WTK: How to remove door panels on a ck1 lancer

srnoth

WTK: How to remove door panels on a ck1 lancer

Postby srnoth » October 9th, 2006, 10:30 pm

Hi Folks,

Well I just bought a set of 6" components for my ck1 lancer, which I'm going to install in the front doors. I'm going to takle the task of installing them tomorrow, but seeing as I've never removed the door panels before, I was wondering if anyone here could give me some advice on the easiest, simplest way to remove the panels without breaking anything?

All help will be apreciated.
Thanks,
Stephen.

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 9th, 2006, 10:38 pm

you never took out your door pannels... how are you shure 6 1/2's will fit.

it could be 5 1/4....

anyhow just look for the screws, after removing them all, start at the bottom unclippin the upolstry, being carefull not to damage the clips, then just lift the upolstry up over the 'lip' and remove the harness...

srnoth

Postby srnoth » October 9th, 2006, 11:14 pm

Thanks for the reply. I was reading around on some lancer sites and everyone said they are 6.5" so I am pretty sure they will fit.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 10th, 2006, 12:31 am

d way u remove any door panel from any car is 1st 2 remove d 2 bolts/screws which secures d pull handle unto d door frame & remove those .

if its not visible u will have 2 feel around it 2 see where u can remove a part of it pull handle 2 reveal d screws/bolts .

Then u gently pry from d bottom all d way around & dat should be it .

Install back in reverse order ........ :fadein:

Lance

Postby Lance » October 10th, 2006, 3:36 pm

also when pulling, try not to thug/ rock it, pull in one motion, or use a clip remover if u have

srnoth

Postby srnoth » October 10th, 2006, 6:40 pm

Aight well I did it today and the panel came off easy enough - just I missed one small screw by the door handle and that had me stumped for a while.

The problem though is that unlike what so many people said on the US Lancer forums, the front speakers are 5", not the same as those in the rear (weird size - 7" :shock:) dash. The strange thing though is that the hole is plenty big enough for a 6", but they have a plastic adapter to fit the 5" in there. DOn't know why though. So I had to build by own adapter out of some thin plywood - it fits fine but now the door panel won't go right back on, it is jamming against the speaker. So some more work tomorrow figuring out that one...

Stephen.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 10th, 2006, 7:05 pm

all u hav 2 do is put d stock speaker plastic housing over a piece of ply/mdf & trace it & then cut out exactly - now this new wooden adapter plate thing will fit exactly like d original plastic speaker housing - but dont use a overly thick wood/ply/mdf since dat will give u problems
i used this same method .......... :fadein:

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 10th, 2006, 9:15 pm

srnoth wrote:Aight well I did it today and the panel came off easy enough - just I missed one small screw by the door handle and that had me stumped for a while.

The problem though is that unlike what so many people said on the US Lancer forums, the front speakers are 5", not the same as those in the rear (weird size - 7" :shock:) dash. The strange thing though is that the hole is plenty big enough for a 6", but they have a plastic adapter to fit the 5" in there. DOn't know why though. So I had to build by own adapter out of some thin plywood - it fits fine but now the door panel won't go right back on, it is jamming against the speaker. So some more work tomorrow figuring out that one...

Stephen.

dood i told you to check and see what fits first....

ur lucky that it uses an adaptor that you and work around....

and speakers don't usually come 5" and 7".... 5 1/4 or 6 1/2

srnoth

Postby srnoth » October 10th, 2006, 11:12 pm

MR. ROVIN wrote:all u hav 2 do is put d stock speaker plastic housing over a piece of ply/mdf & trace it & then cut out exactly - now this new wooden adapter plate thing will fit exactly like d original plastic speaker housing - but dont use a overly thick wood/ply/mdf since dat will give u problems
i used this same method .......... :fadein:

Yeah Mr. Rovin, that's what I did in the end, and it fits okay now. The only problem is that now the speaker sticks out further than the stock ones, so the door panel is not fitting on as close as it used to, but I'll do something about that tomorrow.

trini_ravi wrote:
dood i told you to check and see what fits first....

ur lucky that it uses an adaptor that you and work around....

and speakers don't usually come 5" and 7".... 5 1/4 or 6 1/2

Yeah boi I real kicked myself for not checking first. You see I asked about it on several other forums and everyone said it was a 6 1/2" speaker. Anyway, stuff happens. At least I got it to fit.

But the speakers in the back dash are not the regular 6 1/2" size. when you measure the diameter of the speaker itself it is just over 6 3/4", and the screw holes are furthur away than with normal 6 1/2". Some stupid proprietary thing. I don't know why they can't just make standard speaker sizes and holes so that any brand speaker will fit. They managed to do that for decks, so why not for speakers?

Anyway its sounding good so far, I now have to run them from an amp instead of the deck and they should work even better.
Stephen.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » October 10th, 2006, 11:37 pm

pioneer,

That's what I was saying about the stock speakers. Why mitsu couldn't of just gone with the standard I don't know.

But hoss, I tried modifying the plastic adapter first, but I didn't have a dremil so I had to use a jigsaw, and that that was rattling and flexing too much. As you say it's hard to get ply or MDF thing enough. I had some 1/4" ply hanging about the place so I used that, but it is still too think. But I think I know how to fix it, I'll try tomorrow.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 12th, 2006, 10:53 am

yeh i too agree dat d car manufacturers should all decide on making 6.5 d standard hole size cause personally i dont like 5.25

well back dash is more presure when u have 2 position urself all how 2 widen up d holes & sometimes u cant widen nothing because d trunk spring rod does be right there so u have 2 use risers .

they does sell mdf from 1/4" right up to 1.5" sizes eh but is mostly 3/4 installers buy instead of wasting $ 2 buy a whole thin sheet when rarely u will need only a lil piece

when u doing this car audio thing u does have 2 use some ingenuity 2 get a situation 2 work - it does be pressure but when u done & see & hear d results ur go look like >>>>>> :D :D :D

srnoth

Postby srnoth » October 13th, 2006, 10:47 pm

Aight folks well I finally found a solution that works well.

I reused the plastice adapters for the stock speakers, but I cut a big enough hole in the to fit the new 6" speakers with a jig saw. Unfortunately this made the plastic adapters too flimsy to properly support the speakers - they would vibrate and sound bad when playing. So I decided to just use the adapters as a seal between the speakers and the door. So I screwed the adapters back onto the door, and then installed the speakers but I screwed them directly into the door metal as opposed the the plastic, and it works perfectly now - no rattling, and a very solid connection. I also used silicon sealer between the adapter and the door, and between the speaker and the adapter, to make sure it is a proper seal.

I ended up using the plastic adapters instead because the plywood ones made the speaker stick out too far, meaning the door panels could not go back on properly. This way the fit nice and snuggly.

I'll post pictures tomorrow incase anyone else is thinking of doing this.

By the way Mr. Rovin the speakers are sounding good, even though I'm just powering them off the deck for now. Tomorrow hopefully I'll get time to install the 200w Pioneer amp and then they should be LOUD!

Thanks for the help guys,
Stephen.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 13th, 2006, 11:03 pm

sweet - glad 2 know u got through with it

yep i'm sure we all would love 2 see pics ........ :fadein:

greenman

Postby greenman » November 5th, 2006, 10:44 am

^^ yes we would!

srnoth

Postby srnoth » November 7th, 2006, 9:01 pm

Hey folks,

Sorry it took so long but here are the pics of the install. I still have a bit of work to do though. As they are now, the woofers move too much when the bass kicks in, and start to distort way b4 they should. However I think that is because the stock speakers had a foam seal between them and the door pannel, effectively putting them in a 'sealed' box. However since these new ones are bigger, the door pannel no longer provides a seal, and so they are effectively in an unsealed box. When I get some time I'm thinking of sealing up the holes in the inside of the door with thin plywood, and installing some of that dynomat stuff in the doors. But right now I don't have so much free time, and it is working great at lower volumes (high enough for inside the car) so it will stay like that for now.

Stephen.
Last edited by srnoth on April 28th, 2007, 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » November 7th, 2006, 9:20 pm

kool... we fitted 1.5" in pods on each of my padna's front doors in a honda van... its weird .5" cudnt fit under d lancer door skin... do u by chance have a pic of d inner side of d door skin?