box bracing?

southside connections

box bracing?

Postby southside connections » July 29th, 2008, 12:29 am

well i been reading and i see some tuners asking if box bracing is really necessary and if it makes a difference, well today i built a pair of boxes to see for myself.

each box was 1.7cuft(excluding port and brace displacement),tuned to 35hz and 24si port and the normal box was just built to 1.7cuft not including the braces(basically a normal ported box)

the test speakers were a pair of audiopipe ts-od10's which i paid $250 for one.specs-

dual 4ohm
2" 4 layer coil
350wpeak
125wrms

the amp used was a lighten audio strike 300.2 specs(rated at 14.4v i belive)-
100wrms x 2 @ 4ohms
150wrms x 2 @ 2ohms
300wrms x 1 @ 4ohms bridged
200wrms x 1 @ 8ohms bridged

car was a the 2000 almera,80amp alternator and a big 3 upgrade running on 14.7v and 1 normal water battery upfront and a optima yellowtop at the back,backseat was up(can't move) and center was down

the first box was braced from the baffle board to the rear wall and the top to the bottom each crossing at a t in the center and the port was also braced to the baffle

the second box was built to just the 1.7 including driver displacement and excluding port and brace displacement (remember there was no bracing)

results-(used maddonna power of goodbuy,som bass tests)
regular ported box-
results were as expected,lows down to the lower 30's ,but the box walls were vibrating.

braced box-
the bass seemed stronger in the lower notes and more firm, the walls had not much vibration as compared to the regular box

the bass actually sounded more controlled and had a slightly higher output and the box was notably more solid and as expected heavier

conclusion-
boxes should be braced,it actually helps with box response and overall output,remember energy is never destroyed,it is merly transfered from one form to another,what you loose in sound,u gain in vibration which for your trunk and box is a bad thing

so i have concluded that to achive more bass,you need to stop as much as possible vibration as you can

thanks all for reading,hope u all enjoy and comments are welcome good or bad

8-)

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » July 29th, 2008, 1:30 am

[removed]

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2008, 2:38 am

well done!!!

known fact..

but u went and prove it and provided good info..

2 thumbs up!

riadb

Postby riadb » July 29th, 2008, 5:39 am

some good info there SSC

also..alot of internal bracing is not needed...most times a simple crosshair brace placed in the middle of the enclosure does the trick.
It minimizes panel flex on the most vulnerable areas of the enclosure resulting in more controlled excursions and better output. There is also no variation in frequencies as the volume of the air inside the enclosure is not altered by enclosure contraction and rarefraction.

TK!

Postby TK! » July 29th, 2008, 9:42 am

use a meter and measure results. take pics. post. useful for all.. the world over.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 29th, 2008, 9:46 am

well last time i posted pics of boxes,i was told that i was advertising and i could be banned so i eh posting no pics cause it causin trouble

i doh understand if this is a ICE forum,why can't people post pics of their work?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2008, 11:12 am

i doh understand if this is a ICE forum,why can't people post pics of their work?

dread..i tell u forget them :lol:

if they ban u..u go dead? :roll:

the information is very informative..

in your box pics.. someone here lookin can actually see a way to brace a box or assemble one if they didnt kno or anything of that sort..

we are always learning..it never stops :!:

riadb

Postby riadb » July 29th, 2008, 11:14 am

i agree with chiney

you are not selling, most pics in ICE are up for discussion. This is not d classifieds

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 29th, 2008, 11:22 am

arite pics will be up today :D

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2008, 11:23 am

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
bring em!

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 29th, 2008, 11:26 am

10" unbraced-

10" box braced

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 29th, 2008, 11:27 am

yea i used a lil filler to make a small 45degree on one corner :lol: worked out fine :shock:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 29th, 2008, 12:19 pm

good thread

simple way to see how much energy is lost through flexing\vibrations - just put a small object like a deck rem or screw driver on top d box & see how much it moves about

would have like to see d effects on a meter ....

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » July 29th, 2008, 1:08 pm

SSC u need a meter PM me
GREAT THREAD BY THE WAY........

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2008, 1:17 pm

lovely!

riadb

Postby riadb » July 29th, 2008, 1:39 pm

nice work there SSC but i noticed that one of your braces is actually blocking the entrance area to the port. I would recommend that you rotate it 90 degrees so that the thinner side would be facing the port and as a result there would be no restrictions and no added turbulence... I brace my boxes in this way and it works wonderfully...

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 29th, 2008, 1:57 pm

yea good point there^^riadb,but i din really think of doing that but there's no port noise as it has a 3.5" clearance from the port opening

so i will try what u sayin,and i'll see how it works out BTW i'll try it in my next box :D

TheWiseOne,
thanks man i'll get in touch as soon as i can

Postby 3stagevtec » July 29th, 2008, 2:17 pm

nice info SSC!

try and get the both boxes tested.. would very interesting..

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » July 29th, 2008, 2:30 pm

i say 130-135 maybe.........

Do i hear ne bet's??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » July 29th, 2008, 4:26 pm

wise one i wah ah meter ...yuh sellin or wah????? :D

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » July 29th, 2008, 4:32 pm

loudsound wrote:wise one i wah ah meter ...yuh sellin or wah????? :D

if u hav a pc i could organize 1 4 u.............pm me

Postby hydroep » July 29th, 2008, 4:54 pm

Good info. Looking forward to the metered results.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » July 29th, 2008, 7:13 pm

very informative infor their ssc ....i will look now to any box being made in the future to get it braced