MonsterPower

So ah man say ...

Postby MonsterPower » December 6th, 2006, 4:16 am

dat when yuh doin ah system yuh muss go wid de same type of equipment

lie pioneer deck speakers and subs

i disagree wid dis statement as from past experience i have found dat taking the best from every brand works better

what allyuh tink ?

Postby X_Factor » December 6th, 2006, 6:33 am

but RF dont build an amp to play ah atomic sub?

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » December 6th, 2006, 7:09 am

once the power, impedence, signal power lines up.... at an efficient level then why not?

Sully

Postby Sully » December 6th, 2006, 7:19 am

That statement is false.

VDub

Postby VDub » December 6th, 2006, 7:29 am

Sully wrote:

That statement is false.

Agreed...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 6th, 2006, 7:31 am

steups, why allyuh so, is audio pipe deck, eq, speakers, amps, subs, wires, caps, neons, eveytang meng :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

on a more serious note, and i encourage others to follow this practice, is to look at what the world champions are doing rather than the man who say he winning out.

the best of the best, and even the rookies of the year typically use all speakers of the same brand, also same brand amplifiers.
this could also be of sponsorships, but i prefer to believe that the rookies and the guys in the isqc aren't all sponsored, therefore, there is some sense to using similar equipment types, i.e. all speakers from the same line of a brand, and all amplifiers from the same line of a brand. the installation looks better, the gains are staged similar, wiring is much simpler, pwm noise is reduced.... the list goes longer.

notice i didnt say use everything from the same manuf.

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » December 6th, 2006, 9:16 am

audiopipe :lol:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 6th, 2006, 9:22 am

yuh eh like audiopipe orrr, that is hard core top notch equipment yo. :twisted:

btw i have audio pipe fuses and ground block eh :roll:

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » December 6th, 2006, 9:28 am

audiopipe have ah rel wicked spl sub

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 6th, 2006, 9:30 am

the same ones jan used awhile ago? yeah those orn.

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » December 6th, 2006, 9:34 am

i doh noe if jan used dem a while ago but i think rhino usin dem

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 6th, 2006, 11:58 am

IMO - its not really necessary though i admit d matching brands does look nice :lol:

words does sound nice too when a man saying 4 ex 'yo - i got a gr8 sounding full alpine or eclipse system' ..... :mrgreen:

Postby SR » December 6th, 2006, 12:14 pm

i agree and disagree

i prefer to use the same type of amps ie same modle or product line

due to the response of the power supplies would be similar
i dont like to use different brand amplifiers on the same system

proper matching of the signal path is crucial
ie signal level and gain settings

you wont use an alpine head unit with good voltage sound processing and xover out and then use a low end in dash pre amp with less voltage out that what the alpine was giving and couple with another low end xover unit

thats like adding 2 bottle necks on a highway

and then maybe an external xover

sinnas

Postby sinnas » December 6th, 2006, 5:34 pm

i agree with nigel and sr.

but also when mixing, some brands ive found played better than with others dunno why, quality i guess.

as in i tried a pioneer sub on a legacy amp and a mtx sub on the same amp. both subs were same power jus different frequencies. apart from the box size and thing you could still tell the pioneer was cleaner. the mtx was lower and hit harder but the pio was better in sq. that was long time ago though.

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » December 6th, 2006, 6:49 pm

using similiar brands looks more Professional, and may even prolong the life of your equipment.
But I prefer mixing, because a particular brand may not have the best processor, or the brand with best processor may not have a sub to my liking etc, or sometimes Its just not feasible.....
....I may agree if u say its for an all out sq system, otherwise proper equipment matching will do just as well.

casper

Postby casper » December 7th, 2006, 10:49 am

it is not necessary tuh match brands BUT....u ever heard d soundstream xtreme subs used with soundstream xtreme amps for it????it duz sound rell amazin....also d picasso subs wit d picasso amps sound better dan if yuh use ah next amp on it....

u COULD get ah next brand sub to sound good like how d same brand sub as d amp duz get on yuh know....buh yuh go hadda watch d specs for it and try tuh match it up as closely as possible as you can to get the same output from it as the other sub....get it?

i really do believe dat brands make dere subs to work great with their amps dat why dey put it under d same model name.....remember soundstream duznt take juggernaut subs or dd's or not even atomic into consideration wen dey buildin dey amps yuh know...because they thinkin dat you will go and buy d sub dat dey made for d amp.....wat sub yuh think soundstream did make tuh use wit d goliath XXX6500d dat spawn usin???iz no other dan d XXX series 12" or 15" subs.....

people mix brands iz more of a matter of either trying to save money if the sub for the amp made is too much money or vice versa......orrrrrrrr...it could jus be a matter of brand preference....such as yuh might like rockford for amps ....pioneer for bass ....and DLS or mb quarts fuh mids.......

people prefer these brands most of the time not because they have experience with it yuh know...iz because dey seein EVERYBODY usin it and it workin nice for them...so in turn they believe dat it will work nice for themselves as well.....

infared

Postby infared » December 7th, 2006, 11:54 pm

hmmm i dont know much about car audio but i would think that for eg

pioneer sub and pioneer amp would work good since pioneer must be design the amp to work best with that speaker etc etc?

Sully

Postby Sully » December 8th, 2006, 7:23 am

By this same token you wouldn't use mix different types of classes of amps either would you?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 8th, 2006, 7:28 am

I wouldnt...

Postby SR » December 8th, 2006, 7:44 am

Sully wrote:

By this same token you wouldn't use mix different types of classes of amps either would you?

on a sound q systems i wouldnt
on a regular system i see no harm with using a class d on the bass line and class a/b's on the mids and high's

personally i dont like class d amps due to the higher dist and most people tend to smaller amps than what they really need and overdrive these smaller wattage class d amps causing them to clip and burn thier subwoofers

then blame the sub for being at fault and say "ways dat amp have reeel power boy"

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 8th, 2006, 7:55 am

well, i will say oen thing- if you ever go to a SEMA show and listen to an Entire manufacturers vehicle you might want to say stikc to one brand.

Alpines vehicles are usually out of this world for sound q! :)

casper

Postby casper » December 8th, 2006, 10:40 am

yea well im sure alpine has some pretty descent showcase cars too eh...dat is a very good way of advertising your product rather than have people guessin how the stuff will sound as they see it in a store...yuh know???

IncriminatorAudio

Postby IncriminatorAudio » December 8th, 2006, 11:04 am

infared wrote:hmmm i dont know much about car audio but i would think that for eg

pioneer sub and pioneer amp would work good since pioneer must be design the amp to work best with that speaker etc etc?

Agreed, because manufactures made their products to wrk best with der other products, i mean different subs react different with every amp, i was wrkin on a ultra linear sub and a jbl bp1200amp, and wen this system was all done, the ultra linear had a hard hitting bass and didnt play the frequencies that the jbl was giving, now wen ppl c this, this is how manufactures get der bad name....i also tried a ultra linear amp 1200rms with the same sub, and der was a big difference, it hit harder, played the lows verywell etc... now this make me think tht the jbl is not good, but thats not true, the jbl was tried with a kicker sub....and was excellent... this is y most manufactures recomends u go with their equipment, nd if it dont meet ur standard, assumeing tht ur installation is good, den u can discriminate.....

Val

Postby Val » December 8th, 2006, 12:51 pm

sii_co_dan wrote:well, i will say oen thing- if you ever go to a SEMA show and listen to an Entire manufacturers vehicle you might want to say stikc to one brand.

Alpines vehicles are usually out of this world for sound q! :)

This is because money is no object, they can opt for the highest end line of the Alpine products in these Sponsored cars.

For the less wealthy among us, I see no problems in mixing the brands to suit your pocket, once you don't do it in a haphazard manner to cause damage to your equipment or cause excessive mis-matching.

Postby Hook » December 9th, 2006, 2:15 pm

^^^ what is "excessive mis-matching" ???

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 9th, 2006, 2:48 pm

^^^i guessing he means doing something like powering a JL 12w6v2 with ah pyramid amp....... :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » December 9th, 2006, 5:25 pm

I have a pioneer deck, soundstream eq, pyramid crossover, boss amp for bass, pyramid amp for midrange, crunch amp for highs, JBL subs, power acoustik mids and tweeters and an audiopipe capacitor... and that woking!

sinnas

Postby sinnas » December 9th, 2006, 10:48 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Callaloo system boy :lol: :lol:

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2006, 12:47 am

i disagree wid d no mix an match
BUT they must all compliment each other
unless u goin wid just loud crap and doh care bout the sound q
i prefer the a/b amps right round too unless u goin 5 channel or sumtin
yuh hadda remember doh if u put crap power wid bad quality tuning into a 5 million dollar speaker it go still sound like crap.

casper

Postby casper » December 11th, 2006, 2:47 pm

^^^tru tru....yuh should keep d standard wen goin with a certain system....jus like if yuh gonna use 2 amps for yuh mid range...and yuh already have ah PPI or something pushing ure front stage....i doh expect yuh to go an buy a pyramid amp tuh push yuh back stage eh...dat will jus be dumb...cuz yuh will kill d whole point....