w.t.k

drawersdropper

w.t.k

Postby drawersdropper » May 5th, 2009, 10:33 pm

i have a pair of selenium compression drivers.
should i use resistors or run them straight from the amps

Pirate

Postby Pirate » May 6th, 2009, 1:17 am

don't u mean capacitors?
if u just use capacitors the X-over slope will be 6dB so u will have to cross them relatively high to avoid damage.

drawersdropper

Postby drawersdropper » May 6th, 2009, 1:46 am

thanks, but what is the recomended uf of a capacitor to use if the low freq cut off is 800 hz ?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 6th, 2009, 7:32 am

drawersdropper wrote:thanks, but what is the recomended uf of a capacitor to use if the low freq cut off is 800 hz ?

dats why u try ur best not to use capacitors. Do you have an external crossover in your system?
If its a high quality one you could cross your signal from there so the amp will have a good signal already and wouldnt need anything.

Or if it was like a ppi or orion amp the crossovers on the amp are so state of the art that you wouldnt even need a external crossover.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 6th, 2009, 12:10 pm

its better to cross actively , ie before the amps rather than passively because impedance varies with frequency and the cap crossover value will shift as a result of this

how much it will shift by is a function of the particular driver as each impedance curve is different

as for a resistor ... this will raise the overall load seen by the amp and therefore the amp will not put out as much power but then too u have gain and level controls on ur amps and processors so a resistor is not necessary

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » May 6th, 2009, 12:15 pm

just get a real crossover, either passive or active.

Those caps mean yuh looking for trouble, they arent meant to take much power and they can ruin your amps and horns

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 6th, 2009, 12:53 pm

i have run RCF using a clarion cross & matrix b4 d amp ... never gave problems or burn .......

audiomaniac

Postby audiomaniac » May 6th, 2009, 1:54 pm

quick question as we on this topic.....
If a driver is rated @ 50w rms, what's the maximum rms it cud be given?

drawersdropper

Postby drawersdropper » May 7th, 2009, 3:44 pm

thanx for your xpert opinions fellas i`ve been enlightened