Technical Advice on SQ/SQL Bassline....

JoeZwalez

Technical Advice on SQ/SQL Bassline....

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 9:13 am

^^ As topic says, this is for the techy-tuners who read T/S parameters the way the rest of us read de newspapers. This is my scenario...

1. Vehicle is a daily driver.
2. I am ideally looking for 10" subs.
3. It is my intention to fit four of them
4. While i can more than accomodate the 3 and 4 cubic "coffins" that some pple drive around with...we have calculated that for my project (custom install) that 4 to 4.5 cubes is the MAX that I am willing to sacrifice. So each sub basically has to work with 1+ cubic of space.
5. My principal goal is QUALITY! No compromises on that.....although after spending a bunch of money I dont mind having the ability to shake the paint off a nex man car especially when he mids box on de roof!

Any recommendations given these constraints? Technical arguments welcome...post pple!!!

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2007, 9:27 am

some pioneer subs require approx 1 cubic feet of space.

lemme check some ah de rf sepcs, brb....................

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 4th, 2007, 9:34 am

wah kinda vehicle?...i assuming u goin sealed..u factored in the sub displacement rite?
and how u powering it ?

Postby SR » October 4th, 2007, 9:38 am

Jl audio 10w6
Dls iridium 10

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 9:40 am

powering most likey with a monoblock (1 ohm) so that's either single 4 or dual-2 subs i'd be looking at.

i have not limited myself to say i am going with a sealed enclosure but i plan to do fibreglass stuff on the sidewall in the trunk...I can fit 4+ cubes and still have a trunk

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2007, 9:43 am

rf p3 10" dual coil 2/4 ohm 400 rms, require 0.5 - 0.7 cubic feet no port enclosure.
rf p3 12" dual coil 2/4 ohm 500 rms, require 0.75 - 1.25 cubic feet no port enclosure (1.0 cubic feet is plausible)

should be able to giva good shake

btw

wat range is your budget within ?

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 9:44 am

^^SR....i've heard of the quality/reputation of the JL/DLS stuff...will they give me the clean lows and still hit hard?? Sealed/Ported?

I'd like to understand the reasoning behind ur choices.....I know u have guru status here man...holla at me

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 9:48 am

^^slacker I can vouch for the rockford P3's...got a 10" in a 0.65 sealed and it can make u diggy.

Dont really have a budget per say....looking for options that will suit my requirements and then cost will become a factor

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 4th, 2007, 9:51 am

factor in port displacement too an then gross u lookin at apprx 1.3 to 1.5 cubes for each driver so x 4 is 5.2 - 6 cuft

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2007, 10:01 am

pioneer TS-W307D2/D4 12" champion series, dual 4 ohm coil available, 600 rms, 0.85 - 1.75 cubic feet sealed enclosure

southside connections

Postby southside connections » October 4th, 2007, 10:01 am

check ravestark for the -

http://www.exileaudio.com/2007/products ... model=xt10

these will work nicely in that space and they have a very good response

and they will get loud in a sealed box or ported specs are-

ported-(spl)
.65cuft with a 2 " port 9.25" deep

ported-(normal)
1.2cuft with a 2" port 7.75" deep

sealed-(spl)-
.35cuft

sealed-(normal)-
.6cuft

these are perfect for your application

:wink:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 4th, 2007, 10:52 am

If u doing sealed then u can even do 4 12s Alpine Type R which cud even work in 1 cuft or go with 4 10s in it ...u will get d full works of loud & lows with type R (i say this based on d fact i own 2 12s of it b4) ....... :wink:

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 10:55 am

hmmm Alpine.....nice! Where would i source these 10's locally?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » October 4th, 2007, 11:02 am

redeyes have sum 10'z

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 4th, 2007, 2:06 pm

Joez..

I wud recommend the JL w6's as well

they wud fit your application perfectly..they work well in small enclosures..and you wud get the quality u lookin for

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 2:19 pm

Thanks fuzz,rovin,lancer

So it seems that JL and Alpine are the popular choices given the constraints...

There's the exile, rockford, poineer.....hmmm
So which would give me the lowest response, best range (high/low), loudest, most accurate...?

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2007, 2:44 pm

ent yuh say yuh familiar with the rf, look no further............

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 2:50 pm

ah slacker....that is exactly why i need to look further...to see if better options are available out there and especially if the price is right!

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2007, 2:56 pm

well the pioneers a lot more cheaper, im not sure if they can match the sound of the rf though

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 4th, 2007, 3:10 pm

JL- infamously known for their low bass extension from small sealed boxes with Accurace delivery

the Jl12w3 is great!

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 4th, 2007, 3:13 pm

id go d route of JL ...4 of those will get nasty lowww

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 3:43 pm

I've heard a couple JL basslines and i have to admit they sound real sweet...but you know sometimes with advertising and hype, we can be fooled into hearing what the manufacturer tells us that we will hear....

So it sounds like JL has the popular nod thus far eh. Was talking to a pardner and he is a pioneer man to his heart! He asked me if JL is sooo good bla, bla....where are their world record compared to Pio, MTX etc...

Anyone like to comment?

jeff

Postby jeff » October 4th, 2007, 3:55 pm

pioneer is world record in SPL

and some of the world SQ champions use jl

2 different applications

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 4th, 2007, 4:07 pm

jeff right..its 2 differnt applications..and the w6v2 is a really good sq sub but there are other options u cud look at..elemental eu700 and that plays low and requires i think .35cubes and sell for like 550 or around there.. i think SR has these

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 4th, 2007, 4:11 pm

Jeff ,boy for some SQ/SPL/SQL means nada...once it LOUD and tings shaking and alarm trippin that is all they care about. i just felt the need to highlight that!

So far JL seems to have the ticket....so now..i need to start pickin up some bottle an ting!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 4th, 2007, 4:18 pm

dise d only ting with JL but like every other ting in life u get what u pay for.....

JL

Postby JL » October 4th, 2007, 4:32 pm

Yeah fella,

I had a pair of JL audio W6 V1 a while ago, these subs were quite loud and the low freq extension was amazing.

I have a partner with one 10 W6 V2 and it rocks.... couldnt believe it was a 10 inch. BTW both were in sealed enclosures.

So I say go with the 10 W6, if you could afford it then the 10W7....(if space permits)

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » October 4th, 2007, 5:23 pm

Diamond Audio D310D2 or D4

Oz Audio Vector 10'' D3 or D4

Oz Audio ME10.2 OR 4

Elevation Audio SQX10

Elemental Designs 11kv or 11ov

Bravox UXP10

Elemental Designs SQ10 (SLIM)

Postby X_Factor » October 4th, 2007, 6:41 pm

Diamond Audio D310D2 or D4

Oz Audio Vector 10'' D3 or D4

Oz Audio ME10.2 OR 4

Elevation Audio SQX10

Elemental Designs 11kv or 11ov

Bravox UXP10

Elemental Designs SQ10 (SLIM)

i hadda say ..those are some really good choices and may not cost as much as the JL's...

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » October 4th, 2007, 7:28 pm

ALL on clearance as well so you can end up saving some money and spend it elsewhere in your system that will be crucial in better performance eg. sound deadening or power upgrages or even fabrication.