ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » July 22nd, 2009, 1:09 am

^^^ D man want to kidnap yuh :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 22nd, 2009, 2:28 am

madman.devin, delivery? Rio Claro sounding real far.. :(

i just bought me a sheet of 18mm (3/4") Turpan Ultralight mdf in Bhagwansings for $155.. the sheet is crazy light, excellent for building low powered subwoofers..

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » July 22nd, 2009, 11:56 am

hmm well i lookin 4 sum good quality 3/4 or 1" in south..dont mind payin 4 d good stuff..

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 22nd, 2009, 12:00 pm

Organise a group buy and transport for the 1". And drop off by each man house on the way back.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 22nd, 2009, 12:48 pm

Transport might be a problem, cause all far runs are made by the 40' trailer truck and it's hard for him to make small stops.

group buy sounding good i could organise a better price

Lance

Postby Lance » July 22nd, 2009, 12:49 pm

gimme a $40, i go bring that down on muh back....Things bad these days..need paper.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 22nd, 2009, 12:58 pm

I cud lend yuh some rope to tie down on the B14 roof...to make it easier nuh

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 22nd, 2009, 7:23 pm

^^ i have a set of bungee chords i could lend :lol: :lol:

group buy sound reasonable

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 22nd, 2009, 8:05 pm

madman.devin wrote:Rovin we sell the 1" mdf for 260 a sheet

The RHS that are imported are the shorter ones, as with everything u get what u pay for !

Once again I have to make a spin down that side jead.

Last time I heard about the 1'' MDF was inside Bhagwansings warehouse where I had asked and the guy said that "big companies" buy out all b4 it even reachs.

i just bought me a sheet of 18mm (3/4") Turpan Ultralight mdf in Bhagwansings for $155..

I paid that for 5/8 Turpan...

Question how long can MDF be kept stored for? Given it is kept dry.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 22nd, 2009, 8:23 pm

(...Rovin...),if you seriously want it frommadman.devin, let me know and i might be able to help you. But is a hilux, not a flatbed.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » July 22nd, 2009, 8:32 pm

i use 1" MDF already and i find that that is the best material considering price/square foot to build speaker box with. I just get it from my dad though as he uses it for making templates to run his C&C router.

i had the atomic in that box for a short stint and it didn't flex at all. Was probably the strongest box i ever built.

And i ask this question as i could most likely get any kinda of wood to make my boxes out of. Like purple heart, green heart, cedar, any type from guyanna or the states that yuh could think about.

the MDF that we get from brazil though is a very good quality MDF.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 22nd, 2009, 8:35 pm

Chain up the diesel boys to make a rio run..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 8:37 pm

trupan brand made in chile is of very good quality

few yrs ago i got some dark color heavy mdf from some hardware & that was d worst - had alot of moisture content in it & d saw had to work harder to go through it , u cud even see d dust made was heavy & not flying about ...

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 22nd, 2009, 10:47 pm

turpan ultra lite is great quality

but recently i got a new one-

turpan mill

even better quality, but it's milk white,and about 1.5 times heavier, but more solid that the original ultralite

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 22nd, 2009, 10:53 pm

southside connections, boy i does done catch my behind to lift 1 sheet of normal 3/4.

you sure that's not just the pre painted mdf? or when you cut it its still white?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 22nd, 2009, 11:21 pm

look into my recent build for the 2 12 system, you will see it

it' not painted mdf ect

just plain and cuts are white as top layers

i actually put a 2" screw tru the side at about 1/2 inch, and no splitting

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 22nd, 2009, 11:41 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:trupan brand made in chile is of very good quality

few yrs ago i got some dark color heavy mdf from some hardware & that was d worst - had alot of moisture content in it & d saw had to work harder to go through it , u cud even see d dust made was heavy & not flying about ...

yo rovin was this 5/8" mdf ? We had 9 bales of those and sold them out mainly to funeral homes, rell mess to build a box with.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 11:51 pm

well is 3\4" i mainly use

maybe yall got a bad batch - it happens .... since like i said above sometimes i too occasionally get some not too nice sheets ...

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 22nd, 2009, 11:53 pm

nah it was intentional lol 5/8's mdf for $ 75 retail cheaper by the bale ! the funeral homes loved it lol

Lance

Postby Lance » July 23rd, 2009, 7:08 am

I know these darker Sheets, I don't think its bad batches, more like cheap bad raw materials, probably recycled, geared towards making an overall cheaper sheet. It has a weird ass smell also.

Postby nervewrecker » July 23rd, 2009, 7:22 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Once again I have to make a spin down that side jead.

carry me with you, plz :oops:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 23rd, 2009, 11:02 pm

carfreak1024 wrote:i use 1" MDF already and i find that that is the best material considering price/square foot to build speaker box with. I just get it from my dad though as he uses it for making templates to run his C&C router.

i had the atomic in that box for a short stint and it didn't flex at all. Was probably the strongest box i ever built.

And i ask this question as i could most likely get any kinda of wood to make my boxes out of. Like purple heart, green heart, cedar, any type from guyanna or the states that yuh could think about.

if u in trini and could hook me up with some good deals on ceder for my kitchen and workshop cupboards i'll appreciate it ... heck i'll sponser a case of ur choice

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 24th, 2009, 6:16 pm

MonsterPower wrote:
carfreak1024 wrote:i use 1" MDF already and i find that that is the best material considering price/square foot to build speaker box with. I just get it from my dad though as he uses it for making templates to run his C&C router.

if u in trini and could hook me up with some good deals on ceder for my kitchen and workshop cupboards i'll appreciate it ... heck i'll sponser a case of ur choice

PM much? :roll:

4R hardware also had 1" MDF I was told by a worker there in gasparilo(sp), costs $250 a sheet

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » July 25th, 2009, 10:18 pm

hey MonsterPower we don't sell material to people. We use most of it if not all of it in the work we do, and the pieces i use to make my boxes would be offcut or anything that my dad not using.

If yuh need material yuh could check ezee hardware they have branches in arima and longdenville.

also yuh making yuh own kitchen ah wah.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 25th, 2009, 11:51 pm

proud say the wifey to be letting me design my own kitchen .. sad thing is i cant cook as good as her but at least i know she will be comfortable when she cookin for me :D

i was more lookin to buy teak wholesale and score it at a cheaper price

so lets not go offtrack .. did anyone get or find mdf cheaper ??

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 25th, 2009, 11:52 pm

i saw a box made of marble today

guy was a german,only phenoix gold right tru

silent_riot

Re: WTK: Best Material to make Speaker Box With

Postby silent_riot » February 9th, 2011, 8:19 am

Anyone got any 18mm Baltic ply recently?
Been making some calls and no one has.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 9th, 2011, 1:21 pm

what is that normally used for, if it used in the furniture industry or anything to do with construction i can probably get it.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 9th, 2011, 9:08 pm

last box i built for anybody was in may last yr so that is how long i buy mdf but i need to make a few to keep around my shop so what price 3\4" mdf (preferably TRUPAN) going for nowadays ? ....

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 9th, 2011, 10:39 pm

Had a thread in f/s recently, I think someone quoted bhags @ $180?