advantage/disadvantage of.......

RaLLiArT

advantage/disadvantage of.......

Postby RaLLiArT » May 10th, 2009, 6:32 pm

using a 2 channel amp brigded as compared to using a monoblock on a sub (dual 2ohms), so it can be used 4ohms on the 2channel amp and 1ohm on the monoblock . assuming both amps hav similiar power rating at full load.

riadb

Postby riadb » May 10th, 2009, 9:02 pm

nope it can be done

class D monoblocks are more efficient than class AB multiple channel amps so current draw using the 2ch amp will be a bit higher

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » May 11th, 2009, 4:42 am

riadb wrote:nope it can be done

class D monoblocks are more efficient than class AB multiple channel amps so current draw using the 2ch amp will be a bit higher

But he didnt say the 2 channel was class a/b

Monoblock or 2 channel would not make a difference, once yuh make sure yuh getting de most power from the rated specs / ohm load

Pirate

Postby Pirate » May 11th, 2009, 7:21 am

the mono will use less current and produce less heat than the 2 channel amp! (under normal conditions)

Postby 3stagevtec » May 11th, 2009, 8:37 am

it depends on the amp design..

class A/B 2CH - about 50 - 60% efficient, better quality

class D mono OR 2CH - 65%+ efficiency, slightly lower quality than the class A/B amp

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » May 11th, 2009, 6:18 pm

to make things a lil easier the 2 channel amp i'm reffering to is the crossfire xp7202

casper

Postby casper » May 11th, 2009, 10:54 pm

wont a mono be able to play low notes better than a 2 channel as how its designed to play bass better???

jes a question...so dont shoot me :oops:

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 11th, 2009, 11:26 pm

casper wrote:wont a mono be able to play low notes better than a 2 channel as how its designed to play bass better???

eehee d 2 channel amps play the lower notes with better quality. Heard this from installers. When i played my dd 15 with a pcx2400, it was crazy, and i wasnt listening for sound quality, so i cant confirm. Any way in a while i will have 2 pcx2400 so i mite try a ting??

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 11th, 2009, 11:28 pm

RaLLiArT wrote:to make things a lil easier the 2 channel amp i'm reffering to is the crossfire xp7202

u want to use the crossfire 7202 to run a small bass, when compared to a mono giving the same power u said, i dont think there wil be any noticeable difference.

Sully

Postby Sully » May 12th, 2009, 6:21 am

casper wrote:wont a mono be able to play low notes better than a 2 channel as how its designed to play bass better???

Not necessarily. The mono are usually class D amplifiers that initially didn't have the processing speed to handle higher frequencies, which is why they were primarily bass amps. Improvements in the PWM circuitry has now allowed class D amplifiers to be able to produce high frequencies much more accurately.

A class A/B amplifier would be able to produce the bass just as good as a class D amplifier with similar power ratings, but the class D would draw less current to do so.

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » May 12th, 2009, 7:03 am

You cannot assume the Mono is class D and the 2 Channel is Class A/B

It might be the other way around.

I have Class A/B monoblocks that are used for highs and mids, and most higher end amplifiers are actually DUAL MONO amps.

So as I said, different between a two channel bridged and a monoblock is nothing, considering all factors are the same and the amps do their power at the rated ohm loads