DLS VS JL

jeff

DLS VS JL

Postby jeff » March 2nd, 2007, 1:18 pm

yea yal i lookin to buy some components soon and these were two brands into consideration...im already leaning to one side but before i make my decision..
anyone can give opinions or comparisons? and if you havent used these first hand DONT post about what you Think or Heard from so and so :twisted:

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2007, 1:23 pm

have a better option for you

give me a call and i will demo the dls for you and then u decide for yourself

rahter than hearing someone elses opinion

cant get a better opinion than your own as you will be the one listening to them

walk with your favorite cd's preferably originals

678-9885

available for demo all day tomorow

Postby 3stagevtec » March 3rd, 2007, 9:33 pm

should be satisfied with either brand...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 4th, 2007, 3:37 am

u need to be a lil more specific WRT which line from JL and which line from DLS your're looking @.

But take SR up on that demo, he wont hit you any BS or any copy/paste marketing hype like others, infact he wont say much atall. its up to you and your ears to decide. :!:

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » March 4th, 2007, 12:50 pm

^^ lol you should get power seller status

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 4th, 2007, 1:07 pm

^look who talkin.....

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » March 4th, 2007, 1:12 pm

copy/paste marketing hype like others

Hoss this is a Forum, what u expect.

SR is not the only person on this forum that does DEMOS. I think you does get a lil too excited to post crap when its regarding DLS or sorry to say sr too :mrgreen:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 4th, 2007, 1:28 pm

^wey sah....alyuh fellaz realll sensitive to dat comment dredd.....

guilty conscience? :lol: :lol:

an like you said...Hoss this is a Forum....i cud post crap regarding DLS just as much as you like to post crap WRT whatever it is you sell. :mrgreen:

So lets just both enjoy posting our respective crap yeh? :idea:

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » March 4th, 2007, 1:40 pm

he wont hit you any BS or any copy/paste marketing hype like others

SMURF,
YOU ARE A MODERATOR - KEEP SR AND DLS OUT OF UR MIND FOR A SEC.

By that statement you are condeming other installers, dealers and so on on the forum who are paying to advertise on this site and being biased to one paticular installer to which you have personal relations with and not to mention part of the DLS click and you promote DLS as well.

So.... keep up the good work.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » March 4th, 2007, 1:45 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^look who talkin.....

lmao

after realising the games that does be goin on in here...

I got my 'I don't give a fcuk' Membership Card....

P.S> you dont know the real story.. so stay quiet lil man

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » March 4th, 2007, 2:55 pm

lol ammmmm nice fellas......real nice

Well I've heard jl comps and DLS comps.....but the lines i heard may not be a proper comparison.........but i would say either way ya would be safe......both are excellent sounding................

DLS may be cheaper though
Last edited by Black Lancer on March 5th, 2007, 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 4th, 2007, 6:15 pm

this is getting rather exciting :lol:

ravestarfx

Postby ravestarfx » March 4th, 2007, 11:49 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:this is getting rather exciting :lol:

i agree

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 5th, 2007, 12:05 am

more like borderline waste of bandwidth.

the true difference is 1. with the beholder and 2. by technical evaluation.

At the end of the day, if the listener cant percieve the difference, it boils down to price.

Both are excellent brands, and both have seen their fair share of championship wins.

Postby SR » March 5th, 2007, 8:28 am

roflmao at some of the posts on this thread

just goes to show how good DLS product is as it seems that some are so scared by it
and continue to try and discredit the product due to sour grapes

i carry both DLS and can supply JL audio

as said before

take a listen to the speakers and make up your own mind

Postby crazybalhead » March 5th, 2007, 9:02 am

I got the DLS mid level components last year and have had them installed about two months now. This is a one sided opinion but I love them. Very natural sounding speakers. Most of my settings are on flat as I did not need to compensate for peaks or dips in response (as far as my ears can tell)

BTW I did a 23 on my RTA with my previous speakers using my ears only, which is not too bad.

My preferences are Trance, and some rock, reggae, soca, basically a wide variety of music. The exhaust from my vehicle is also fairly deep, so I compensate for that by raising the bass a bit.

But in terms of spacious representation of the soundstage, a mellow (adjustable level) tweeter with wide freq response and accurate placement, I would say yuh can't go wrong.
I've listened to some lower end JL subas and was not impressed.

My opinion dey.

jeff

Postby jeff » March 5th, 2007, 10:09 am

thanks everyone for their comments..keep them comming in..

for those who have these components..obviously how they are installed would make a difference...does everyone have them in kicks or custom otherwise or in the doors with the tweet on the pillar etc??and if you do have them in doors and pillar how did yal compensate for the phase difference and the path length difference in sound...if by not time alignment or no compensation at all? :? ?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 5th, 2007, 10:49 am

and if you do have them in doors and pillar how did yal compensate for the phase difference and the path length difference in sound...if by not time alignment or no compensation at all? ?

lordie, dis man bringing pld's into the thread yes. a a.

Jeff, i'd say the vast minority of consumers are neither concerned nor care about pld's. The ones that do, either do attenuation in either the time or amplitude domain. In either case special processing is needed (if your head unit isnt so equipped).

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 5th, 2007, 10:50 am

Phasing reversals sometimes help.

But 180 degrees may be too much in some cases.

Postby crazybalhead » March 5th, 2007, 11:42 am

I have the woofers in the doors and tweeters in the A pillars, stock locations. I aimed the tweets sort of towards the rear view mirror.

I am very pleased with the result thus far. In my opinion, since I do not intend to compete, neither do I have the processing for it, but I feel that time alignment and such processing is unecessary in an everyday driver.

But again these are my preferences.

casper

Postby casper » March 5th, 2007, 1:21 pm

well i know that you all might not really take my word as people in here already told me that my hearing is already shifted :roll: ...but hear goes....

saturday i visited sr to hear what this DLS is all about....i must say...sounds pretty damn good...only thing though ...is that i would have prefered to hear them in a car environment...and not in the open....because i feel as though i would have been able to make a better judment of jeffs question if i did....anyways...this is the point..sunday morning 10am...to sunday late evening....8pm....me and rovin was working on a small sq system for a carolla...the equipment used were...pioneer 6900 head unit,soundstream lil wonder 580.4,an elemantal designs 12" sub,and a pair of 6" jl audio components....

its so funny that jeff made this thread eh..cuz i heard most of the dls lines as well as this particular jl line dat we installed....now why i said dat my judgement might be unfair is because....i heard the jl audio components in the car we installed...and they sounded great....but i did NOT hear the DLS in a car...so...i really dont know what to say about this....but just because i heard the jl's in car...i'd lean a little more on that side....the DLS are good too u know....but i loved the fullness that me and rovin got out of the jl audio components usin the soundstream amp....sr has the dls running on a DLS amp....so u see the difference there....i have no idea how it would have sounded with the same soundstream lil wonder 580.4 on it....

thats jus my 2cents

Postby SR » March 5th, 2007, 2:00 pm

pass thru saturday will arrange for a vehicle with the same dls speakers you heard to be available for you to listen to

jeff

Postby jeff » March 5th, 2007, 2:56 pm

^^that would be cool ..would definiately like to hear them in a car
also..any vehicle with the 3 way components in it?

i think saturday im going to make a pass also

Postby SR » March 5th, 2007, 3:07 pm

the vehicl with the 3 ways is presntly being rebuilt possibly for iasca sound q

the other vehicle with the dls that won iasca rookie of the year last year is still in the paint shop

i can demo my personal vehicle but it has the top of the line speakers from dls as well as the limited edition vaccum tube amp so it wont be a fair comparison

Postby wagon r » March 5th, 2007, 3:23 pm

.....what about if yuh had JL powered by DLS..... :|

*walks back out of thread...*

casper

Postby casper » March 5th, 2007, 3:27 pm

vacuum tube amp yuh say yuh know.....is it the same technolgy im thinking about as in computers????

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 5th, 2007, 3:36 pm

old time technology ... yehhhhhhhh

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 5th, 2007, 4:02 pm

wagon r wrote:.....what about if yuh had JL powered by DLS..... :|

*walks back out of thread...*

But i going this way.......wha wrong wid that? :lol:

casper

Postby casper » March 5th, 2007, 4:21 pm

^^i dont see nutting wrong wit dat...and people duz power atomics wit hifonics amps???

gfbl

Postby gfbl » March 5th, 2007, 5:18 pm

sounds like a great combo man. Cant go wrong with either.