External Crossover

Radik

External Crossover

Postby Radik » May 8th, 2004, 3:52 pm

Ok jus would like to know if external crossovers (trunk mount, etc) are necessary in a sound setup. Let's say you have a headunit givin out at least 5V in their preouts. If you run your amps straight off them, you know one from the subout, one from the rear RCA, etc. will this system perform with clarity and still have the capablity to get loud?

Radik

Postby Radik » May 8th, 2004, 3:57 pm

Oh yea forgot to add that the amps have their own crossovers and filters.....

Postby SR » May 8th, 2004, 7:45 pm

the external xover will give you more tuning flexability and may be more accurate dpening on the brand over a built in xover in the amplifier
in my present system i have no external xovers and i have no problems
the amplifiers are the interfire high current amplifiers and the internal xovers work well enough for me

Radik

Postby Radik » May 8th, 2004, 10:37 pm

Thanx alot man. That answers alot of questions in my head........

Sully

Postby Sully » May 9th, 2004, 12:40 am

You'll get a better slope if you use the both crossovers. But you have to make sure you set the cutoff frequencies correctly.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 9th, 2004, 11:14 pm

sully, if the tuner is using the crossover off the deck, lets say the 9815, which has a 24db oct slope, i see no need to use the xo on the amp. yes he will attenuate more frequencies, but he will also be chopping off a good bit as well. crossover overlap may also occur, where, sometimes, the phase may be reversed if the slopes off the deck and the ones on the amp are in dirrerent octaves... got this info off a tuning column in car audio and security mag.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 26th, 2004, 12:02 am

did you get through with this or wah?

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » May 26th, 2004, 3:30 am

:) ...
i tried it...weekend ( was bored , so ah interfering wit meh system) and it sounded a lil better...more fuller sound and better balance..
using 7998 alpine..eqs..RF 801x...