Pioneer Premier box build

Postby 3stagevtec » December 20th, 2008, 6:18 am

i bought me some new toys for Christmas.. time to break them in.. :wink:

20mm MDF.. for $230 a sheet in Sando :?

all cut up and ready for assembly. the box i designed is 2.5cu.ft tuned 35 - 36Hz.. off axis port..

what madness is this! my 1st attempt at kerfing..

the right of the kerf is the port length, the left is the side of my enclosure

box 1/2 way assembled.. time to bend the kerf.. :skurry:

SUCCESS!! it didn't break...

every wall is braced and i'll be using a double layer baffle..

resin is about 2 months old! it get kinda lumpy but still works.. fiberglass reinforced of course..

now it's just to wait for the resin to dry to test em out...

Postby 3stagevtec » December 20th, 2008, 6:23 am

oh, and the Pioneer...

vids and a small review will come when the resin fully cures..

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » December 20th, 2008, 7:53 am

nice!
good to see it has another person kerfing now. :twisted:
What frequency is the box tuned too?
looks low

_Rajiv_

Postby _Rajiv_ » December 20th, 2008, 8:13 am

real sweet build, box lookin really good as well.

Nice build thus far.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 20th, 2008, 8:32 am

great work... cant wait to hear that powered up and dropping lows ... the hollywood sub looking like a baby in front d premier

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 20th, 2008, 2:07 pm

yuh lie about new thing for xmas since is about 2mths now u buy d sub & now building d box ... :P

waaaaaaaaaaay boy , ah man copy meh wholesale with d 2 clamp on a level method ...he even copy d same yellow color level i does use too ... :lol:

looking good so far - hope it ready for demo tomorrow ...:twisted:

btw folks we tested this sub in my old dd 2 4" aeroport box tuned 38hz with only 2 screws on d sub & DAMN ! .... its even louder than d dd9512 .... in fact its d loudest 12" i have heard thus far ... :shock:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 20th, 2008, 4:13 pm

Nice. This should wang.

*eyes 8 inch ports in background*

Postby 3stagevtec » December 20th, 2008, 4:31 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:yuh lie about new thing for xmas since is about 2mths now u buy d sub & now building d box ... :P

waaaaaaaaaaay boy , ah man copy meh wholesale with d 2 clamp on a level method ...he even copy d same yellow color level i does use too ... :lol:

looking good so far - hope it ready for demo tomorrow ...:twisted:

btw folks we tested this sub in my old dd 2 4" aeroport box tuned 38hz with only 2 screws on d sub & DAMN ! .... its even louder than d dd9512 .... in fact its d loudest 12" i have heard thus far ... :shock:

i went traders club and saw the level for ~$170, it have a laser light too :P .. say i had to get one yes..

i bought the table saw and some 36" clamps as well.. :wink: was really waiting until i had the correct tools to build it..

the box was supposed to be 2.6cu.ft tuned 35Hz, but that was calculated using 18mm MDF.. right now, by guess, i'd say it's around 2.5cu.ft tuned 36Hz.. (i forgot to factor in the resin volume into my calculations)

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 20th, 2008, 4:32 pm

da table go mash up horse :lol:

markzz

Postby markzz » December 20th, 2008, 8:00 pm

nice work bro looks great :mrgreen:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » December 20th, 2008, 10:35 pm

nice

raynice

Postby raynice » December 20th, 2008, 11:34 pm

DIY likeyourself...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 21st, 2008, 1:12 am

thats wah we talkin bout right there!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » December 21st, 2008, 7:47 am

i think i messed up the tuning.. the thing playing too low! (i.e. not loud enough). when i checked back, the tuning could be as low as 32Hz..

i messed up the port length measurement, because of the kerf i guess.. :x

the sad part is i aleady glued up the entire box.. will have to work a magic to adjust that port... those who coming today should get to hear it..

jeff

Postby jeff » December 21st, 2008, 8:54 am

ways i missin out yes, i would have liked to hear this play music...

btw poor table :mrgreen:

riadb

Postby riadb » December 21st, 2008, 8:30 pm

heard it today....it really playing alot of lows and the port could have a tad bit more surface area but it sounds great for a daily play box IMHO.

you can cut the box keeping the same port length and this should increase the tuning frequency or you could stuff the box with bracing....it's gonna get madd heavy but it should help the situation.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 21st, 2008, 10:17 pm

well i find it sounds good\low for daily use ...

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 22nd, 2008, 12:08 am

nice build dey man......well done..... :twisted:

Postby 3stagevtec » December 22nd, 2008, 8:32 am

loudsound wrote:nice build dey man......well done..... :twisted:

thanks man, now i know what it's like when you have to bend those big kerf's... pressure! :lol:

for daily, it sounds great! but i still would like to get a lil more impact from it.. (i got accustomed to my Audiopipes sound i guess)

funny story, would you believe the Hollywood Excursion sub sounded completely different in it, hitting hard / low! imagine that..

Postby 3stagevtec » December 22nd, 2008, 8:45 am

with the sub installed..

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » December 22nd, 2008, 10:48 am

i wish i had one under my christmas tree

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » December 22nd, 2008, 11:01 am

It goin under the meter 2? :)

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 22nd, 2008, 11:35 am

lows really nice eh...

but the lack of high bass turn me away

but the lows was rel setting off alarms though

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » December 22nd, 2008, 11:51 am

wish i cud hear it...lows is my life :mrgreen:

yos19

Postby yos19 » December 22nd, 2008, 12:12 pm

great build esp as it was ur 1st time kerfing.,.lol

sub looks wicked,,,,,lol....u got frequencies high and now low...jus tuh adjust in d middle :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » December 22nd, 2008, 12:17 pm

fuzz_174 wrote:It goin under the meter 2? :)

once i get it musically where i want it, of course! :wink:

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » December 22nd, 2008, 2:06 pm

very well done.............was waiting a while to see this build............so when are gonna hear this???????? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » December 23rd, 2008, 7:47 pm

TheWiseOne wrote:very well done.............was waiting a while to see this build............so when are gonna hear this???????? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

you'll get to hear it when you finish the march... :mrgreen:

snouter

Postby snouter » December 24th, 2008, 9:01 am

hmm interesting, ah wonder how a re will sound in this box? low like crazy

Postby 3stagevtec » March 5th, 2009, 11:13 am

3 layers of fiberglass / resin on the inside

resin 45 degrees on the braces for additional rigidity..

the entire surface of the box was covered with reisin.. extra resin was poured over all screws..

one orbital sander and a few hours later..

smooth as glass!

i didn't finish sanding when i took the pics.. you can see the unsanded resin on the right of the pic..

the reason for the resin / sanding is that i'm planning to paint and clear coat the box.. the final product should look at sound awesome..

-------------------------------------------

tested to do 143.3dBs at 40Hz

averaged 139.8dBs over 30 seconds

quick vid..