How to get rid of annoying vibration and trunk rattle?

Placide

How to get rid of annoying vibration and trunk rattle?

Postby Placide » May 14th, 2004, 9:37 pm

Hey, I'm in South and I'd like to know who/where I can go to get my car insulated. The various rattles that I get when I turn up my system are bugging the hell out of me!!! :evil: :evil:
My trunk lid and spoiler both vibrate, my rear bumper vibrates, (don't even mention my number plates!!) and also my back deck vibrates at certain frequencies.
The music sounds great if you're standing in front of the car or anywhere past the front door!! However if you're unfortunate enough to be standing behind the car it sounds like you're in the Grand Stand during pan finals :lol: :lol: :lol:
BTW it's a 92 Civic (4 dr)

Placide

Postby Placide » May 14th, 2004, 10:22 pm

Hey sr!! Any help here?! :D :D

Postby SR » May 15th, 2004, 8:28 am

in south........SOUND EXTREME by the ICE factory at St Joseph's village traffic lights
DYNAMAT

Placide

Postby Placide » May 16th, 2004, 1:55 am

What's the average cost? :roll:

Postby SR » May 16th, 2004, 10:37 am

A trunk kit as around $700 and depends on how much work there is to install
your best bet is to buy a bulk pak that will have enough material to do a standard size trunk and the 2 front doors cost of the kit is around 1200 and labour again depends on the work involved

Placide

Postby Placide » May 17th, 2004, 12:45 am

Thanks again for the info sr.

Sully

Postby Sully » May 17th, 2004, 9:53 am

You could always turn down the music. That works for me. :D

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 17th, 2004, 2:41 pm

placide...a cheaper and more extreme approach, would be to use some expandabe spray foam.. gopaul's hardware, then a layer or two of 10oz fibreglass cloth.
2 gallon of resin $150.00
10 yds cloth $200.00
2 tin foam $120.00
no vibration from trunk again..... priceless

roger

Postby roger » May 17th, 2004, 4:49 pm

^^ that is really extreme :)

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » May 17th, 2004, 8:13 pm

nigel1977 wrote:placide...a cheaper and more extreme approach, would be to use some expandabe spray foam.. gopaul's hardware, then a layer or two of 10oz fibreglass cloth.
2 gallon of resin $150.00
10 yds cloth $200.00
2 tin foam $120.00
no vibration from trunk again..... priceless

dat real extreme jed but st*t isn't dat going to be real heavy compared to the dynamat?

Postby SR » May 17th, 2004, 11:05 pm

it souns good but the pnly disadvantage witht he fibre glass method is that it is really permanent just in case you have to remove it for some reason or the other
but if u dont have to it is another solution as well

Zero-Cool

Postby Zero-Cool » May 19th, 2004, 12:19 am

polycote de whole trunk, but u can check master audio duncah village.. dem was price master.. de earthquake fellas.
u could check harry dem daz de same fellas "SOUND EXTREME" and u can also check UAL , or Tripple R IN Gulf city mall.

Placide

Postby Placide » May 19th, 2004, 2:01 am

Thanks for the info guys. Dave at Master Audio recommended some guy named Camacho to spray the inside of the trunk (not sure if it's with foam or polycote) I'm gonna go back to him and get the details tomorrow!

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 19th, 2004, 12:05 pm

pioneer, to clean off the adhesive from dynamat you couuld use low grade paint thinners. too strong? then use kerosene? leaves oily film. then mix 2 parts kerosene to 1 part gasolene. that should do the trick. worked for me, i used it to remove the original vibration pads off a mini. similar material to dynamat. wish i could get more like that to buy. :)

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » May 19th, 2004, 1:39 pm

hey placide, lewwe know how much that cost yuh, i think i might have to look into something like that also.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 19th, 2004, 4:20 pm

is that a similar spray they coat the inside of those pick up trays with?
thats real good stuff. i think they call it rhino or something? if its rhino, will cost you close to 700 i think. if you get about 2 coats, might build up to about 3/16" thick. that will work like a charm. :lol:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » May 20th, 2004, 5:15 pm

rhino linigh doesn't block sound .....yur talkin bout rockford fosgate sound blocker simmilar though.........oh on a side note where do u get rhino liner?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 21st, 2004, 11:01 am

i could be mistaken. i doubt the purpose of this excercise is to block sound. to do that we'll a hell of a lot more than we are talking about here.
reducing and eliminating resonance and panels vibration is the topic of the day.

if applied correctly, the rhino lining as i call it, i could be mistaked, will "stiffen" the panels, making less vulnerable to flexing and vibration. 2 coats of the lining will give a 3/16" thick layer or so. the fosg8 spray does about an 1/8" thick, so two coats should also be good. :roll: :roll: :roll: