Capacitors..... which one to get ?

hot blue

Capacitors..... which one to get ?

Postby hot blue » May 6th, 2004, 5:08 pm

hooking up a system with 2 12" JBL in ah box

i honestly dont know how much the amp is pushing.... couldnt be more than 500-600 W
and im looking for a cap... i figure a 1 Farad should be more than enough

i've heard the name Stinger most of the time ... so i figured i'd go with one of those

any suggestions ??

roger

Postby roger » May 6th, 2004, 5:31 pm

with 500-600w you shouldn't need a cap

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 6th, 2004, 8:39 pm

rule of thumb.
1farad per 1000w.
there was a review of come capacitors done by car stereo review some time ago.
they cut open some big brands, monster, lightning, brax, fosgate, stinger, and esoteric. there are even pics of the half of caps.
the results are:
monster 15.75%empty
lightning 19.49% empty
brax 26.45% empty
fosg8 30.86% empty
stinger 30.75% empty.

im quoting this off the magazine page right in front of me. back cover sept 98.
the winner esoteric.
just to show im unbiased, i own 2 fosg8 punch 1.0 farads. got them cheap, cant complain.

whether the other manufacturers have improved their quality, i cant answer. but, this is all the info i have, maybe others have more info.

this answer your question blue?

Postby SR » May 6th, 2004, 10:02 pm

i know the article that nigel is talking about get an efx 1 farad cap $700 with a voltage monitor best deal so far on a good cap
dont buy any of those cheap 1 farad ones ...........a 1 farad in those are like a 1/2 farad in a good quality one

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 7th, 2004, 1:42 pm

i fine them capacitors does let we play music long without battery problems, well none at all(2 batteries) while cuzin have same power with no caps and 3 batteries and he does die out in music in about 30 minutes of playing.....caps does rel help 8)

Sully

Postby Sully » May 7th, 2004, 6:18 pm

A capacitor is not a battery. And it has a relatively low time constant. Capactiors don't let you play music any longer.

Zero-Cool

Postby Zero-Cool » May 9th, 2004, 5:35 pm

A capacitor is not a battery. And it has a relatively low time constant. Capactiors don't let you play music any longer.

finally someone speak some sense from an electronic point of view.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 9th, 2004, 11:03 pm

another plus for capacitors... very low esr ( resistance) and esl (inductance) when compared to a battery... which means that as current flows from higher to lower potential through least resistance, electrical power is transferred first from the capacitor thence the battery. one of the major reasons a cap should be very close to the amp, is that because a capacitor is very easily discharged, small resistances in cabling can offset the low esr, and defeat the purpose of the cap itself.

Postby Hook » May 10th, 2004, 5:49 pm

*~TeamH2O~* wrote:i fine them capacitors does let we play music long without battery problems, well none at all(2 batteries) while cuzin have same power with no caps and 3 batteries and he does die out in music in about 30 minutes of playing.....caps does rel help 8)

more and more, I'm convinved that this guy has no idea what he's talkin about...jus dey to press button on d deck...*sigh* buh wha yuh goh do eh...cyar help dat

Postby SR » May 10th, 2004, 8:22 pm

:mrgreen:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 10th, 2004, 10:52 pm