madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

WTK>>> Rockford fosgate vs Kicker

Postby madcoolieboy » October 24th, 2008, 10:54 pm

i'm putting in 2 12'' subs in my van...
i would like to know which is betterbetween the RF P3S.. and the Kicker CompVT... both are rated as 400 rms/800watts....

i have the option of putting in any one of these.... thanks

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 24th, 2008, 11:32 pm

the kicker will go lower than the RF
the RF requires a smaller enclosure...so since u are putting in 2 12" this is a factor in a van

IMO: Kicker...wouldn't u rather be Livin' Loud
:mrgreen:

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 25th, 2008, 1:44 am

not really sure on the kicker...
but i have 2 12" p3s in my car, and i fine it does perform... i rel rel geh it pressure

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 25th, 2008, 2:20 am

Pirate wrote:the kicker will go lower than the RF...

from experience?

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 25th, 2008, 2:23 am

XMasterX17 wrote:not really sure on the kicker...
but i have 2 12" p3s in my car, and i fine it does perform... i rel rel geh it pressure

P3S (as in shallow)? thats wat they talking about... that & the shallow kicker also

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » October 25th, 2008, 7:39 am

yeah blitz u are correct....both of them are shallow mount... as for the space, it is not a problem both speakers will fit into the enclosure behind my backseat.... just need to know which brand will perform and last better....
Last edited by madcoolieboy on October 25th, 2008, 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » October 25th, 2008, 8:05 am

whaz the proper enclosure? if i may ask... i'm using a wedge box behind my backseat.. with the enclosure volum around 1.25 cu. ft.

Postby SR » October 25th, 2008, 8:07 am

post the specs of both subs to do a comparison

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » October 25th, 2008, 9:03 am

KICKER-
impedance- 2, 4 ohms
power handling- 800w 400rms
frequency responce 25-350 hz

Rockford Fosgate
impedance 2, 4 ohms
power handing 800w 400rms
spl -86db

Postby SR » October 25th, 2008, 9:05 am

if thats the specs you are going by then you definatly need help

there is more to it than that

post the theille small parameters of each sub and look at the enclosure volume required compared to the space you have to play with as well as the power you have

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » October 25th, 2008, 9:23 am

hoss them ting is greek to me......juss now lemme try

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » October 25th, 2008, 9:24 am

Thiele-Small Specifications
Ported: 35.4 1.25 45.5 - 36.3 4.0 101.6 12.0 304.8 Fs (Hz): 45.0
Re (Ohms): 6.80
Le (mH): 3.8
Qts: 0.74
Qes: 0.88
Qms: 4.60
Cms (m/N): 0.07
Vas (L): 21.0
Mms (g): 172.1
Mmd (g): 166.1
Rms (kg/s): 10.7
Airload (g): 5.6
No (%): 0.25
SPL (dB - 1W/1M): 86.0
BL (T*M): 19.4
*Xmax10 (mm): 10.8
Sd (cm2): 450
EBP: 51
Krm (mOhms): 1.77
Voice Coil Diameter: 2.5 63.5 inches | mm Erm: 1.10
Voice Coil Height: 1.023 26.0 inches | mm Kxm (mH): 138.4
Voice Coil Layers: layers Exm: 0.58
Magnetic Gap Height: 0.315 8.0 inches | mm Rem (Ohms): 26.67

ROCKFORD FOSGATE

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » October 25th, 2008, 9:31 am

Model:
Nominal Impedance [Zn], ohm 2 or 4
Resonance Frequency [fs], Hz 32.3
Power Handling Watts, Peak (RMS) 800 (400)

Sensitivity [SPLo], dB @ 1W, 1m 87.1

Effective Excursion [EXmaxâ„¢], in (mm) .498 (12.64)
DC Resistance [Re], ohm 2.16

Mechanical Q-Factor [Qms] 10.16
Electrical Q-Factor [Qes] .546
Total Q-Factor [Qts] .518
Equivalent Volume [Vas], ft3 (L) 2.15 (61.0)
Net Displacement, in3 (cc) 52.4 (860)
Outer Frame Diameter, in (cm) 12 1/2 (31.8)
Hole Cut-Out Diameter, in (cm) 10 15/16 (27.8)
Mounting Depth, in (cm) 4 5/16 (10.9)

KICKER CVT12

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 25th, 2008, 11:14 am

What do the driver T/S parameters mean and will they help me choose the best driver?

http://www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=faq1 ... :wink:

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 25th, 2008, 1:04 pm

theblitz wrote:
XMasterX17 wrote:not really sure on the kicker...

P3S (as in shallow)? thats wat they talking about... that & the shallow kicker also

or well sorry dey, wasnt referring to the shallow mount

gundelero

Postby gundelero » October 27th, 2008, 11:12 am

RF all de way.
shallow mount RF P3 is 400Wrms, but the woofer itself is 500Wrms.

riadb

Postby riadb » October 27th, 2008, 1:26 pm

i doh like either

just my personal preference

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » October 27th, 2008, 2:28 pm

gundelero...thanks for your opinion....

riadb...like yuh didn't read the topic or wha??

riadb

Postby riadb » October 27th, 2008, 5:29 pm

yea i read it...

just don't like either of the subs for the application.....

I have used the RE slimline woofer, i think it's the SL series or something like that..
These perform great and require minimal enclosure space.

I would go with a pair of the RE instead... :)

aviboy

Postby aviboy » October 27th, 2008, 6:53 pm

The RF sounds good... plenty better than the pioneers

gundelero

Postby gundelero » October 28th, 2008, 4:49 pm

dude de man debating RF or Kicker.... RF as in Rockford Fosgate, not RE

riadb

Postby riadb » October 28th, 2008, 5:20 pm

dude de man debating RF or Kicker.... RF as in Rockford Fosgate, not RE