Open Sound Quality Class 7th June 2009

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 10th, 2009, 2:58 pm

Sully wrote:DJ Q,It gives a really good idea of where you need to improve.

Well at this point I already know what has to improve. But at least I can see where the current set stands...

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » May 10th, 2009, 7:09 pm

as long as the date is right, i'm in

Postby nervewrecker » May 10th, 2009, 8:06 pm

I might jump eeen (depending on how sch running).

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » May 11th, 2009, 8:17 pm

When y'all confirm a date, it might be a good idea to post in a new thread or as a sticky and include the official rules and registration etc.

I consider myself a NOOB, however i spec'd/purchased my equipment and had it professionally installed. I hope that I, and others like me can compete

jeff

Postby jeff » May 11th, 2009, 11:03 pm

to make this event even more successful, i think this would be the perfect opportunity for car audio shops and distributors to come together and assist with sponsorship etc with brand displays and demo vehicles

no djs, no speakers on top cars, just pure car audio
this would be perfect for all new to the sport or even for anyone else to come and demo the various Car Audio brands and see the crazy installs that you wont see at your regular car shows

casper

Postby casper » May 11th, 2009, 11:19 pm

^^^when u say no djs....u mean no dj speakers??? :(

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 12th, 2009, 12:06 am

i doubt he means that - i think he means like a actual big DJ which covering down everybody car music ...

Sully

Postby Sully » May 12th, 2009, 6:17 am

I think that he means both.

jeff

Postby jeff » May 12th, 2009, 6:56 am

lol actually i mean no dj covering down everyone

i welcome all the dj speaker guys to come and see and hear and even try the comp out to see how your car scores with the sq criteria .... :)

we all know what a dj car sounds like...do yall know what a sq car sounds like?

but seriously, what yal think about the car audio expo and comp
sr?

Postby nervewrecker » May 12th, 2009, 7:37 am

jeff wrote:...do yall know what a sq car sounds like?

for the longest while I want to hear one.

I have a lot of questions as wel, does the bassline in these cars / vans etc always go down to 20hz? I get a response at 20hz but not much, late night tip dosent sound so bad in my car although I have a it of troule making the lowest note, sounds like zombie (acoustic version), who is watching - acoustic version (armin van buren ft nadia ali), apoligise remix & my immortal play quite well however. I feel I need my mids to go a it lower for apoligise remix though :oops: .

jeff

Postby jeff » May 12th, 2009, 8:07 am

slacker_jack wrote:

I have a lot of questions as wel, does the bassline in these cars / vans etc always go down to 20hz?

in sq there is a section called sub bass where cars are judged on, and sub bass is exactly that ..sub bass....not mid bass which some trinis use their subs to play

i used to think i knew what sub bass was until the day i sat in a white hatch civic with a little 10...that pipe organ rocked the sheit out of the car

hopefully the day pulls of and you will more than get your earfull

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 12th, 2009, 8:19 am

jeff wrote:
slacker_jack wrote:

I have a lot of questions as wel, does the bassline in these cars / vans etc always go down to 20hz?

in sq there is a section called sub bass where cars are judged on, and sub bass is exactly that ..sub bass....not mid bass which some trinis use their subs to play

i used to think i knew what sub bass was until the day i sat in a white hatch civic with a little 10...that pipe organ rocked the sheit out of the car

hopefully the day pulls of and you will more than get your earfull

oOoO la laa

me wants to hear

Postby nervewrecker » May 12th, 2009, 8:19 am

my lpf set to about 50hz :fadein: I goin for lows this rounds & I dont like small subs, 1" ftw.

I feel I not gettin the best out of my clarion speakers, I want to hear what else it has out here & what am I missing with respect to midass.

what about your thread on your sq breakdown jeff? I was wating to see if you would post what sub you used & tuning freq :mrgreen:

also is rear stage necessary?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 12th, 2009, 8:51 am

Front stage only. Keep it simple, and it will be easier to set up for nice imaging. Maybe for daily you could keep the rear-fill.

Ent jeff used MB quarts premium in a badarse sealed box.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 12th, 2009, 10:17 am

We're still awaiting word from IASCA?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 12th, 2009, 10:19 am

event sounds nice and my install should be ready...

Postby nervewrecker » May 12th, 2009, 10:24 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:event sounds nice and my install should be ready...

is not sr doin your install?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 12th, 2009, 10:32 am

is there a issue with who does my install??

my install is for personal use and enjoyment....but id just like to compare it with others etc...im not really into the whole sound off thing...

Postby nervewrecker » May 12th, 2009, 10:40 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:is there a issue with who does my install??

my install is for personal use and enjoyment....but id just like to compare it with others etc...im not really into the whole sound off thing...

naw man, I didnt mean it in a bad way.

isnt this small competition thingy supposed to be for the noobs @ sq, someone comming in with a professionally done install to compeate aginast them wont be fair, I think there was something bout this in the thread already.

I for one wont mind gettin to hear your install if you passing through & im there. I already took a quick makko of biggy82's install & it sounds good to me.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 12th, 2009, 10:49 am

slacker_jack wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:is there a issue with who does my install??

naw man, I didnt mean it in a bad way.

isnt this small competition thingy supposed to be for the noobs @ sq, someone comming in with a professionally done install to compeate aginast them wont be fair, I think there was something bout this in the thread already.

I for one wont mind gettin to hear your install if you passing through & im there. I already took a quick makko of biggy82's install & it sounds good to me.

cool...once im there on the date it would be no problem...

sandfly

Postby sandfly » May 12th, 2009, 11:07 am

silent_riot wrote:Looking forward to hearing from sandfly,

Don't mind taking a shot at this but I'll need some advice the morning before. Cuz I never tuned for competition in the past, all I listen is dancehall mp3's. I got the ALPINE IMPRINT Sound Manager Kit if that could help but I don't use it.

Sully

Postby Sully » May 13th, 2009, 6:10 am

I got the ALPINE IMPRINT Sound Manager Kit if that could help but I don't use it.

There's a lot of people who'll be willing to take it off your hands if you're willing to part with it.

sandfly

Postby sandfly » May 13th, 2009, 11:06 am

Ok not sure if I said the correct thing here but its just a program on a cd and a mic. I paid about $170 I think from exonic. Used it once but I prefer my personal settings. Don't think I'll sell it tho but cud let u guys use it whenever we meet. Let me know if we're talking about the same thing here cuz I'm now learning.

Postby SR » May 13th, 2009, 11:17 am

date set

7th june

details will be worked out by tonight

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 13th, 2009, 11:25 am

nice......no location yet?

Aimar

Postby Aimar » May 13th, 2009, 1:34 pm

nooooooooooooooooooooooooo :x

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 13th, 2009, 1:55 pm

Aimar wrote:nooooooooooooooooooooooooo :x

I know right.....Gonna have to just work with it I guess..

Sully

Postby Sully » May 13th, 2009, 1:58 pm

Aimar, What's wrong with the 7th?

Aimar

Postby Aimar » May 13th, 2009, 2:03 pm

It's my b'day :D

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 13th, 2009, 2:12 pm

7th June 2009
Venue: South
Time: mid morning
Competitors fee: Cheap

For more info, Stay on this post, or go to the IASCA's facebook page.