Chiney's Build Thread ( gathering equipment )+ iPAD

Re: Chiney's Build Thread ( gathering equipment )

Postby 3stagevtec » November 13th, 2010, 10:42 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:
and wen is 2k and 12s plenty bass??

either u deaf or u standing outside ur wagon to listen to it

come hear 1 12" ported low 30s off 1000wrms in my wagon & i bet u run out ... :mrgreen:

offtopic..

so much for sealed SQ eh.. :lol:

ontopic..

I currently have ~1500Wrms for my daily 12" and sometimes find it can be on the low side when the urge for big / show off bass arises.. 2000Wrms and 2 12"s will make for a really fun daily setup imo..

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2010, 12:49 am

even if was Chiney still not gonna be loud:

http://www.mktrinievents.com/forum/phpB ... 8&start=50

but I like his way of thinking though.

Chiney, If im not mistaken there is a build thread from jeff in here where he modded some front doors & said that everything can go back to the stock appearance in case he needs to sell the car. I say take some pointers from it & go for something like what soundstream626 has on his doors. Those get pretty loud, shaking your clothes loud!

question: whats the recommended size enclosure for those sundown 8"? do you have that space under the dashboard? furthermore, did you factor in mounting them & the enclosure they are in?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 14th, 2010, 2:04 am

i am actually thinkin of using dayton 8"

and yes i do have the space
but sealed....

and not much power either... looking at pumping only around 100rms to then off a 2 channel..

heck...did some talkin to a friend today and he made sense when 1 8" sealed done right wud be jus good enough for a daily with the 12s out..

casper

Postby casper » November 14th, 2010, 7:38 am

^^^with proper speakers in ur doors u wint even miss a sub for daily...come down to the SQ thing today and hear for ureself

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 14th, 2010, 10:00 am

i kno eh dread
my diamonds does kick up a storm
buh i not in trinidad....

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 12th, 2011, 2:55 pm

ok
so i am rdy to move on with this ting

current in my van i have a pair of real audio comps..which do sound REALLY good.. but recently i heard a set of hertz comps and fell in love .. didnt know why i didnt jus buy a pair one time in miami there..damn..

lookin at this..and i alrdy have the fiberglass resin and shiz for the build..
but i want opinions here on these:

Hertz Hi-Energy 6.5
Hertz Energy 6.5
Hertx Mille 6.5

note: ...sq, yes...competition, no!

personally i has a chance to hear and use the energy for a short time and my goodness...
man where those things warm!!! the sound was so natural and well..i wont kno how accurate by ear and im no expert..but dey sound dead on..

kick drums were in my face with lots of vibrancy and clarity!! and everything was located in the kick panels.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 12th, 2011, 3:13 pm

i heard some hertz components recently.. didnt like the hi-energy tweeters 1 bit..was too harsh and bright.. but im accustomed to oz, dls and morel tweeters so maybe thats why..

the milles are great if you can tune it.. and install them properly but they are pretty expensive for the 2way set.. an they go for about $1000USD and you cant really find them online and id stay away from ebay as there are tooo many fakes of high end brands

you probably gonna need a dsp as well.. any thoughts that yet?

one of the best vehicles ive heard at spring break nationals that was a daily driver was a truck with hertz milles

ive heard a couple setups with milles they were very natural sounding ..but warm? id say dls and morel was much more warm

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 12th, 2011, 4:07 pm

^^ really??...

well i am still open to options.. to me the energy sounded good

other options still on the table...the jl audio c3 is one...

i vex i sold my diamond audio m6 comps ..damn

for tuning..someone recommended the audio control eqx..

i have the mono for sale..going to get something smaller.... and open up space in the false floor for the AC and so forth

Postby SR » May 12th, 2011, 4:22 pm

one of the vehicles that i was imrpessed with at sbn was running herts comps 2 ways in a simple setup

pass thru the test and tune this sunday i will have the addictive audio comps for demo in my car

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 12th, 2011, 4:26 pm

if you going for sq .. i think you may be happier with a dsp.. as you would have more flexibility with tuning and get the best out of them...if you have the money and could afford hertz mille you could more than afford to get a proper dsp like a bitone, h800 etc..

i didnt like the high energy tweeters..but as i said thats just me..i been spoilt with oz,dls and morel tweeters all of which are far from being bright

i do remember speaking to the guy at daytona this year with the hertz and he did say the midbass and lower midrange is better on the mille BUT the hi energy had better upper midrange but not as good lower midrange..

my opinion if you can afford milles look into dynaudio if u want to be different or there are many great brands available locally that you can get dealer support like hybrid, dls and morel.. the support you get from the local dealers are second to none and the advice and help they would offer would be worth just as much as the speakers...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 12th, 2011, 5:02 pm

SR wrote:one of the vehicles that i was imrpessed with at sbn was running herts comps 2 ways in a simple setup

pass thru the test and tune this sunday i will have the addictive audio comps for demo in my car

sunday is grad up my side..most likey my head go be bad to.. might not tell the difference between sq and gallery.. lol

i WAS looking at hybrid ..but the prices ..waw... then again.. i never really looked into their line-up..

local is always a better idea to me...

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 12th, 2011, 5:32 pm

^^ EyeandEye has a L8+l4 set piping out for next to nothing ($2000iirc)

Awesome value there IMO and Im sure the local dealer may have some tweets around, plus you would still get hybrid support :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 13th, 2011, 12:39 am

U know u don't even need tweets for highs. Heard a system where
The dude had 3" handling his top. Sounded sweet!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 24th, 2011, 5:27 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ixf9eHtTvlg

just a quick vid of the mock up
check the video for details

this includes web browsing with my 4g device as well on the go!

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2011, 1:21 pm

Chiney wrote:U know u don't even need tweets for highs. Heard a system where
The dude had 3" handling his top. Sounded sweet!

dayton's?

Chiney

Re: Chiney's Build Thread ( gathering equipment )+ iPAD

Postby Chiney » May 28th, 2011, 2:14 pm

^^ HAT

Lance

Postby Lance » May 29th, 2011, 12:52 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ EyeandEye has a L8+l4 set piping out for next to nothing ($2000iirc)

Awesome value there IMO and Im sure the local dealer may have some tweets around, plus you would still get hybrid support :)

He does not have L4's for sale...Its a L1+L8

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 29th, 2011, 1:16 pm

Lance wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ EyeandEye has a L8+l4 set piping out for next to nothing ($2000iirc)

He does not have L4's for sale...Its a L1+L8

My bad :oops:

Still a great combo doh :D