10" CDT Box Build & Review ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2009, 12:46 am

model is CDT EF-100 : http://www.cdtaudio.com/sub_woofers_08.htm

owner wanted a nice small neat little box to take up least trunk space so sealed was his decision

sub to be played off the 3&4 channels bridged of a 4 chan kicker amp to play both a pair of speakers upfront & sub

probably d smallest sub box i have made & 1 of d very few sealed i have ever been asked to build since not much request for sealed boxes ...built with 3\4" since thats what i usually have around to build boxes

sub came with a rubber ring around the magnet but it was removed

if u r wondering if it is a square : no ! - its not a perfect cube , slightly rectangular : its WxLxD varies slightly ....(some experts DO NOT rec a square box so that is why this is not a perfect cube)

Review :
(as always i test boxes i built in my wagon b4 i give them to d owner)

its a 250wrms\500wmax svc sub in a sealed box so dont expect to do any high spl numbers or for ppl to hear u a mile away - this is intended to be run off 'small power' for a daily light system

i tested it off my 4 chan alpine amp chan 3&4 bridged which does 300wms @ 12v so it was tested with engine off ...sub is brand new so its needs breaking in ...tried some carshow rap\dub songs : sounded quite nice on d lower notes for such a small box with 1 10" , no powerful bass to feel in ur chest but nice smooth to compliment a pair of 100wrms comps upfront , lpf on deck set to 50 & then 63 & back\forth - think i prefer d 50hz lpf since i really like bass under 50hz

generally imho - its not a sub & box combo to go blast loudly since it wont win any soundoffs but its a nice sufficient in car bass for a small daily system especially for such a small box .... 8-)

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 21st, 2009, 4:17 am

nice review, nice build as usual :wink:

xeon

Postby xeon » April 21st, 2009, 7:24 am

nice review

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2009, 1:46 pm

for some reason, i find it looking like a small HCCA... :shock:

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 21st, 2009, 6:20 pm

like yuh lovin d red
:D

theblitz

Postby theblitz » April 21st, 2009, 6:49 pm

(...Rovin...), can you remember what you heard about cube boxes? I remember I had a P2.5 MMATS in a sealed cube about 5 years back and didn't sound bad/un-natural.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2009, 8:38 pm

that was a few yrs ago online somewhere i saw it - might not make a big audible different in ur car but in lab test they saw something beneficial to not using a perfect cube - cant remember d exact thing too good ..........

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 21st, 2009, 8:41 pm

a perfect cube can create standing waves

Postby X_Factor » April 21st, 2009, 10:05 pm

hear this rovin, if u still hav the sub, can u play certain songs ppl talk about and compare it with a ported box?
power of goodbye
frozen
listen to your heart
etc
in terms of roll off, punchy-ness of the bass etc

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2009, 10:56 pm

no d guy already came for it yesterday , he is a member of tuner so hopefully when he installs it he will come on here to give his own personal review ...

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 22nd, 2009, 12:34 am

good quality work and review as usual!

i real jealous how you does carpet them thing real real neat. Tried it today and f'd up the sides. after reading about it on bcae. :oops: :cry:

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 22nd, 2009, 8:06 am

theblitz wrote:(...Rovin...), can you remember what you heard about cube boxes? I remember I had a P2.5 MMATS in a sealed cube about 5 years back and didn't sound bad/un-natural.

So did I....wel..almost cube. what they do tell you is that if it has to be a cube box, you shouldn't put the woofer at the centre, but it should be offset - to one side, like my MMATS was..

btw rovin was any darcon/polyfill used in this box? Might be a good idea for the owner to get some.

slow323

Postby slow323 » April 28th, 2009, 1:00 pm

just a ques why was the rubber ring removed ?

De Hero

Postby De Hero » April 28th, 2009, 5:36 pm

Mr. Rovin - hope I am not spamming the thread.

But would you be comfortable giving a brand/model recommendation for a 10 or 12 inch woofer to be used in a sealed application with the emphasis on a SQ/Daily driver type usage?

In the first instance I am looking at a Hatchback/Station wagon type vehicle but if you want to recommend for a sedan/trunk type vehicle (after all they are probably more numerous) please feel free.

And anticipating the follow up comments - feel free to give a budget price option as well as a mid level price option - I'll forgo a request for the high end as we all know the sky is the limit for the lucky few.

And lastly - do you agree with the philosophy that a Sealed box is superior to a ported box for SQ.

Many thanks for your patience.

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 28th, 2009, 6:38 pm

^ send him a pm

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 28th, 2009, 7:29 pm

slow323 wrote:just a ques why was the rubber ring removed ?

from what i notice at least when i had my dd9512 d rubber ring kept d magnet\motor feeling warmer to d touch & a bit cooler without d ring so i prefer to leave d ring off but thats just imho ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 28th, 2009, 7:43 pm

De Hero,

there r many but i only going to comment on what i have actually used

12" alpine type R - sweet controlled bass ...$1100

2 10s RE SE - smooth as can be & get plenty loud for daily so i guess d 12" version will drop even lower & be louder too ....around $1200+ each depending on who u go to

IMHO - u dont really need more than a 500wrms sub for SQ - hitting all d notes with accuracy is more important than loud when it comes to SQ though dont feel ur music will sound "soft" ...u do not want d bass to cover ur front stage

as a quick guide : d lower d Fs d better its suited ...d JL & ID subs shud be good for this too

sealed vs ported has advantages http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

for me personally for SQ (& im not a SQ purist) but i prefer d sealed box for its musical depth & smooth flat transitioning notes response ... doesnt irritate\fatigue ur ears fast a ported box ....sounds\feel like heaven on ALL typres of music ... :)

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » April 28th, 2009, 10:17 pm

Yep, nice subs.
Decent for the price.
Have a single 4ohm 12" for my home theatre.

De Hero

Postby De Hero » April 28th, 2009, 10:38 pm

Thanks for the comprehensive response Mr. Rovin - I had the the ID subs in mind as well but did not want to prejudice your answer. Pretty certain that you had commented (favorably) on the the type R's previously.

Bookmarked the link you provided.