Pioneer 3004spl vs. Alpine Type-R 12"

Postby Chiney » November 22nd, 2007, 7:41 pm

Specifications
Watts MAX. Music Power 3000 Watts
Watts Nominal Power Handling 1000 Watts
Frequency Response 18 Hz to 700 Hz
Sensitivity 89 dB
Ohm Rating D2: (1 or 4 ohm) D4: (2 or 8 ohm)
Recommended Enclosure 0.50 ~ 1.0 Cubic Feet
Dimensions 329 mm x 214.2 mm
Mounting Depth 188.8 mm

SPECIFICATIONS

General
• Frequency Response: 25Hz - 500Hz
Dimensions
• Added Volume: 0.085 cu. ft. (Reverse Mount, Magnet Out)
• Displacement: 0.071 cu. ft (Front Mount)
• Mounting Diameter: 275 mm (10.9'')
• Mounting Depth: 195 mm (7.7'')
Power Handling
• Peak Power Handling: 1500 Watts
• RMS Power Handling: 500 Watts
• Power Range: 200 - 500 Watts

here is the situation..

single sub application

EVERYDAY PLAYING..

mission: chest pounding lows....at high volumes without distortion...

power to drive sub: 1000RMS @ 2ohms ( alrdy bought )

both can be obtained from powersellers for around the SAME price range

discuss....
Last edited by Chiney on November 22nd, 2007, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » November 22nd, 2007, 8:11 pm

Alpine type R..

no contest..

mission: chest pounding lows....at high volumes without distortion...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 22nd, 2007, 8:13 pm

i shud prob make it a poll thread

jeff

Postby jeff » November 22nd, 2007, 8:40 pm

come na mannn......chiney ah dissapointed in your for even asking this...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 22nd, 2007, 8:43 pm

type R i just love how they play once in the proper enclosure

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 22nd, 2007, 9:21 pm

heard both ...type r was smoother ... premier was a bit louder ...not a fair comparison ..as cabins were different and also tunings

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 22nd, 2007, 9:36 pm

this is for a car..

i have heard both dread..

dye y i ask boy JEFF.. both where in their proper enclosures and souned real smooth and low...

the only difference i noted waz that the pioneer bassline waz low..yet the volume waz loud...

the alpine the same..but not as loud as the pioneer...

note:

loud is used as a volume level in my post eh..not the "type of bassline"

jeff

Postby jeff » November 22nd, 2007, 10:37 pm

how much power did the type r have in it and the box was built and tuned properly?

cause for a pio spl to play lower than that...

u comin sq day?

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » November 23rd, 2007, 9:43 am

How come we aint hear from Bigmanbandy ?:roll:

Those alpine's are Great Subs.

My question is, why are you comparing it to Pioneer?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » November 23rd, 2007, 10:14 am

i heard rovin's tyre r's in both sealed and ported. would recommend it over the pioneer

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » November 23rd, 2007, 10:19 am

i neva heard the type r's but i built a box 4 2 ah dem premier dem thing play rell low i was surprised yuh ca sit in d bac seat na ...dem subz hittin yuh some dred lash :lol:

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » November 23rd, 2007, 10:36 am

jeff u running a type r on sq day?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 11:51 am

wats wrong with the pioneer premier subs???? SPL series... ???

jeff

Postby jeff » November 23rd, 2007, 11:52 am

lancer3 wrote:jeff u running a type r on sq day?

nope...But its highly possible one of the cars with us will have them tho 8-)

jeff

Postby jeff » November 23rd, 2007, 11:56 am

Chiney wrote:

wats wrong with the pioneer premier subs???? SPL series... ???

actually nothing is wrong with them...they play pretty loud and deep

but the comparison...well

well some prob may not be able to hear the diff so at the end of the day its yur personal pref...besides the sound i personally like subs that not everyone has

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » November 23rd, 2007, 12:08 pm

tru dat jeff^^^

subs that everyone has = pioneer :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 12:47 pm

subs that everyone has = pioneer

well tru eh..

but jus because everyone have dem dont mean anything to a choice..

so far yall jus personal..

no real facts and info.. :lol: :lol:

jeff

Postby jeff » November 23rd, 2007, 1:11 pm

realm of excursion has a bench test of this i believe(pioneer)

i said Besides the sound...thats why i wouldd choose it,
but soundwise the alpine is farrr better musically

i realise you leaning towards the pioneer so ok fact is the pioneer will be louder and your goin to need a whole lot more power to push it and because it says 1000watts doesnt mean thats how much you should give it

let us know what you choose and how it sounded

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » November 23rd, 2007, 1:29 pm

well i've never heard the alpine to give a proper analysis. but generally, it would be better for music because the premier was built for SPL. i can, however, testify about the ground shaking lows that the premier can produce.....even when severely underpowered :twisted:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 3:41 pm

testify about the ground shaking lows that the premier can produce.....even when severely underpowered

oh yeh ! :wink:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 3:43 pm

so ok fact is the pioneer will be louder and your goin to need a whole lot more power to push it

dude.. like i said.i alrdy have 1200rms for which ever sub...

and i`m not leaning anywhere....

i cant..

i havent had any real facts and experiences here...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 8:27 pm

pioneer wrote:Type R...talk done :mrgreen:

sell me yours

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » November 23rd, 2007, 8:30 pm

Chiney if you want one Call me now 687 2690

Dual 2 ohms

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 8:32 pm

JAH!!!

wats it with ppl and dual 2 ohms... :lol:

kixx..

like d4 RARE!!

i need dual4 man :cry:

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » November 23rd, 2007, 10:35 pm

well the majority say type R.
whats ur decision?

boom

Postby boom » November 23rd, 2007, 10:50 pm

type R wasent that built for music and the SPL built for SPL?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 11:39 pm

demboyzaudio wrote:well the majority say type R.
whats ur decision?

and no facts

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 11:39 pm

boom wrote:type R wasent that built for music and the SPL built for SPL?

they can be used for everyday playin too..

proper enclosure says it all dude

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 23rd, 2007, 11:50 pm

d model no of this thread is d last yr model yet u have pic of d new model so i guess u mean d new model

- havent done a box for these new models as yet but d 3004\3002 model i can say alot since i had both d 3002 & a pair of type R

after selling d Rs i in fact bought a new 3002 to experiment with BUT d trick is to get d pio to perform since it seems to love a oversized box ...sounds really uninspiring in a factory rec spec box ....duhhhh ....but in d correct box it is VERY surprising for a SPL sub since it hits some HARD|DEEP looooows ...within 10 days it completely shake out d keylock in my AD trunk ....d key lock just drop inside d trunk panel ....whne playing this sub at high volumes in d car it used to make ur voice sound as if talking while a fan blowing ur voice ...no lie ... :shock:

d type R is just a AMAZING all around sub which sounds good in any almost box u put it in even with little or plenty power its very difficult to make this sub sound shitty ...1 day i decided to try it sealed with only 1 cuft b4 sub displacement & all a sudden d front windscreen bumping hard & ppl alarms started to trip off here ......i very tempted to buy back 1 just to keep it for having it sake ..... :mrgreen:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 11:53 pm

^^ lovely !!

i need to read more like that

but wats your personal choice?
for
HARD|DEEP looooows