Audio Control 6xs ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 5th, 2009, 11:05 pm

bought this today - its used but in very good condition except for 1 small minor scratch

.....really got it to experiment with ... :oops:

havent tried it as yet but i opened it up to see it came with 33 , 90 , 250hz chips

so what other hz chips u can use on this , where & avg price ? ....

Lance

Postby Lance » February 5th, 2009, 11:22 pm

Best You start making your own.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 5th, 2009, 11:27 pm

ask casper how his new one works lol

i installed it for him and it he suddenly geting the extreem highs and the new midbass is like wow

Postby 3stagevtec » February 5th, 2009, 11:36 pm

southside connections wrote:ask casper how his new one works lol

i installed it for him and it he suddenly geting the extreem highs and the new midbass is like wow

so i heard.. anxious to hear his system now.. the 6XS is an excellent crossover

TripleR has the chips for somewhere around $50-60

Rovin, that 6XS will work great with the matrix.. powerful line drive!

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 6th, 2009, 1:10 am

the only thing better is the DQXS!

it looks like u get 2 custom chips in there...
also audio Xperts supposed to have chips as well.

audioholic big D

Postby audioholic big D » February 6th, 2009, 2:11 am

yea audio xpertz has it for $40 -$50 i believe

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 6th, 2009, 7:30 am

I have lots of chips too.
You can lmk what freqs u want.

casper

Postby casper » February 6th, 2009, 7:31 am

last time i checked audio xperts in san juan they had the chips for $70....RRR have them for $50

it have 2 more custom made chips in there rovin...i learnt that yesterday...the one with the setta lil green things on it are are also chips...the bottom one is probably a 1500hz or up...take it out and check on the underside of it...it will be marked...

i gotta give it to SSC...he damn well knows about these AC crosses...he hooked up mine for me cuz when i bought the chip by RRR i didnt even know where the hell to put it.... :oops: ....he start to rattle out some things dey and i get confused and jes stretched out my hand and say..."here...u do it: :lol: *all i know is analog* :(

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 6th, 2009, 12:04 pm

thanks silent_riot, i will take u up on on that offer once i read\learn more about this thing since i never used any b4 so thats y i got it to get d experience since i accustom to analog xovers

yesterday i was telling casper, to redo d entire processing in his car & get rid of that 2 preamp + coustic cross & go full AC ....deck to > EQS > 6xs > matrix to amps since i find his drivers dont sound as full as it cud be

southside connections, i hope u all didnt play it hard to disturb d neighbors or for ur mom to complain about all d ole noise u & ur friends does be making .... :lol:

casper

Postby casper » February 6th, 2009, 12:08 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:southside connections, i hope u all didnt play it hard to disturb d neighbors or for ur mom to complain about all d ole noise u & ur friends does be making .... :lol:

i was liming by him until that happened then i duss out... :lol:

(...Rovin...) wrote:yesterday i was telling casper, to redo d entire processing in his car & get rid of that 2 preamp + coustic cross & go full AC ....deck to > EQS > 6xs > matrix to amps since i find his drivers dont sound as full as it cud be

^^^if u hear how that ting sounding now eh...yuh go bawl....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 6th, 2009, 12:37 pm

now imagine how much better it will sound if u put d other ac stuff ... :wink:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 6th, 2009, 12:47 pm

yea well hopefully it will be one preamp and one crossover

the gains on the ac som like 1/4 and wheyyyyyyyy

yea mums come out and start to watch meh hard,lol after all is was after 8 in d night lol

d driver now come to life,clean crisp high mid and hights, now getting the hights he was missin

midbass mnnnnnnnnn lickly lickly as ss626 does say it :lol:

cas u think the 6xs is pressure? wait till you see how to tune meh dqxs lol or meh dqt :shock: can i say more dan 2hrs steein x-over points alone jed

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » February 6th, 2009, 4:14 pm

(...Rovin...), let us know how much of an improvement it is over the clarion u had. interested in finding out about this since i have the clarion in my car presently...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 6th, 2009, 7:50 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:yesterday i was telling casper, to redo d entire processing in his car & get rid of that 2 preamp + coustic cross & go full AC ....deck to > EQS > 6xs > matrix to amps since i find his drivers dont sound as full as it cud be

^^^if u hear how that ting sounding now eh...yuh go bawl....[/quote]

Change that EQS to the 2 EQTs on the forum for sale, you wont need any more processing for a 3 way system...ever

Leffy

Postby Leffy » February 7th, 2009, 11:54 am

:? Everybody upgrading boi :(

had the 6xs in a car Thursday trust me it makes ah difference :wink:

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » February 8th, 2009, 1:28 am

I had a 6xs and a coustic xm6, the AC is a much cleaner cross, but I find it a bit over priced and I think the coustic has a better line drive and it also has a bass enhancer/booster. I also had a 3xs and a clarion cross, To be honest I have gone back to the coustic . I want to get an eqs or dqxs at a good price...Those I will keep.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 8th, 2009, 10:38 am

now yuh talking...DQXS!!!
that is the real deal! :mrgreen:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 8th, 2009, 7:46 pm

SnipeR wrote:(...Rovin...), let us know how much of an improvement it is over the clarion u had. interested in finding out about this since i have the clarion in my car presently...

havent tried mine as yet but i heard casper's car last night & it made a BIG difference in his drivers quality it not sound distorted at high vols like b4 , he seems to be getting better low tones off his 10s now too ....he havent put his sub it as yet though ...

spam

Postby spam » February 9th, 2009, 8:37 am

casper wrote:
(...Rovin...) wrote:southside connections, i hope u all didnt play it hard to disturb d neighbors or for ur mom to complain about all d ole noise u & ur friends does be making .... :lol:

i was liming by him until that happened then i duss out... :lol:

^^^if u hear how that ting sounding now eh...yuh go bawl....

wait nah you gone and buy new thing and aint tell me ?

my processing upgrading too, no longer goin to be 880---> line drive--->amps

i thinkin to add something else to the mix to help out the deck a bit and i am up for suggestions

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby SR » February 9th, 2009, 9:32 am

there is no need to use a matrix with the 6xs unless you plan on running many amplifiers

the 6xs has a built in line drive and is sufficient for 90% applications

the 6xs has a cleaner higher line drive than the coustic

coustic is 8 volts audio control 13 volts

spam

Postby spam » February 9th, 2009, 11:39 am

so with the drive from the deck and a 6xs i dont need a line driver ? even if i running 5 amps total right ?

and would the 6xs be cool to pair with me deck ?

casper

Postby casper » February 9th, 2009, 11:58 am

^^^yea...it would be cool 8-)

but ur deck already has a cross....i dunno how that will work out though...PLUS u have a phoenix gold line drive which i figure u mightn't need to use if u go with a 6xs cuz the AC's line drive is better i'm sure...

i'm almost positive there's some SQ competitor in here that uses an 880prs alongside an AC cross...maybe they could shed some light on this...

spam

Postby spam » February 9th, 2009, 2:00 pm

shed light please

bluee6

Postby bluee6 » February 14th, 2009, 4:09 pm

go with the three.1>eqs>6xs that will shed light u will be sheding all the time

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 14th, 2009, 4:47 pm

all dat for what?^^^^u really don't need all that

good headunit with built in eq,6xs and then matrix if nessary

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 20th, 2009, 10:46 pm

hey fellas
anybody know who can do repairs to a 6xs?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 21st, 2009, 1:29 am

how u damage dat?^^^ what repair need to be done

i currently don't know anyone who can,but state ur problem as it may be able to be fixed with a simple solution

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 23rd, 2009, 3:29 pm

i bought it used...
it came with the center ch. humming and and not playing...
the other ch's are ok..

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 23rd, 2009, 5:42 pm

did u check your chips ?

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 23rd, 2009, 9:32 pm

had no idea how to actually check the chips,,
though
when i opened the unit i found a screw between the boards..
i'm guessing it frigged it up ...