Dangers of MDF dust ? ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 12th, 2007, 11:54 am

MODS : this thread is in relation to I.C.E since we all use MDF to build boxes etc ...so please do not delete it

so this has me wondering about health in time to come

http://www.google.tt/search?q=dangers+o ... S:official

- so u all take d time to read & make comments ....... 8-)

casper

Postby casper » April 12th, 2007, 12:20 pm

jah.....ah sorry for you....good thing i not into dem box making ting nah...cuz i dun already does get trouble to breathe sometimes :(

Postby SR » April 12th, 2007, 12:39 pm

wearing a dust mask and eye protection is standard safety proceedures when doing any type of wood work

however in trinidad it have plenty "macho men"

the same goes for when working with fibre glass and resin etc

should be done in a well ventilated area

not in the confines of a closed up room or garage

Postby SR » April 12th, 2007, 12:42 pm

Wood dust is produced when timber is being worked such as in chipping, sawing, turning, drilling and sanding. Sanding is by far the most dangerous as the particles are so fine that a lot of masks do not entirely filter the particles, and, as a result, pass into our nasal cavities, sinuses and lungs.
Hardwoods in general such as beech, oak and mahogany and native hardwoods (eucalypts) generate fine particles of dust and this has a prime link with nasal cancers. Softwood timbers from coniferous trees such as pine, are less of a risk. Medium density fibreboard (MDF) poses another problem due to the bonding agent and should be treated the same as hardwood. A properly designed and maintained exhaust system is the best method of collecting the dust and is the ideal way. However if this is not practical, dust respirators should be used whenever you are exposed to dust, not only when you are actually processing your work. The following list of some timbers and the effects that they might have should be kept in the workshop.

http://www.vwa.org.au/des_dangwd.htm

but yet people still complain about the cost to build a box
when there are saftey hazzards to keep in mind etc

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 12th, 2007, 3:06 pm

Also is sanding and grinding fiberglass is extremely hazardous to your health. the glass fibers can enter into your lungs and...

the resin fumes are also extremely hazzardous. please read the MSDS.

Those cheap paper dust masks might help for dust, but aren't nearly adequate to resin fumes. Contact cement contains know carcinogens. Its a dangerous profession

Don't play smart with foolishness. Use proper eye/nose/ear protection.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 12th, 2007, 11:13 pm

see d kinds of health hazzards we have to face & this blasted mdf dust does get kicked up into d air from d saws\sanders remianing airborne for a lil while too
& even with dem $2 dust masks some fine dust must slide between d mask & ur face & u breathe it in - like u have to get ah damn oxygen mask when doing this work sometimes yes ...... :(

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 13th, 2007, 12:56 am

its called a full or half face respirator which actively filter out all dust born carcinogens.. which means a much finer filter for finer airborne particles.. the masks may cost $200 or more but it alot safer than the $2 one and works in the long run

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 13th, 2007, 3:01 am

da fiberglass work an resin i around dat all the time an we does use the expensive 1 with the lil breathing ting at the sides with the dust mask..tha the only thing dat does keep we surviving also we work by the sea so is rel breeze an no kinda fumes..an rovin y u u doh put like a big big exhaust fan where u cuttin the wood so it wud suck out the mdf dust in the air?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 13th, 2007, 4:03 am

^^ good idea.

A simple solution is to use a wet dry vac, modified to suck all the saw dust out of the saw. My next table saw/router table station will have dust management. I'll post pics when i get it done.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 7th, 2007, 11:54 pm

^^^^^ :pics:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 8th, 2007, 12:23 am

I eh even build the friggin new garage yet.

December/Jan ish

Drill press, sanding machine, tablesaw, band saw, router.... all on separate stations. :twisted: :twisted:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 8th, 2007, 8:10 am

i cut risers a few months ago... didn tink ah was killin mehself yes...

Postby X_Factor » June 8th, 2007, 8:31 am

resin fumes

does smell nice eh!!

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 8th, 2007, 8:52 am

Ent you was the man who tell me paint fumes does smell nice too

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 8th, 2007, 9:31 am

paint fumes does relly smell nice yuh kno...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 5th, 2008, 11:34 am

bump for safety - (which alot of us sometimes ignore) ...

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 5th, 2008, 12:30 pm

well i seeing men getting high off paint fumes...
:-|

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » November 18th, 2008, 12:48 am

you know, the thing is that I never thought that cutting mdf in my garage was a problem... :shock: :shock:
gosh I couldn't be more wrong...

bump bump bump!!!

Re: Dangers of MDF dust ? ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 13th, 2011, 11:31 pm

bump for ur health ....

Postby X_Factor » January 14th, 2011, 6:38 am

i have a really bad cough that was traced back to 2006
which was around the time i built 2 boxes and tried some fiberglass pods

MONGO

Postby MONGO » January 15th, 2011, 12:39 am

bump for PPE....

toybago

Postby toybago » January 17th, 2011, 2:25 pm

hmm....i used to work with mdf a LOT some years ago, built a few boxes here and there and only used those cheap dust masks occasionally. my dad used to tell me to wear a mask cause inhaling mdf dust causes cancer.....but when you young you stupid.....

dj cas

Postby dj cas » January 19th, 2011, 12:24 am

wow...I just finished fiberglassing my sub box...and all that mdf work without adequate protection...I honestly thought it wasn't that serious of a problem...

adopson

Postby adopson » January 23rd, 2011, 11:43 am

Dust Mask is real toots...waste of time. one of the main points of entry into the skin besides inhalation is absorption through the pores in your skin! barrier cream as well as disposable coveralls could also help! Full face respirators could help in a huge way but you may need to undergo a pulmonary lung function test to see if you are fit enough to wear this type of apparatus!

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 23rd, 2011, 5:52 pm

if yuh wet the respirator, will that help to trap the finer particles?

Postby X_Factor » January 23rd, 2011, 8:16 pm

^ ur using a cheap or wrong respirator
most good respirators state what its made to filter
http://www.amazon.com/MSA-Safety-Works- ... 084&sr=8-1

i may consider selling that one....never used yet
paid 300.00TT via skybox...got shaft with the size of the package instead of the weight

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 24th, 2011, 9:46 pm

^ was looking for a cheap way out lol

the ones down here any good?

what about good sealed eye protection?

Postby X_Factor » January 24th, 2011, 9:57 pm

i heard baggs have some cheap respirators for about 100$ and cartridges are like 15-20$