Wire Size Comparison - 8AWG

Postby 3stagevtec » July 2nd, 2008, 4:51 pm

Just wanted to show the differences between three brands of wire..

From top to bottom, Monster Power - Stinger - Audiopipe...
This image was taken as soon as the insulation on the end was removed..

here i twisted the wires..

now for the measurements.. (measurements were taken with the wires twisted and near the insulation for best accuracy..)

diameter of wire (no insulation)
Stinger - 3.45mm
Audiopipe - 3.60mm
Monster Power - 4.00mm**
(+ or - 0.05mm on each)

thickness of each strand
Stinger - 0.15mm
Audiopipe - 0.15mm
Monster Power - 0.20mm

**If you look closely at the MPower, you will see that the wire does not form a perfect circle inside the insulation.. that would be the main reason its diameter is larger than that on the others)

Good, with all that being said.. which would you buy??

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 2nd, 2008, 6:39 pm

monster power of course....

3stage i have a piece of mtx 9ga u can compare as well

riadb

Postby riadb » July 2nd, 2008, 6:59 pm

out of the 3 above..the monster power

but how many wire strands does each cable have???

That is what i normally base my decisions on and I would have to say Directed or Lightning Audio Cable

theblitz

Postby theblitz » July 2nd, 2008, 8:05 pm

^^^the LA or RF wire will always be outstanding... and damn expensive! I have sum 12AWG RF spk wire that look like audio pipe 8AWG lol

strand count is one of your best measures though.... besides I never see strand count printed on cheap(er) wires :?

xeon

Postby xeon » July 2nd, 2008, 8:29 pm

:shock: wow so d audiopipe beter dan d stinger den?

Anyone ever tried GSI wires?

theblitz

Postby theblitz » July 2nd, 2008, 8:45 pm

so d audiopipe beter dan d stinger den?

no

Ree

Postby Ree » July 2nd, 2008, 8:47 pm

yeah i have used GSI wire it is pretty decent better than the audiopipe well in terms of the 4 ga.........i have try the x scorpion and it is better than stinger.....and at a similar / sometimes cheaper price........

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 2nd, 2008, 8:48 pm

purity an level of oxidation u can see ...

theblitz

Postby theblitz » July 2nd, 2008, 8:52 pm

I use Xscorpion Expertlink a lot too.... works for me..... high strand counts

Postby 3stagevtec » July 2nd, 2008, 9:07 pm

theblitz wrote:

no

why??

the monster power has the lowest strand count (from what i can see) because it has thicker strands than the other two.. it does have alot of copper though..

i see no difference between the audiopipe and the stinger.. if any, the audiopipe is thicker overall.. given the choice, i'd buy the AP 8AWG over the Stinger 8AWG...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 2nd, 2008, 9:09 pm

scocshe 8)

Postby 3stagevtec » July 2nd, 2008, 9:10 pm

MonsterPower wrote:purity an level of oxidation u can see ...

the MP is a new wire.. the AP is pretty old, had it over 6 years now.. the stinger is around 2 years old..

would be interesting to put the MTX up against them as well...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 2nd, 2008, 9:10 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
theblitz wrote:

no

why??

Same thing I wondering

theblitz

Postby theblitz » July 2nd, 2008, 9:43 pm

cuz I jus doh like audiopipe :lol:

what's the price of a yard of audiopipe any gauge compared to stinger same gauge? True that brand-name carries a cost with it but you also paying for your copper content..... purity. I've not done any lab tests or nuttin to say so but is jus my opinion that the AP isn't better than the stinger (and that stinger in the PIC lookin sad I know it don't do it justice lol)

aside from that it LOOKS like the MP has a greater copper content than both of the other wires.... but who the heck knows :?
and furthermore it would be easier to twist the MP if it hadn't been pre twisted that much.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 2nd, 2008, 9:58 pm

^ that's the reason why i like audiopipe...

theblitz

Postby theblitz » July 2nd, 2008, 10:03 pm

the price?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 2nd, 2008, 10:17 pm

i can't remember nah.. but the price i payed for them would be different to their current prices, because of how long now i bought some of them..

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » July 2nd, 2008, 11:49 pm

I dont think you are using a fair comparison between the audiopipe and stinger wires..

seeing that your AP wire is 6 years old...

the price of copper has increased significantly over the past few years, and manufacturers have held back on the amount of strands used in their wires,and i am sure if u compare the AP 8 guage wire now, to the 6 yr old one...you would see a BIG difference..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 2nd, 2008, 11:50 pm

hmmm i thought it was monster cable & not monster power ... :lol:

it does seem d MP has more in it so that looks like d best

though monster \ lightning audio \ RF always had some nice thick quality cables

used some audiopipe cabl;es some yrs ao & to me they were rather stiff & d copper content seem less than others so since then i never like AP cables rca wires is poor quality IMO

have used xscorpion rcas & cables a few yrs ago & though its econo priced d quality is pretty decent ...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 2nd, 2008, 11:53 pm

ever saw or used a piece of EFX 8awg ?

i`ll take a pic for u tmr and post it up :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 3rd, 2008, 12:30 am

fuzz_174 wrote:I dont think you are using a fair comparison between the audiopipe and stinger wires..

seeing that your AP wire is 6 years old...

the price of copper has increased significantly over the past few years, and manufacturers have held back on the amount of strands used in their wires,and i am sure if u compare the AP 8 guage wire now, to the 6 yr old one...you would see a BIG difference..

hmm, that would be a good comparison... i'll see if i can get my hands on the new AP 8AWG to compare it to their old 8AWG...

Chiney, i'd like to see the EFX, sounds like it's top quality.. (would you believe i've never heard of that brand before..)

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » July 3rd, 2008, 12:37 am

I have some older 8 guage EFX wire

the yellow ones, best 8 guage i ever used before

the new JL audio wire is very good as well

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 3rd, 2008, 12:37 am

^^ really?

hmm.... its made by Sosche ...

really good wire..

compared my 0ga efx to stinger pro 0ga and it waz much softer and even a bit thicker than the stinger 0ga...

but say wat..if i cant have stinger.. EFX it is for me..i doe really buy n e other wire..

riadb

Postby riadb » July 3rd, 2008, 6:02 am

some of the best cables i have ever used

Cranking cable
Monster Cable
Directed Audio
Stinger Pro
Lightning Audio
saw the MTX cable by monsterpower..very impressive

the audiopipe and GSI work eh....but i would only recommend them for small power applications.

daz jus my 2cents...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 3rd, 2008, 11:03 am

( YAWWWNNNNNNNN )

morning guys..

hmm.... something im supposed to do... :roll:

oh sheit..the pic..right right.. yall go get that later yes..work have me REAL bummy..lol

markzz

Postby markzz » July 3rd, 2008, 11:15 am

well i have really lost my faith in audiopipe power wires i have piece of 3 yr old 4ga and 8ga AP wire.. good stuff.. i went an compared it to what they selling now.. the new 4ga is equivalent to my old 8ga and the new 8ga is equiv to the stinger 12ga speaker wire :?

any one ever herd about a brand called JBC USA? i hav some old 4ga in that and boi that ting like gold! id say its very close to 2ga if u callin wat we have now 4ga and is quite flexible too..
i also have 2 pairs of JBC 12ft rca double sheilding high RF/EMF rejection and excellent connections.. good wires but i cant find the brand anywhere.. :(
both the power and RCA's say directional though and they have arrows in one direction..

any1 ever come across directional power and rca wire?

and what difference would it make? :?
Last edited by markzz on July 3rd, 2008, 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Lance

Postby Lance » July 3rd, 2008, 11:20 am

fuzz_174 wrote:I have some older 8 guage EFX wire

the yellow ones, best 8 guage i ever used before

the new JL audio wire is very good as well

Actually i have that wire fuzz,lol

It really is some of the best 8G wire i've seen.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 3rd, 2008, 11:22 am

how come ppl hardly kno of EFX..

their power wires are REALLY good...

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 3rd, 2008, 1:30 pm

The Sosche is probably the best power cable that i have used, its really flexible and easy to use, but the insulation is sufficiently thick for protection. in terms of strands i think it was around 7. will look to see if i have a piece lying around

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 3rd, 2008, 1:54 pm

ok..here are some pics

just gimme 2mins to load them up...in school the net eh to hot..lol