For the younger ICE tuners

silent_riot

For the younger ICE tuners

Postby silent_riot » January 31st, 2008, 11:13 am

I would like to know what are the car audio interests of my peers (18-25yrs) on the ICE forum. This would include interests and your long term goals in the ICE industry.

For example,
    How many of you are looking to become car audio competitors?
    How many are enthusiasts who are not interested in competition, but interested in the science, design etc of the car audio or audio in general.
    How many would like to be formally trained in car audio?
    What interests you in car audio?

Or any other concerns...

There's a lot of interest in some areas of car audio, and if those are made clear, maybe there can be some greater development in the sport. Eg. formulation of teams, sponsorships, training etc.

This applies to all genres of the sport, be it sq, spl, db dragging, etc.
In the same way there is SQS for generally sound q applications. There can be sessions for the other genres of the sport.

What say you?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » January 31st, 2008, 11:42 am

im 23 ... id rather not compete ... i love car audio on d whole and i can appreciate streetbeat as well as sq

i would love formal training sessions .. especially in fabrication techniques... i think its a nice hobby

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 31st, 2008, 11:49 am

i say me that i just want to be learn as much as possible as i can about sq theory and practice. things that the up comin sqs promises to address like zero plane delay and thing is excitin. not so much on competition but just for my own knowledge if i ever decide to do an install myself. i think only then i would appreciate it the most. when i start to cut metal and build an entire new dash an thing for 2 12's . so gaining the knowledge would be good as i would like to try different approaches, 4 way active. sealed , ib mno sub, 8's or 10's in the doors. etc

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 31st, 2008, 11:51 am

Good topic, and good ideas.

What is so many people's hesitance or reluctance in competing?

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » January 31st, 2008, 11:56 am

i wud like 2 compete jus 2 promote the small business i hav goin....
training would b nice its always good to learn new stuff....
hmmm interest in car audio....ammm i jus like fabricating / making sub woofer enclosures, making the customer happy with the end result and hear hearing my enclosure perform :lol:
love ground pounding bass... :twisted:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » January 31st, 2008, 12:00 pm

well for me ... competition is stiff and expensive ... when i was now starting in ice d amout of money i spend trying to be d loudest in my area etc ...i realised over time it just doesnt make sense

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » January 31st, 2008, 12:04 pm

^^^ daiz tru bro i tink d same ....i jus desided to go this way for exposure

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 31st, 2008, 1:06 pm

i think if yuh compete ppl will know yuh have a system and then yuh get mark.

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » January 31st, 2008, 1:10 pm

How many are enthusiasts who are not interested in competition, but interested in the science, design etc of the car audio or audio in general.

all of d above :mrgreen:

dtp

Postby dtp » January 31st, 2008, 1:26 pm

same here

Postby nervewrecker » January 31st, 2008, 1:47 pm

but with respect to compeating, ive been to some car shows where they class you according to the size of your sub, i hope thas not the way it will be done but that pple will be put into categories according to the amount of power they hav in thier car and size of sub as well as amt of caps etc (like iasca).

if pple puttin me up against other pple with the same size sub and not the same power handeling capacity I out!

i eh want tuh be up against a man woth a juggernaut & i hav a rf p1 15".

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » January 31st, 2008, 1:51 pm

lol daiz tru ^^^^

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 31st, 2008, 1:52 pm

^^So then what would you like the officiating bodies to do for you?

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 31st, 2008, 2:22 pm

i am 22 and i love my music and i love to play it loud, but i am more interested in the science, design etc of the car audio or audio in general.

Postby nervewrecker » January 31st, 2008, 2:22 pm

put us in caregories according to the amt of rms we puttin out for bass (spl). you could also take into consideration the size of the sub used, class man according tuh sub size and rms power, we all kno the simple things like the wiring, batt size and caps will make the diff.

if there isnt any1 with the same size sub with the same rms eg a man with a 10" & a man with a 15" both running 200 rms put dem against each other but we kno the 15" will win. wat can be doen is find how much more of a surface area the 15" has in comparison to the 10" and find a percentage of his spl to suit. or something along these lines nah.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 31st, 2008, 2:51 pm

iasca has rules along those lines. I suggest you go to the website and read them. Also what determines rms etc on an amp (impedance, underrating amps) etc? From what i read, all these issues came up in the past, and the rules right now represent an evolution of that.

Re: For the younger ICE tuners

Postby 3stagevtec » January 31st, 2008, 4:19 pm

silent_riot wrote:How many are enthusiasts who are not interested in competition, but interested in the science, design etc of the car audio or audio in general.

I'm interested in the science & design etc.. but wouldn't might competing now and then just for the fun / experience..

Formally trained.. would love that, but it depends on certain factors...

i'm 23 btw..

Postby nervewrecker » January 31st, 2008, 9:39 pm

well im 23 and im interested in everything you mentioned.

i will like to compeate jus for the fun also to see how I do.

i ve been studying electrical engineering on the side & i hav a fair understanding of how fluids (air) behave etc.

i hav no intention of fillin my car with music like some of those guys out here. my car is still for my personal use but i like music and a deck and a 6" eh cuttin it. so a lil small amp and a sub with 2 8" fuh mids will do. i also dont want to hav to do much of any major aftermarket mods to the extent of changing alternator etc.

i've been considering iasca, but my car is not legal, like i keep saying in the ole talk forum, my g5 eh commin off my glass dem.

also why i dont want to frequent car shows is to get marked and eh music stolen.

Postby nervewrecker » January 31st, 2008, 10:43 pm

& btw I was wondering........

since spl is where they measure the pressure in the vehicle cabin, air is very compressible, wouldnt a man with a vehicle with a small cabin hav an advantage over a man with a vehicle with a large cabin with the same audio system? less air easily compressed? come like squeezing a capped 2 liter bottle and a capped chubby bottle you will get a higher internal pressure from de chubby bottle even if the same force is applied over the same surface area on both bottles.

is this caterd for in spl competetions or is it the trick of the trade dat pple eh realise yet?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » January 31st, 2008, 11:02 pm

I'M 18 AND I'M INNA crowd pleaser and spl

but i love to compete and will not mind formal training

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 1st, 2008, 11:21 am

FaLLeN AnGeL wrote:i am 22 and i love my music and i love to play it loud, but i am more interested in the science, design etc of the car audio or audio in general.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=167701

I highly recommend this...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 1st, 2008, 1:32 pm

Lance, casper, any input here?

Lance

Postby Lance » February 1st, 2008, 9:52 pm

Formal Training is a great idea, I would Love to see MECP and other certification available down here,

The SQS is the closest we as young people have recieved, and i personally really appreciate the opportunity to learn.

These are my views that follow,

Others may feel the same,

As a Young person, Finance has ALWAYS been my biggest problem to anything Car Audio, its hard to even think about competing on my budget, I've gotten alot of help to reach this far, call it luck, call it faith, i'm not sure. Either way i'm grateful.
This is where the Issue of Sponsership comes in, I wish More Dealers/distributors would step up to the plate, And Sponser some young people, I'm not saying to Throw equipment behind everyone that asks, but i'm sure you can spot enough Drive and determination in a Young person, to warrent a Sponsership arrangement that both parties could benefit.

To answer the question of why people don't compete, particularly in Sq,

Competing in SQ is intimidating, FULLSTOP. for me, its not so much an issue of cars and equipment getting marked because of the time period SQ competitions are Judged. Just pure intimidation for me.

Its not the same As crowdpleaser or SPL, hence the reason why competition is so active there.
With A crowdpleaser system, there isn't any intimidation, if your loud you are loud and therefore competition worthy, With SPL systems, you pay for a private metering and know if your competition ready way before you compete,

Sound Quality its different, you don't develop an ''ear'' for Sound Quality over night, you don't build a system in one day or a week for that matter. and you certainly don't learn everything off a forum. Its hard work, that requires persistence, Persistence like this, difficult to find in young people in these times.

To the veterans, Start Reaching out, If you Love the sport, and want to see it grow, Suck the pride up. And stop bashing other genres of car audio, That certainly won't help your cause. you may get a few to appear that they are interested but never a genuine ''conversion'', what you would get is a mouth full of words and no action.

Some of this may not make much sense to some people, But this is how I see it,

audiokev

Postby audiokev » February 2nd, 2008, 8:41 am

so seein that i am 14 i can't comment on this thread rite...lol

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » February 2nd, 2008, 10:42 am

^^^why not man ..boi you don't need to have a big system or anything to comment ...one you have an interest it it why not say why ???remember almost everyone in this forum luv music in someway or the other and since you in here that means you must like something :D :D

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 2nd, 2008, 10:59 am

its admirable u starting off on a early age coz in fact most of guys started of young too hooking up ah ole deck & 2 cheap speaker with ah power supply & gradually advance learning from d mistakes we made .....so once ur head on str8 dont let d young age be a issue ........ :wink:

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2008, 12:28 pm

doh let age stop yuh hoss. i kno man who had music in cars b4 they had thier licence. wen they get thier licence then thye start tuh hit de car shos......

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » February 2nd, 2008, 12:52 pm

yeah thise how you start off in the business i gess .......doh worry audiokey i start off when i was 13 and that was with ah 80watts radio deck and 6 6" and ah equalizer thingee ....still doh know what was that thing relly for!!!!

audiokev

Re: For the younger ICE tuners

Postby audiokev » February 2nd, 2008, 11:18 pm

silent_riot wrote:I would like to know what are the car audio interests of my peers (18-25yrs) on the ICE forum. This would include interests and your long term goals in the ICE industry.

For example,
Or any other concerns...

There's a lot of interest in some areas of car audio, and if those are made clear, maybe there can be some greater development in the sport. Eg. formulation of teams, sponsorships, training etc.

This applies to all genres of the sport, be it sq, spl, db dragging, etc.
In the same way there is SQS for generally sound q applications. There can be sessions for the other genres of the sport.

What say you?

i find that offensive....

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2008, 11:23 pm

may I ask why?

we dont mean no offence bro, you are welcomed too

lawd let som1 else explain, i sleepy..........