extending triple R's aeroport.....

adam_ant_tt

extending triple R's aeroport.....

Postby adam_ant_tt » July 10th, 2008, 2:04 pm

anyone ever did it and can share what they did :oops:
i know it have some issues cuz the pvc is not the same 4" pvc u get in hardwares...
if anyone cud shed some light it wud be greatly appreciated :wink:

riadb

Postby riadb » July 10th, 2008, 2:11 pm

it have extension sections u could buy specifically for aeroports

hardware 4" is 4.25" :wink:

unless u wanna replace the whole length of the aeroport with PVC, cut the end flares to fit and assemble it back with epoxy or fibreglass. Did it already and it worked.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » July 10th, 2008, 2:25 pm

hmmm

i doubt the extension go work cuz i have to bend it also... i guess i'd have to get a pvc elbow and make up something and then reattach the flares to it ?

riadb

Postby riadb » July 10th, 2008, 2:33 pm

yea
all dat could work

just remember when u measuring the length to measure along the "middle" of the elbow
Last edited by riadb on July 10th, 2008, 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 10th, 2008, 2:33 pm

boy! i tell u alrdy

slot for FTMFW!

riadb

Postby riadb » July 10th, 2008, 2:35 pm

^^ well yea
I woulda go with a slot port too lol lol
Aeroports kinda fail IMHO

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 10th, 2008, 2:41 pm

go sealed :shock: ......

riadb

Postby riadb » July 10th, 2008, 2:50 pm

pioneer, just add on to it and make sure the gap by the extension is well sealed.

Thing is with big slot ports, the amount of slot displacement is alot and sometimes the area taken up by extending the port reduces the net box volume and ends up cancelling out the decrease in the port tuning frequency that you we're aming for....

sometimes if the port area is huge, extending the length of it will actually increase the tuning frequency instead of decreasing it...

will work for 1.5" and smaller slot ports etc but only up to a point.

riadb

Postby riadb » July 10th, 2008, 3:08 pm

once the displacement gain to the enclosure is less than the displacement loss to the port to acheive the desired fequency (which is the normal case) it will work..

does not work for large slot ports either..

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 10th, 2008, 6:12 pm

What about if you extend the port instead of in the box out of the box?

riadb

Postby riadb » July 10th, 2008, 6:21 pm

will work but looks untidy

Lance

Postby Lance » July 10th, 2008, 7:24 pm

With slot ports especially if the Port area is very large, adjusting tuning frequency is a guessing game.

Expending port Length, increases port displacement greatly because of the large area and this will make your effective vb smaller.

And vice versa for increasing Fb.

markzz

Postby markzz » July 10th, 2008, 7:29 pm

^^ yip very true.. changin tunin of a fixed sized box is kinda difficult to do. :(

Postby SR » July 10th, 2008, 7:40 pm

riadb wrote:^^ well yea
I woulda go with a slot port too lol lol
Aeroports kinda fail IMHO

uhm

rovin uses 4 in his enclosure and hits close to 150dB with 1 sub

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 10th, 2008, 8:23 pm

^^^oh gorsh boy SR u selling out me secret dey ... :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 10th, 2008, 8:42 pm

*runs off in search of aero ports* :mrgreen:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » July 10th, 2008, 8:53 pm

I used those already, worked very well.

Postby SR » July 10th, 2008, 8:54 pm

hopin to see rovin hit 150 in samar on the 31st august

riadb

Postby riadb » July 11th, 2008, 6:01 am

yea SR i know.
I've used aeroports already and they work fine.
basically the reason they are flared @ both ends is to reduce vent turbulence as air rushes into and out of the port.....this can be ofsetted by using a larger normal port..

I've heard ppl saying aeroports are better and what not but IMHO i don't see any significant advantages over a well built slot port

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2008, 7:51 am

it hav 3" aeroport?

riadb

Postby riadb » July 14th, 2008, 8:01 am

^^ yep

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » July 14th, 2008, 8:02 am

riadb, yea its to reduce port noise.
same thing as one of loudsound's flared port boxes.
absolutely no port noise

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2008, 8:08 am

ummm........i picked up some empty tint cores @ work this saturday & was thinking to myself, excellent port material.

I measured the diameter, exact 3" across....

can these things be used with the aeropor 3" flares to extend the port length (pipe is hard plastic, bout 2 - 2.5 mm thick & is 22" in length)

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » July 14th, 2008, 8:09 am

once it strong enough, why not.

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2008, 8:16 am

its rather strong...

they dont bend easy, i put one on the ground & jump on it, it was barely deformed.

riadb

Postby riadb » July 14th, 2008, 8:20 am

yea jack....all that could work

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2008, 8:23 am

i will bring one next I.C.E. meet, you guys can leme kno wah allyuh think.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 14th, 2008, 11:46 am

i personally hardly see much use of a 3" port unless u its a low wattage sub OR if u want a ported box & dont want to occupy too much space ....prefer 4" FTW ....i see online they even have 6" ... :o

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2008, 11:54 am

wah bout using 2 or 3 3" aeroport?

I kno is not the equiv of a 6" but cant it come close & cant one tune the box to suit the port size :idea: I donno eh, i jus asking

riadb

Postby riadb » July 14th, 2008, 12:06 pm

yes you can