Pioneer and their grounding problems

evo-STI-k

Pioneer and their grounding problems

Postby evo-STI-k » July 21st, 2009, 7:46 am

Whats escapes me is why PIONEER has not taken any proper protective steps to ensure that theier headunit do not continue to have the infamous grouding problems and their pico fuses .

:?

you would think that if an electronic giant has a KNOWN problem for years with their grounding that they would strive to do somethign about it.

Postby SR » July 21st, 2009, 7:49 am

who says its a problem
the grounding issue usually occurs when you do not follow the installation proceedures set out by the manufacturer

if you read the manual one of the fisrt things it says is to disconnect the negative battery terminal

Postby X_Factor » July 21st, 2009, 7:56 am

but the type of pioneers ppl sell locally, is that the good stock?
maybe just a coincidence but i bought the deck i recently sold off amazon and the seller was crutchfield..

i had the deck for exactly one year with NO probs, friends who bought theirs locally they had grounding issues, and after about 8mths the CD mechanism started giving trouble so i was wondering if trinidad sells good stock?

the guy who bought it from me even told me its working better than one or two of his friends decks

Postby Gladiator » July 21st, 2009, 8:49 am

The failure rate on pioneer head units is too high, I will never recommend it unless you just want the cheapest deck out there.

All the cases of failure i am familiar with were different but the grounding problem is a manufacturers defect and the company should compensate people for their losses.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 21st, 2009, 8:54 am

as SR, said...once you follow instructions nothing should go wrong with it....

ive had my pio deck for more than a year and only recently i blew the ground because my bass wires crossed....

the only thing i hate about them is the damn static noise it sends through the speakers when a cell is ringing :evil: ....blew one of my ciare cause of that

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 21st, 2009, 9:23 am

i ALWAYS INSTALL PROPERLY AYE SR , but I HAVE COME ACROSS cases where the groundign issue came into play over time.....................

but ill still buy a p880 or a p800 in a heartbeat!

Postby SR » July 21st, 2009, 9:35 am

the issue with the grounding problems after installation is that once the deck has power to it(deosnt have to be switched on) and the rca's are disconnected/reconnected when either switching/installing/troubleshooting and amp or any emnt downstream it causes a fuseable link on the main board of the deck to blow

while i agree this is a nusiance but it can be related to pioneer's new high output built in amplifier chip

best thing is to either dicsinnect the battery terminal or the deck harness before making any changes

quickest ratch fix if you have the problem is to ground the negative shielding of the rca

Postby wagonrunner » July 21st, 2009, 9:39 am

SR,
how about installing a toggle switch on the ground connection?
if you are going to make any changes, flick switch, and you're safe. compared to the seeming hassle of disconnecting the battery.

Postby SR » July 21st, 2009, 9:45 am

keep in mind in most cases the negative shield for the antenna is also a "ground" as well as the cage on the deck or the mounting pt could be grounded the the chassis of the vehicle somwhere
safest bet is to jsut pull the bat terminal

as well as
how often do you make changes to warrant looking for an easier way than the bat terminal

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 21st, 2009, 9:51 am

SR wrote:keep in mind in most cases the negative shield for the antenna is also a "ground" as well as the cage on the deck or the mounting pt could be grounded the the chassis of the vehicle somwhere
safest bet is to jsut pull the bat terminal

as well as
how often do you make changes to warrant looking for an easier way than the bat terminal

:lol: you think about that and let me know how much i change my stuff?

Lance

Postby Lance » July 21st, 2009, 9:58 am

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 21st, 2009, 11:19 am

can somebody say from what yr model onwards that they started to give trouble ??? ....

Aimar

Postby Aimar » July 21st, 2009, 11:37 am

Since long time they giving trouble.... Had a P-920r back then and i believe the ribbon went bad....Stuepssss. That was one ah the best head units i ever had. :(
But never had any grounding issues then.

Postby SR » July 21st, 2009, 11:42 am

since they started uisng the 50x4 mosfet chip

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 21st, 2009, 11:50 am

wagonrunner wrote:SR,
how about installing a toggle switch on the ground connection?
if you are going to make any changes, flick switch, and you're safe. compared to the seeming hassle of disconnecting the battery.

that a good idea!

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 21st, 2009, 12:00 pm

SR wrote:
quickest ratch fix if you have the problem is to ground the negative shielding of the rca

that's it right there. won't kill all the noise though, but more than 90% of it.

Lorenzo

Postby Lorenzo » July 21st, 2009, 3:54 pm

if somthing is wrong with the ground, can it cause the deck not to come on?????

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 21st, 2009, 4:28 pm

ok since we talking bout pioneers here, I have a 690ub and one day the settings just went, which could only happen if the battery was disconnected but it was not, what you all think could be the reason?

Lorenzo

Postby Lorenzo » July 21st, 2009, 4:33 pm

the same thing happened to my unit and after i set it back an tried to play a cd it cut off and it doesnt want to come back on

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 21st, 2009, 9:06 pm

well i not in d game long like some of d guys on here but i do agree if what u saying about them having d problem at least 5yrs now they shud do something better , especially for d average DIY person who hooked up his own stuff & did a not so good install so as to prevent that from happening

have 0 problems with my 4yr old premier 860 ...when i had installed it i grounded it to that long steel bar under d dash so it has a solid grounding point & i never had any issues at all with my deck , if ever i decide to upgrade it will be a 800prs since my deck never had any problems ... :|

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 22nd, 2009, 12:48 pm

so apparently its everything named "pioneer" that have problems and isues!

Postby SR » July 22nd, 2009, 1:04 pm

Gladiator wrote:The failure rate on pioneer head units is too high, I will never recommend it unless you just want the cheapest deck out there.

All the cases of failure i am familiar with were different but the grounding problem is a manufacturers defect and the company should compensate people for their losses.

Agreed

So SR and others, what accounts for the failed cd eject mechanism that plagues many people with pioneer decks?

Alpine ftw.

do you facts stating this is a worlwide problem or just locally??

we have had ZERO issues with any pioneer deck that we sold and installed
as well as ZERO issues with those that were sold and installed elsewhere
over the last 8 years

Postby 3stagevtec » July 22nd, 2009, 1:25 pm

i had 2 different Pioneer decks with CD eject problems..

Postby SR » July 22nd, 2009, 2:07 pm

as stated b4
since pioneer started using the 50x4 mosfet chip this is an issue

however i do belive the pioneer internal amp has the most power over any other brand when driving speakers direct

small price to pay for an issue that can be avoided if the installtion was done properly

IMHO
more decks should be offere without an internal amp as in most cases external amps are used

cost of deck can come down

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2009, 2:10 pm

SR wrote:do you facts stating this is a worlwide problem or just locally??

we have had ZERO issues with any pioneer deck that we sold and installed
as well as ZERO issues with those that were sold and installed elsewhere
over the last 8 years

Then i guess it's a local random thing then, judging from the number of threads/complaints people have/had on this forum.

wrt to the grounding issue, how come it doesn't/hasn't happen to decks of other brands eg. Alpine? I could pull my rca's in and out all day and nothing will happen.

lame design?

anything name pioneer cyar be good :idea:

Postby SR » July 22nd, 2009, 2:28 pm

pioneer's line drive is better than alpine's
especially the subwoofer

markzz

Postby markzz » July 22nd, 2009, 6:25 pm

hmm.. here's my $0.02c

Fact- more people in Trinidad own Pioneer decks than everything else.

Fact- Pioneer decks have the most value for money function wise than the majority of other brands.

Fact- Many Pioneer deck users neglect their units because they are relatively "cheap" vs a user of another more expensive brand who would tend to take better care of their units.
(eg. Nike sneakers vs Flame.. lol. i dont think the flame owner would care as much for his sneaker than the Nike due to cost and "brand" hence a Nike sneaker is perceived to last longer when actually it may be of a similar lifespan.)

Its about perceived value.. the greater the perceived or actual value the more care is taken to preserve it. Its a fact!

I am not disregarding the fact that all decks have a failure rate.. and all companies have returns.

However do a quick head count of tuners that own Pioneer decks vs say Alpine.
The figures will be way off. Hence the likely hood of a Pioneer failing due to neglect, mistreatment, improper installation or manufacturer defect is far higher.

Its not possible to make a fair comparison in this regard.

Failing grounds- as SR said due to improper/ incorrect installation practices and troubleshooting.

With respect to CD eject and feeding mechanism failing or becoming weak "sticking".

This could well be due to pulling Cd's out of the slot before they are properly ejected.
or pushing it into the deck and forcing the mechanism rather than allowing the mechanism to feed it as it was designed to.

This can cause the springs in the units feeding mechanism to weaken with time.

N.B. the use of Cd's with stickers or raised printing or designs can also put strain on this mechanism as it affects the thickness of the media and the mechanism will have to work harder to do its job.

I have owned and installed many a pioneer decks and never seen a problem. my oldest deck is a 4yr old DEH-P6700MP still going strong...

Comments...???

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 22nd, 2009, 6:52 pm

as for the poineer deh p880 VS the alpine cda-9887

forget the alpine! i have had both units and ill tell you hands down the pioneer is better in MANY Aspects including performance!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 7:05 pm

^^^man i always wanted to know that - great !

so i guess d 800prs is supposed to be a even better & improved version of d 880 ?...

markzz

Postby markzz » July 22nd, 2009, 7:20 pm

well i have nothing bad to say about either unit.. both seem to be basically @ the same level as well as pricing..

the pioneer has a little edge with respect to equalization though.. both have small differences otherwise nothing to rant about.. i say the choice between these is based on user taste and the need for EQ.. as different speakers require more or less EQ to reproduce sound accurately.