Pipe Sub

krokkie

Pipe Sub

Postby krokkie » March 21st, 2009, 2:39 am

Has anyone built a sub with a pipe?
I want to build one, as I don't want to use too much space.
Any info will be appreciated.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2009, 3:11 am

a circular pipe isn't the most efficient way to occupy space.. a regular cuboid will technically occupy the same space in your vehicle as a circular pipe, and have much more internal volume..

riadb

Postby riadb » March 21st, 2009, 10:12 am

yea you could.....we called them bazookas back in the day. Nobody really uses them anymore tho.

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » March 21st, 2009, 7:05 pm

Bazooka. Good old days, stay with the cuboid but, if you want to be original by all means satisfy your heart.

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 22nd, 2009, 1:20 am

yes, bazooka! that is what they call it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 25th, 2009, 4:33 pm

I find a piece a 8" PVC d odda day so a go chuk 2 sound barrier 8's inna dat wit some dacron...how da go sound in a open air environment? put dem at either ends or seal one end an put d 8's isobaric?

Postby crazybalhead » March 26th, 2009, 7:26 am

Ruffneck, it depends, if the tuning of the pipe volume is sufficient for one sub, say it can will reach a resonace at 40Hz with one sub, then run them isobaric. If the pipe is very large, then put them on either end.

Postby SR » March 26th, 2009, 8:35 am

there use to be an enclosure called the bass cannon utilizing 2 12" subwoofers mounted in pvc pipe

as well as for permanent installations in home take a look at this DIY

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Under-He ... 9259.shtml

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 26th, 2009, 8:44 am

UWI has a couple of those cannons in SPEC.
BOSE tho... :?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 26th, 2009, 6:03 pm

very interesting link.

in SPEC u say...i have to take a look around :wink:

riadb

Postby riadb » March 26th, 2009, 6:26 pm

yea in SPEC

dead centre of the roof

pair of Bose Wave Cannons mounted side by side of each other.

krokkie

Postby krokkie » April 7th, 2009, 5:33 am

Thanks for all the replies, I appreciate it.

krokkie

Postby krokkie » April 7th, 2009, 5:46 am

I can recall seeing an article in a magazine many years ago about someone building a sub with flexible pipe and a smallish speaker (I think 4 inch).
Does anybody have formulas I can use?

Pre

Postby Pre » April 7th, 2009, 9:53 pm

the last set of bazookas and bass cannons i sar was a few years ago i think dem ting was from Digital Audio u could pull up a old catalog and see i think it sed to have specs too

Cunupia_soundz

Postby Cunupia_soundz » April 12th, 2009, 3:04 pm

from d few ive seen, they can produce some impressive lows

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 12th, 2009, 5:07 pm

the best way to save space is to do a fiberglass job (from what i've seen)

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 13th, 2009, 1:30 pm

silent_riot wrote:UWI has a couple of those cannons in SPEC.
BOSE tho... :?

always seeing them but never heard them

at first i thought they were transmission line systems, is only now i know from reading the article what going on..