TO ALL BOX PROS

Loudsound Customs

TO ALL BOX PROS

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 3rd, 2007, 4:25 pm

i have a question..
will a sub sound good in an enclosure with TWO SLOT PORTS one in each end of the enclosure??????
will it perform?????
or sound shitty???? :lol:

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 3rd, 2007, 6:06 pm

way all d box pros dem?? :lol:

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 3rd, 2007, 6:45 pm

Will a sub with 2 round ports sound shitty compared to a box with 1 round port?

By adding two slot ports all u doing is increasing the port area, once you compensate for it by increasing the length of the port then u have no problem.

Again it comes down to tuning. The only tricky part is getting the ports to fit if they have to be longer than one side of the box, this can be easily solved by using a very simple design similar to the one diamond audio uses. The benefit of having two slot ports is that you get really good internal bracing, however you use some of the internal box volume.

I aint no box pro. but been there done that, next please :lol:

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 3rd, 2007, 8:04 pm

33 hertz,

i understand for circle ports but wat about 2 L ports 1 on each side??
look at d pic bellow

jeff

Postby jeff » December 3rd, 2007, 8:23 pm

you can put how ever as much ports as you desire just do not exceed the limit of sq inches or your box will act as tho its free air and make sure the tuning for the 2 ports are correct as most when doin so dont calculate it properly

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 3rd, 2007, 8:39 pm

wat about wen the baffle is at an angle do the inside end of the slot port need 2 b at dat same angle or u jus make the inside end like a normal slot port??

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 3rd, 2007, 8:42 pm

^ yup just as jeff said dont go above the sq inches limit. The only reason i played around with the 2 slot ports idea is cuz it looked better in the install, i was trying to make it as symmetrical as possible. The design u have should work but my design was a bit different, will post it up later when i leave work.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 3rd, 2007, 9:06 pm

im gonna do over a box for my RE i was thinkin of doin d 2 slot ports or 4 4 inch aeros

sub in d center ..ports to the sides...jus to have symmetry ...i like symmetry when it comes to installation

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 3rd, 2007, 10:37 pm

im gonna do over a box for my RE i was thinkin of doin d 2 slot ports or 4 4 inch aeros

^^^ 4 aero's daiz rell paper :shock:

Postby SR » December 4th, 2007, 7:50 am

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby 3stagevtec » December 4th, 2007, 8:13 pm

is there a specified length to cut the tubing shorter by?? (i doubt though..)

i just measure the internal parallel length...

Rovin supposed to have 4" aero...

jeff

Postby jeff » December 4th, 2007, 9:25 pm

yep 3R and they jokie self...i went in there once to get a port self and wanted just the flares and they tell me that length of port is for all subboxes...steups

Postby 3stagevtec » December 4th, 2007, 9:32 pm

^ ha, i got that same reason about the length from them... :lol:

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 5th, 2007, 12:01 am

boi i went 2 buy box terminals an d man cuss meh :shock:

xeon

Postby xeon » December 5th, 2007, 7:47 am

^^^lol i call dem last week 2 find out bout the aeroports, dey tel me dey have scorpion x is dat any good?

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » December 5th, 2007, 9:22 am

[img::]http://aycu13.webshots.com/image/37292/2002907519885844791_rs.jpg[/img]
^^what about alloy ports :twisted:

xeon

Postby xeon » December 5th, 2007, 10:07 am

^^^ anybody hav a pic or a link so i can see wat this scorpion x aeroport look like???

jeff

Postby jeff » December 5th, 2007, 10:23 am

yal comon...you are not going to be able to hear the difference between brands of aeroports...
the xscorpion is just flares and 3r stuck it on to a piece of pvc thats all

xeon

Postby xeon » December 5th, 2007, 10:35 am

^^^ ok kool

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » December 5th, 2007, 11:56 am

The Service SUCKS in there, unless you deal directly with Richard.

I'm using the Scorpion X and it's working Great. My enclosure is tuned to 35Hz the Golden Frequency.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 5th, 2007, 12:01 pm

richie how much it cost yuh for one?

cus i seeing www.partsexpress.com have all diff sizes and types

4 inch x12 inch is 13 us

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » December 5th, 2007, 12:02 pm

4 x 10" for TT 125.00

xeon

Postby xeon » December 5th, 2007, 9:57 pm

^^^ R & K imports in sando hav dem cheaper, d brand is bluewave audio

xeon

Postby xeon » December 6th, 2007, 8:03 am

^^^ i not sure bout alloy ports,

This is wat Triple R have xscorpion

And this is wat R&K have

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » December 6th, 2007, 3:27 pm

They are pre stuck but can pull apart with a bit of effort.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » December 6th, 2007, 4:40 pm

richiepooh, the normal 4" pvc pipe workin, if length is >10"

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » December 7th, 2007, 8:41 am

Nope the lenght of the Port is really the lenght between the curves :wink:

So that means that ten inch Scorpion will not apply to your project. You will tune the enclosure a bit higher.

xeon

Postby xeon » December 7th, 2007, 8:56 am

^^^ so the length of the port isn't from end 2 end???

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » December 7th, 2007, 9:34 am

No sir

Lance

Postby Lance » December 7th, 2007, 9:41 am

Couldn't understand how we never got a PSP dealer locally, or did we?

Everyone's outer flare diameter is a bit different but they have some nice information on Installation that could come in handy,

http://www.psp-inc.com/

Installation instructions.