roger

my new a pillars

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 11:18 am

my new a pillars:

sorry, i do not have the build pics...

dls iridium tweet and hybrid audio L3, covered in grille cloth

single seat install

kinna proud ah dis one....will be powered over the weekend!

jeff

Postby jeff » November 24th, 2008, 11:33 am

this is what i talking about!

to me this is rel sq, when guys can experiment on their own and build their own stuff and most of all, teach and show ppl!

when can we hear :mrgreen:

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 11:35 am

want to be there on the 30th...once logistics go as planned

Lance

Postby Lance » November 24th, 2008, 11:36 am

jeff wrote:this is what i talking about!

to me this is rel sq, when guys can experiment on their own and build their own stuff and most of all, teach and show ppl!

:

^^well then real SQ has been happening yrs now.

Looks great Roger,

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 24th, 2008, 11:38 am

damn roger..thats really good work
wouldve loved to see some build pics

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 11:46 am

i misplaced the flash drive with the install pics...

i took those out on work this morning.

completed them over the weekend..prolly about 8hrs of work for both pillars.

i just get a vibe last week saturday...whiped out the jigsaw and measuring tape and went to town...

once i get my midbass in this weekend, tuning will begin.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 11:54 am

looks like....

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... r&&start=0

:twisted: :twisted:

GR8 job Rog.

NEEDS PROCESSING !!!!

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » November 24th, 2008, 11:56 am

looking gud...

by chance was the distance from the outside baffle to the steel inside..

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 11:56 am

^^^^LOL

i have the processing.....

PRA-H400.....no eq
Last edited by roger on November 24th, 2008, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 11:58 am

lancer3 wrote:looking gud...

by chance was the distance from the outside baffle to the steel inside..

about 4"...

there is roughly 1.5" behind the speaker magnet.

the woofers are quite tiny!

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 12:05 pm

I heard some bad news about the 400 processor, it has 6 pairs of outputs, but the front and rear pairs share the same crossover points?

jeff

Postby jeff » November 24th, 2008, 12:06 pm

Lance wrote:
jeff wrote:this is what i talking about!

:

^^well then real SQ has been happening yrs now.

Looks great Roger,

we have ppl doing their own stuff yes but, the teaching and showing part?
how many box builds do you see posted with compared to sq builds?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 24th, 2008, 12:20 pm

looks great!
have to hear them now...good job
:mrgreen:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 24th, 2008, 12:32 pm

looking very good - hope i can get a demo on d 30th...

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 24th, 2008, 12:36 pm

im reserving 20 mins to listen to your car sunday homie

i myself gonna start my pillar work from sunday

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 1:03 pm

nigel1977 wrote:I heard some bad news about the 400 processor, it has 6 pairs of outputs, but the front and rear pairs share the same crossover points?

correct.....but i have never needed the rear outs.

i have a pair...so i may run a master/slave config when i get to adding the subwoofer.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 1:26 pm

roger wrote:i have a pair....

I would hope so. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

On a more serious note. A friend of mine also has a pair in tandem, Optical out of the first into the second. IIRC, its controlled from the first via ai net as well.

Oh wait, are the xo inifintely configurable? i.e, the mid = bandpass, is the lowpass able to do bandpass as well?

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 1:29 pm

yup...

no the xos have ranges...the hp is from 200hz up, bandpass is from 25hz to 10hz, low pass is from 400hz downs IIRC. 1/6 octave steps

will hafta double check that though

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 1:38 pm

Also heard its 2v out?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 1:41 pm

Number of outputs ............................................ 6 pairs(High,Mid,Low for Front and Rear)
Number of D/A converters ...................................................................................... 6
DAC resolution ........................................................................................ 18bit hybrid
Number of Presets* .......................................................................... 4(User Selectable)
Time Correction Control Range ...................................................0 to 30mS(0.3mS steps)
Crossover Frequencies(1/6 octave steps) ........................ (Low, Mid-Low) 31.5Hz—400Hz
.............................................................................. (Mid-High, High) 200Hz—10kHz
Crossover Slopes ........................................................................... (Low) 24dB/octave
......................................................................................... (Mid, High) 18dB/octave
Output Level Control(1dB steps) ................................................... (Mid, High) 0 to -12dB
............................................... (Low-Non Fading) 0 to +12dB ~ (Low-Fading) 0 to -12dB
Bass Control Range ............................................................................ ±10dB at 30Hz
Treble Control Range ......................................................................... ±10dB at 10kHz
Frequency Response ................................................................ 10Hz—20kHz(+0,-1dB)
Total Harmonic Distortion ...................................................................... 0.03%(at 1kHz)
Stereo Separation .............................................................................. 80dBA(at 1kHz)
Signal to Noise Ratio ........... 108 dBA (with optical digital input and tone control bypassed)
Input Sensitivity(analog) ................................................................................... 850mV
Input Impedance(analog) ............................................................ Greater Than10k ohms
Output Voltage(tone control bypassed) ..................................................................... 4V
Output Impedance ........................................................................... Less Than1k ohms
Power Requirement ......................................................... 11—16V DC(negative ground)
Main Chassis Size(WxHxD) .............. 240mmx50mmx160mm(9-7/16â€

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 1:42 pm

i went this way for several reasons...

1. i did want to do a full 3way fronstage, since had not done one for about two years. the last one was with the dls ir3
2. did not want to cut any metal, pillars can be eaily replaced
3. wanted to revisit the concept with this particular woofer, to form my own opinions.
4. i had the woofers there doing nothing, so i figured wth!
5. wanted to be a lil different, since i have not seen this in any recent install

but really, i just wanted to create a serious sqc contender, to challenge a particular vigo, civic, fielder and xtrail........so it begins

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 2:14 pm

vigo was banned from sqc. come sqc2 and then we'll dance... :mrgreen:

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 2:26 pm

lol.....did not know that!

anyways, this is like my fifth a pillar install, and based on the history with this car, i already know i will hafta overcome width and depth deficiencies....but ah goin fuh eet!

i want to experience the" image is so great you can pick the nose of the lead singer" type of soundstage....gonna work on some damping possibilities this week

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 2:37 pm

roger wrote:i want to experience the" image is so great you can pick the nose of the lead singer" type of soundstage....gonna work on some damping possibilities this week

sms, call, page, email, fax me when you have this.

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 2:42 pm

LOL..i will...some time late next year!!!

i know i will eventually have to switch processor/s but i am goin to go as far as what i have can take me.

i want to maximise these pillars though...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 2:46 pm

here.. go for it...

http://www.rane.com/rpm88.html

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 2:48 pm

nah...dais a lil too much

yuh kno i ama simple fella...

less is more for me....usually anyways

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 24th, 2008, 2:49 pm

I hear yuh faddah.

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 3:10 pm

fuh now the fronstage is the main concern...just need to accompany the pillar mounted woofers with a strong midwoofer....

so the rest of the year will be spent playing with settings to see what this install can deliver

bass will come next year..

roger

Postby roger » November 24th, 2008, 3:54 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:i myself gonna start my pillar work from sunday

holla if you need any help