37 » August 20th, 2009, 9:54 pm

tanks alot tuners, have anyone had problems with the suspension of the w6v2? i heard its the weak point of the sub.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 20th, 2009, 10:00 pm

^^ yes it is

the w6v2 i had, the suspension was repaired.

BUT

didnt affect performance at all..

acutally.. the sub was said to be more reliable then...

insane37

Postby insane37 » August 20th, 2009, 10:16 pm

^^^^
where did u repair it? because of the suspension i'm holding back on the w6.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 20th, 2009, 10:18 pm

bought it so..srry cant help u there.......

Hydrographic Dezigns

Postby Hydrographic Dezigns » August 20th, 2009, 10:27 pm

I never heard the Eclipse before but i currently own a pair of W6v2 12's and over 2 years now i have them put down because of the suspension. Both of the suspensions dry rot and burst up.

Other than that they sound very good. One of the smoothest and cleanest bass i had in some of the smallest enclosures.

If anyone know where i can get them fix please let me know.
I already tried KP so is there anyone you'll recommend.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 21st, 2009, 7:48 am

my vote goes to the eclipse, gets loud and drops low when you want it to

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 21st, 2009, 8:02 am

and the suspension wud hold out longer than the JL

even tho i have heard of some times where the suspension had to be replaced on ppl's Ti..

but the right power, in the right enclosure and maybe if u treat the suspension good, it will keep any sub lasting long..

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » August 21st, 2009, 8:10 am

jl ftw..1 of the best woofers ive ever used and always contemplated on buying a w6v2 again

my w7 is about 2 years and neva got any problems suspension wise..and if im not mistaken it think the type of material they use on the w7 and w6's suspension are the same material but jl site not loading for me rite now

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » August 21st, 2009, 8:57 am

didnt know u have a w7

Aimar

Postby Aimar » August 21st, 2009, 10:10 am

W6v2 Subwoofer Drivers
What if the compromises inherent in speaker design could be negotiated to create exceptional sound quality and output in very compact enclosures?

What if you could apply years of intense research and vast experience in subwoofer driver design to such a project?

What if the freedom existed to engineer every component of the new design from the ground up?

You are looking at our answer to these questions, the W6v2 drivers.

All this technology comes together to deliver subwoofers that excel in thermal power handling, linear excursion capability and dynamic stability; all of which contribute to the original goals: The ability to have amazing low-frequency extension in compact enclosures, razor sharp definition of complex bass material and audiophile sound quality at any volume level...

...in other words, the balance of power and finesse.

All W6v2 Subwoofers are built, with fanatical attention to detail, in our Miramar, Florida factory.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » August 21st, 2009, 10:20 am

I had both subs, strangely enough both had suspension problems.

IF you have more than 800rms to work with, then go with the TI, if not then the JL would suit you.

Both are really good subs.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 21st, 2009, 10:06 pm

TIP: if u guys wanna look at preventative measures to alleviate the stress of dry rotting of suspensions, i use good ole wd40.........it works and i dont have problems with it. i just spray on d suspension and wipe with a cloth.... trust me it works.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 21st, 2009, 10:43 pm

^^ i do dat too :mrgreen:

used Amror All already too :oops:

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 21st, 2009, 10:54 pm

yuh hadda leave it ah lil while eh to soak in

Postby Gladiator » August 21st, 2009, 11:30 pm

Make sure to use some nice clean power on the JL..... they dont like distortion

insane37

Postby insane37 » August 22nd, 2009, 6:27 pm

i using TMA amps.

Postby 7143 » August 22nd, 2009, 7:19 pm

gfbl wrote:my vote goes to the eclipse, gets loud and drops low when you want it to

eclipse ti ftw.....

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 22nd, 2009, 9:13 pm

^^ At least parts can be sourced for the JL, good luck on finding soft parts for the TI without paying a first born for it.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 22nd, 2009, 9:26 pm

pioneer wrote:Sourced how?...you have to send in the sub directly to them...they not gonna sell it to any "dealer"...and sending it to them isn't exactly cheap

Call kp and find out the price of a new kit for a ti.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 22nd, 2009, 9:49 pm

kp wrote: PM andy

Postby Gladiator » August 22nd, 2009, 10:06 pm

Had my 12W6V2 for 4 years now no problems... using daily in my bro's car.

Was dissappointed in JL's older subs due to the suspension prolems but the newer line is much better.

JL subs are much more sensitive than other subs, they dont do well with distorted power, they self destruct if you build your enclosure wrong, but they sound real accurate and linear which is what really matters i guess. Also not a sub for the guys that like to say "it rated 500W but could it take 1000W"..... :roll: