My Sundown / DC combo at IASCA

Postby 3stagevtec » April 25th, 2009, 8:58 pm

The Power
1 pair of Sundown Audio SAZ1500Ds

The Subs
DC Audio Level 4 subs with the level 5 dual 1ohm coil.

The Enclosures
Nothing too special, just a simple pair of ported boxes, reinforced inside with a few layers of fiberglass and resin..

currently, they are 4cu.ft tuned about 40Hz..

The scores so far..
150.1dB at the MK show in skinner park..
151.6dB (unofficial) at the Hillview College free IDBL testing..

My current goal is to make 152dBs.. ideally, i'd like to see a 153 though..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 25th, 2009, 9:05 pm

ay so u went 2 d hillview show then

niiiiice score ! .... :)

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » April 25th, 2009, 9:47 pm

i sure you could make 153-154 after a few shows,are the subs fully broken-in yet??

sundownz

Postby sundownz » April 25th, 2009, 10:44 pm

Good job :)

nirmal_333

Postby nirmal_333 » April 26th, 2009, 12:08 am

looks niceeeee but are they 15 or 18'sss ?

casper

Postby casper » April 26th, 2009, 12:17 am

nice score 3stage...i went up a lil ting this show cuz i tried somn different with my bass too....

i made 142.3 playing a milli.... LOL

nothing near to your score but i still kinda happy...LOL

Cunupia_soundz

Postby Cunupia_soundz » April 26th, 2009, 4:04 am

Das good rel cuz wit d 15 we does make around 141 wit glass down in bass boxin..das a good score for 1 12 playin music

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 26th, 2009, 9:27 am

nice stuff man.........

Postby 3stagevtec » April 26th, 2009, 10:51 am

subs are 15"s, still not fully broken in yet..

currently my vehicle peaks at around 47 - 50Hz, and my boxes are tuned a little too low to match that.. hopefully i should be able to get a little more dB out of them..

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 26th, 2009, 1:29 pm

I hear dem thangz yesterday in Hillview... :shock:

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » April 26th, 2009, 6:27 pm

i know i was hearing a bass coming from you but i say you doh normally play so i didnt come to see but from where i was standing it was like OMG :shock: :shock: :shock:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » April 26th, 2009, 6:56 pm

Looking forward to seeing some higher numbers soon!

Your system has alot of potential

yos19

Postby yos19 » April 27th, 2009, 3:53 pm

niceeeee score dude...like yuh trying sumting new :wink:

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 27th, 2009, 7:36 pm

Can anyone prescribe the best method of breaking-in your subs?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 27th, 2009, 9:30 pm

Ginxdor wrote:Can anyone prescribe the best method of breaking-in your subs?

break in is mainly to loosen your sub's suspension.. playing low frequencies (between 20 - 30Hz) with your subs in free air is a good method.. while breaking in, keep the sub's excursion to about 1/2 - 3/4 of its max capability..

it usually takes a long while for them to break in, so an overnight play is recommended..

another easier method it to play them at moderate volume for the 1st week or 2 before you go all out on them..

audioholic big D

Postby audioholic big D » April 28th, 2009, 12:39 am

Loooks like a devious hybrid u should expect way bigger numbers when its broken in............

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 28th, 2009, 10:54 am

this contraption sounded DEVIOUS!!!

I can't get over the Bass!

Smooth!
Loud!

I'll never forget the sound!

(I still say you could have unscrew yoru door speakers and stick dem on the hood for a lil galery)

I made 138.(7?) with the type-r but i sure i could clock at least 140.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 28th, 2009, 6:59 pm

3stage y u doh adjust yuh system a lil bit so yuh could do a lil gallery, or is it beacause those amps are runin half ohm?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 29th, 2009, 7:46 am

noyztoyz wrote:3stage y u doh adjust yuh system a lil bit so yuh could do a lil gallery, or is it beacause those amps are runin half ohm?

a lil later on i will build up a gallery set to match them.. the funds a lil low right now..

the plan is to use a single pair of Faital Pro 12"s along with a pair (or 2) of compression drivers...

the amps work great at 1/2 ohm for both SPL comps and music! as long as my voltage doesn't drop too low (i.e below 12V) i shouldn't have any worries..

audiokev

Postby audiokev » May 2nd, 2009, 10:19 am

awesome combo.you should make 153.something with ease man.
remeber it's all about the enclosure :shock:

RustyWCA

Postby RustyWCA » May 7th, 2009, 11:39 am

very nice job :wink:

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » May 10th, 2009, 12:03 am

hey 3stage put up a vid on youtube nah, i is watch all yuh vids dan, nice install. Gonna do a similar setup with Audiopipe 15s except i gonna use 4 of them. Maybe this summer i go ask for your advice in box making.

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » May 10th, 2009, 8:51 am

some nice scores..with the sub not even broken in yet..nicccce.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 10th, 2009, 10:46 am

thanks everyone!

carfreak1024 wrote:hey 3stage put up a vid on youtube nah, i is watch all yuh vids dan, nice install. Gonna do a similar setup with Audiopipe 15s except i gonna use 4 of them. Maybe this summer i go ask for your advice in box making.

:shock: that's gonna be crazy! my system is down at the moment, will make some vids as soon as i get a chance...