Another amp preview.. HELP ME!!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 6th, 2008, 5:18 pm

maybe you just not ready for this kind of power...

it's a sign :shock:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 6th, 2008, 6:47 pm

^^ bullshat! :lol:

u is talk with sh!t eh.. hahahahahah

hoss...3stage...bro..pall....

i feel your pain..

well no i cant eh..

but still...... i picturing it like this..

having 2 girls..and one yuh just hadda let go..
like they say..2 is better than one ( last time i tell de wifey that.. meh face had marks for 2days )

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 6th, 2008, 9:45 pm

^but is one amp :|

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 6th, 2008, 9:59 pm

DJ Q wrote:^but is one amp :|

doe wrry nah

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 6th, 2008, 11:58 pm

when u reach dat stage i go hear yuh talkin

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 1:29 am

MonsterPower wrote:when u reach dat stage i go hear yuh talkin

what stage is that?

3stage? :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 7th, 2008, 1:32 am

FAIL

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 8:54 am

The 3000s I was running in my SPL truck before I sold it (they are still in there with the new owner of the truck) are from the same batch that these two are from, so I don't think it's a batch problem.

Is there anything else I should know about your test conditions besides just turning them off and back on within 5 seconds ? I want to be sure I'm repeating it exactly.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 8:56 am

Well his video was well explained... I don't think there could be anything else...

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 9:35 am

3stagevtec wrote:it is surprising that you have never heard of anyone else who turns off their equipment before starting their vehicle.. that seemed like a normal (safe) practise to me.

I am aware of customers that have the amps turned off from the beginning with a switch - then turn them on with the switch after the vehicle is started.

Perhaps I mis-understood you before but I read it as you had them turn on then turned them off, then started the car, and turned them back on.

Is that correct ?

Also, on the test bench test - was there any relays involved like the car test ?

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 10:00 am

So far I have not been able to cause protection with turn-on by either trying to immediately turn it back on, wait 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15 seconds, etc.

Have not used a relay in the turn-on circuit yet, though... but I do not suppose that *should* make a difference.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 10:06 am

sundownz wrote:So far I have not been able to cause protection with turn-on by either trying to immediately turn it back on, wait 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15 seconds, etc.

Have not used a relay in the turn-on circuit yet, though... but I do not suppose that *should* make a difference.

thank u sundownz .. never had cause to use one ..except with alpine decks cuz of their low turn on amperage

but in theory it shouldnt cause anything

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 7th, 2008, 10:36 am

So far I have not been able to cause protection with turn-on by either trying to immediately turn it back on, wait 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15 seconds, etc.

any drawn conclusion to 3stage's problem?? or gettin there?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 11:02 am

sundownz wrote:

Perhaps I mis-understood you before but I read it as you had them turn on then turned them off, then started the car, and turned them back on.

Is that correct ?

Also, on the test bench test - was there any relays involved like the car test ?

Correct, that is my usual procedure. Also remember that the amp did trip when I left it on to start the vehicle.

No relays were used on the bench test. The power wire was connected to the remote turn on lead to start the amp. Nothing else was connected.

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 11:04 am

Chiney wrote:

any drawn conclusion to 3stage's problem?? or gettin there?

Not yet.

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 11:05 am

3stagevtec wrote:
sundownz wrote:

Is that correct ?

Correct, that is my usual procedure. Also remember that the amp did trip when I left it on to start the vehicle.

No relays were used on the bench test. The power wire was connected to the remote turn on lead to start the amp. Nothing else was connected.

Hmmmm. I'll keep testing to see if I can find any situation where they are tripped into protection on turn-on, but have not found one yet.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 7th, 2008, 11:05 am

ok kool

keep use updated then

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 11:32 am

3stage when they went into protection did it stay in protection or did it go back to normal?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 12:49 pm

MonsterPower wrote:3stage when they went into protection did it stay in protection or did it go back to normal?

I left it on for 1 minute max and it never came out of protection.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 7th, 2008, 3:21 pm

^^Agreed. I just saw the video and the way the light flickers suggests something is not normal with the deck remote relay. Manually switch it on with your +12V with a jumper on and off and see if the problem still exists.
Also, try it in another car (headunit) and see if the problem still occurs.

The odds of 2 amps having the exact same problem are very very very small.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 3:48 pm

Pioneer, i did bypass the relay.. and i thoroughly tested the relay to make sure it is not at fault..

My camera uses an ultra bright LED for lighting in dark places.. the flicker you all saw was a reflection of the camera's light on the amp's power LED... 0X

silent riot, i had disconnected the RCAs and bypassd the relay at the ame time.. so i doubt my headunit is responsible..

The odds of 2 amps having the exact same problem are very very very small.

i guess i just won the lotto... :mrgreen:

Lance

Postby Lance » July 7th, 2008, 3:51 pm

Did you try it in another vehicle envirnoment?,

just to eliminate any possible piece of equipment in your System chain?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 7th, 2008, 3:56 pm

so 3stage... u decided yet?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 7th, 2008, 3:58 pm

As lance said, Try it in another car.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 7th, 2008, 3:59 pm

^^ de man said he alrdy return it....

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 4:03 pm

i had tried it on a regulated power supply in my room, a completely different environment... same thing happened..

Chiney, i still thinking about it.. but strongly leaning towards getting it.. :wink: (don't spoil the surprise yet eh.. :D )

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 4:04 pm

pioneer wrote:bypass relay...connect ur RCA's and subwoofer :|

that i didn't do.. but Mr Fuller didn't say that could be a cause..

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 4:11 pm

They will power on fine with no RCAs and speaker wires - I could not find anything on my test bench to replicate what his amps are doing. I also talked to my repair tech and the factory and they haven't seen this issue either.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 6:42 pm

sundownz wrote:They will power on fine with no RCAs and speaker wires - I could not find anything on my test bench to replicate what his amps are doing. I also talked to my repair tech and the factory and they haven't seen this issue either.

i figured you wouldn't find anything.. (if it was a common problem you definitely would have know about it already)

that leaves 2 possibilities,
1) there was a problem with my setup somewhere
2) there is a problem with the amps i got here..

all tests indicating it's the latter...

when Exonic gets back, i'll arrange to meet with him (if he wishes) so we can both determine where the problem actually lies...

if we both determine there is a problem with the amps, then i guess he'll arrange with you to ship them back...

Pioneer, my ground wire is about 4' long and connected to the chassis in 2 separate points..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 6:58 pm

well rene when exonic gets back i will be more than willing to check it back .. as well as i have my setup in the van (temporary) which we could try