Good brands for Gallery ?

evo-STI-k

Good brands for Gallery ?

Postby evo-STI-k » April 21st, 2008, 8:12 am

So i have a small question,

im not into the LOUD scene but say im helpign someone who wants a Gallery install what are some fo the Modern BRands that are best suited for GALLERY but COST effective?
LONG Strow subs with street BASS, Loud clear Midranges, etc???

Cant tell ya the last time ive been to a car show- im somewhat ancient, but fellas using 10" for Midrange and ting- whats the norm for these types of cars?

Serious question here fellaz- not bashing!

casper

Postby casper » April 21st, 2008, 8:24 am

10"- rcf,b&c,18sound,beyma, ciare

amps- crossfire, sounstream, mmats, RF, atomic, orion, powerbass, american bass

processors- audiocontrol, soundstream, coustic, clarion, kicker

subs- DD, Mmats, Soundstream, Pioneer, Atomic, RE, Treo, American Bass,

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 21st, 2008, 8:28 am

thanks casper- now out of the SUBS outlined above which of those hit the hardest would you say?

casper

Postby casper » April 21st, 2008, 8:34 am

depends on what u lookin for evo....if u want a high frequency bass that will travel far and "hit people chest"...lol

or if u want a sub to give u some hard devious lows....

high bass subs will refer to dd,mmats,atomic

low bass subs refers to the soundstream,re, treo and american bass

pioneer i would say is in between

casper

Postby casper » April 21st, 2008, 8:38 am

i forgot to put eclipse in my sub list :oops:

evo....please consider the eclipse TI an dem too

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 21st, 2008, 9:00 am

dread lows = RF, RE, Audiobahn, Tarantula i believe (need to confirm), MMats Dreadnuant hmmmm there are more do ah lil research...
loud = DD :twisted: atomic, jugg.....+ more......

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » April 21st, 2008, 9:13 am

I'VE FOUND FOR CONSTANT STREET JAMMING --- AND VALUE FOR MONEY PIONEERS -- THEY BUILT FOR PUNISHMENT -- IF YOU COULD BURN AH PIONEER YOU COULD MASH UP AH STEAMROLLER -- :mrgreen:

boom

Postby boom » April 21st, 2008, 9:17 am

IF YOU COULD BURN AH PIONEER YOU COULD MASH UP AH STEAMROLLER --

If I mash up a steamroller then I could burn down a pios?

I dunno boy cas but I would use the American Bass subs as a high bass kinda sub beacuse they are somewhat spl orient..Well the VFL's are..

casper

Postby casper » April 21st, 2008, 9:22 am

TEAM WISE MEN wrote:I'VE FOUND FOR CONSTANT STREET JAMMING --- AND VALUE FOR MONEY PIONEERS -- THEY BUILT FOR PUNISHMENT -- IF YOU COULD BURN AH PIONEER YOU COULD MASH UP AH STEAMROLLER -- :mrgreen:

well then relll people in trinidad could mash up steam rollers :shock:

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » April 21st, 2008, 9:24 am

YOU HAVE A STEAMROLLER -- MUCH AFFORD TO MASH UP ONE LOL.... ANYWAY I HEARD SOME AMERICAN BASS ON SATURDAY NIGHT -- DOWN AT THE POINT SHOW -- JUST AS GOOD AS I REMEMBERED -- I TRIED ONE OF THEIR AMPS ONCE --- I THINK I WOULD HAVE MORE FUN IN TRYING TO MASH UP THE PIOS

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » April 21st, 2008, 9:28 am

DAMN CASPER -- YOU SUPER CRITIC -YOU -- BUT BETWEEN AN SPL 6000 AND A JUG OR ROCKFORD T2 -- WHICH WOULD BURN FIRST -- SAME POWER ON EACH-- JUST FOR BACHCANAL PURPOSES

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 21st, 2008, 9:35 am

most importantly evo is the system going to be used for competition or just dailiy driving?

see the more expensive brands can go low but in competition u need a more short throw bass which is basically a higher tuned box and a sub capable of playing it

in a sound off when everyone is playing their system no matter how well tuned ur system is once it is low it will be drowned out by other systems

however if its for a street bass i'd recommend the regular brands such as jl audio ,kicker mtx and rockford

but as some of them said for a moderate priced system u can go with pioneer subs

xeon

Re: Good brands for Gallery ?

Postby xeon » April 21st, 2008, 9:39 am

evo-STI-k wrote:So i have a small question,

im not into the LOUD scene but say im helpign someone who wants a Gallery install what are some fo the Modern BRands that are best suited for GALLERY but COST effective?
LONG Strow subs with street BASS, Loud clear Midranges, etc???

Cant tell ya the last time ive been to a car show- im somewhat ancient, but fellas using 10" for Midrange and ting- whats the norm for these types of cars?

Serious question here fellaz- not bashing!

the best thing is to go with DD unless if cash low go with pioneer(lots of dem)

bluee6

Postby bluee6 » April 21st, 2008, 9:40 am

if u look at street bass go with the hcca orion.those sub is a beast .

jeff

Postby jeff » April 21st, 2008, 10:11 am

i have a SERIOUS QUESTION ALSO....i always wanted to know this
for the advanced gallery men only do not spam my question anyone :fist:

wrt to this type of music install are phase issues accounted for...the reason i ask this is that since this music is played for those outside or in front the car...cancellations and holes in the music would affect the purpose of the system ie for crowd pleaser depending on posistion relative to the car one might not hear everything

so are these things taken into consideration or are speakers just put in any way they can fit, and if they are what measures are taken to prevent this?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 21st, 2008, 10:16 am

actually jeff since its for crowd pleaser the mids all directed towards the front of the car where the majority of the crowd is facing so they get the brunt of the volume ....

the holes or dead spots doh matter cuz dey loud :lol:

phase wont be a problem since there will be more mids and in theory that will actually help instead fo harming the mids portion ... well bass its a diff thing

casper

Postby casper » April 21st, 2008, 10:29 am

jeff,mids is strictly directional....this may sound stupid eh but.....a gallary bass sounds better from the side of the car rather than in front...

mids are angled towards people that would be standing at the side of the car and because they are soooo loud....they just usually expand and u hear it from the front good as well....

facing the mids directly forward woul cancel out more than facing it outwards the vehicle because from the side of the car...u wont hear it much...and from the front....u wont hear it much neither because the windscreen blockin it....*keep in mind...mids are strictly directional in a gallry system*

plenty times in those shows...u will realise that those gallary cars dont face the crowd straight...but angle their vehicles to the side a bit....the design of their layout allows better sound by playing with angles...this is what the gallary guys mean by "staging" their vehicle....

jeff

Postby jeff » April 21st, 2008, 10:33 am

MonsterPower wrote:actually jeff since its for crowd pleaser the mids all directed towards the front of the car where the majority of the crowd is facing so they get the brunt of the volume ....

phase wont be a problem since there will be more mids and in theory that will actually help instead fo harming the mids portion ... well bass its a diff thing

hmm so you are saying phase issues dont affect mids?

:?

where subs in these type of systems are usually close to each other possibly in a wall with more or less zero plane delay
what about speakers being within 1/4 wavelength of crossover point?

most of these type of systems the mids and highs are set up "dipole ie just hanging there with full rear wave interaction and thus if the rear wave were to be isolated the mids would be a whole lot clearer and cleaner

ok cool casper

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2008, 1:50 pm

with majority of gallery systems d main goal is LOUD - dont mind some of d freq ranges might be missing since most ppl wont miss it so u can get away with that ...... :|

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 21st, 2008, 2:27 pm

ive burnt countless subs includin pioneers, sony subs, quantum, hurricane, orion p series, atomic ELE........... it doesnt matter . with 4+ times the recommended power any sub can blow even the reknowned subs............

casper in ur amps list i see u mention powerbass..... woah..... i always thought that was a sheit brand of no quality/value after the responses i got bout it in a recent past thread................

so evo-STI-k like you buildin a gallery system on the low or wut........... :|
gallery systems have absolutely no SQ man..... dont let anyone or yourself waste $$$ like that :)

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 21st, 2008, 2:33 pm

wrt to this type of music install are phase issues accounted for...the reason i ask this is that since this music is played for those outside or in front the car...cancellations and holes in the music would affect the purpose of the system ie for crowd pleaser depending on posistion relative to the car one might not hear everything

This is an excellent point.

Thanks SQ guys

Lance

Postby Lance » April 21st, 2008, 4:23 pm

ShaKarz wrote:ive burnt countless subs includin pioneers, sony subs, quantum, hurricane, orion p series, atomic ELE........... it doesnt matter . with 4+ times the recommended power any sub can blow even the reknowned subs............

casper in ur amps list i see u mention powerbass..... woah..... i always thought that was a sheit brand of no quality/value after the responses i got bout it in a recent past thread................

so evo-STI-k like you buildin a gallery system on the low or wut........... :|
gallery systems have absolutely no SQ man..... dont let anyone or yourself waste $$$ like that :)

The orion 2500d has spoken,

Time for an amp rated 500rms more to speak also.

I SAID the orion 2500d was my choice over the Powerbass, never said it was sheit, so far i am correct though.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 21st, 2008, 6:35 pm

jeff wrote:
MonsterPower wrote:actually jeff since its for crowd pleaser the mids all directed towards the front of the car where the majority of the crowd is facing so they get the brunt of the volume ....

hmm so you are saying phase issues dont affect mids?

:?

where subs in these type of systems are usually close to each other possibly in a wall with more or less zero plane delay
what about speakers being within 1/4 wavelength of crossover point?

most of these type of systems the mids and highs are set up "dipole ie just hanging there with full rear wave interaction and thus if the rear wave were to be isolated the mids would be a whole lot clearer and cleaner

ok cool casper

to some extent i would say no ... mid bass yes or sub bass yes but not mids .. ever cross the polarity of a pair of speakers? what happens? it still plays but what happens?the mids dont cancel but the lower freq does

this is what i meant when i said to some extent

this however doesnt apply to sub freq

as for the 1/4 plane most times the froint baffle box is built into one straight piece of woood so cancellation isnt an issue unless its in a w loaded box with the subs facing each other in which case if the installer is knowledgable in his work he could use the phase correction found on most amps

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 21st, 2008, 9:24 pm

Lance wrote:Time for an amp rated 500rms more to speak also.

I SAID the orion 2500d was my choice over the Powerbass, never said it was sheit, so far i am correct though.

0k SiR, i'm sry but i just cant afford Orion..............

The orion 2500d has spoken

when........................ :?:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2008, 9:29 pm

guessing lance meant d orion spoke here >>>>>> http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 9&start=20 ...... :|

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 21st, 2008, 9:35 pm

orrr............ :|

my bad

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 21st, 2008, 9:42 pm

Time for an amp rated 500rms more to speak also.

btw my friend, i dont go round bashin other brands.......... but if u need evidence go on the soundpressure forum n search xa3000d ........ see wut sort of results/reviews you come up with........................................

Lance

Postby Lance » April 21st, 2008, 9:45 pm

ShaKarz wrote:
Lance wrote:Time for an amp rated 500rms more to speak also.

0k SiR, i'm sry but i just cant afford Orion..............

The orion 2500d has spoken

when........................ :?:

A used 2500d might have been a bit cheaper than a used PB3000,

Note i'm saying it once more, the PB3000 is a great amp, just not my top choice considering the other 2 listed.

Who so ever has a PB3000 has alot of power, just make use of it.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 22nd, 2008, 12:52 am

to some extent i would say no ... mid bass yes or sub bass yes but not mids .. ever cross the polarity of a pair of speakers? what happens? it still plays but what happens?the mids dont cancel but the lower freq does

If you cross the polarity you will get pseudo-stereo which is the absence of the 'centre' channel therefore you won't get any bass or an of the sounds that are panned centrally.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 22nd, 2008, 7:46 am

^^Are those concerns or goals of a gallery system?