Discuss this why did this car score the highest in SQC

casper

Postby casper » December 9th, 2008, 8:00 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:wish i cud afford 3 cars so i cud compete in all aspects since i have a appreciation of all ...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 9th, 2008, 8:32 am

DJ Q wrote:enjoying spl from by the beach after competition > priceless

Firstly, a true spl system is not meant to play music.
I don't blame you for not knowing this.
There are only a handful of spl cars in Trinidad, the rest of "SPL" cars are designed to play music loudly, nothing else.
From the last show I've been to, people run SPL equipment and feel they are running an SPL system, same can be said for people who own sound Q equipment and think they are audiophiles.

SPL is a true competitors sport. Imagine buying all that equipment for a 3 second competition, that requires true dedication to the sport, and a very competitive spirit.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 8:34 am

^I know that ... it was a joke

also note that roger quoted my figure for my daily system and not just my SPL system (8500 vs 6200)

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 9th, 2008, 8:57 am

leave it to Dj-Q to come into a perfectly good thread and fcuk it up as usual.
Those who wish to debate SQC vs SPL go and open yuh own damn thread!

SO back to the DISCUSSION On SQC and why a particular scored so high!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 9:06 am

Thank you for your intelligence jeff, nigel, roger and especially SR...
I've learned alot.

I can't stand this asshole

It was nice while it lasted.

See you all tomorrow at the ICE meeting :)

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » December 9th, 2008, 9:40 am

evo-STI-k wrote:leave it to Dj-Q to come into a perfectly good thread and fcuk it up as usual.
Those who wish to debate SQC vs SPL go and open yuh own damn thread!

SO back to the DISCUSSION On SQC and why a particular scored so high!

cosign

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 9th, 2008, 11:06 am

ay dont insult d man like dat - suppose u eh know who he is & come to d meeting & clout u up ... :|

mods - i feel d last page & some of this page where d topic rail roaded shud be deleted ........

riadb

Postby riadb » December 9th, 2008, 12:07 pm

i 2nd that Rovin

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 9th, 2008, 12:15 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:ay dont insult d man like dat - suppose u eh know who he is & come to d meeting & clout u up ... :|

i would pay money to see that! :lol: and then what? :?

mods - i feel d last page & some of this page where d topic rail roaded shud be deleted ........

casper

Postby casper » December 9th, 2008, 12:16 pm

i go rel laugh if evo stik hit Q a clout in d meeting :lol:

didnt get to hear this car but the install looked real clean and well planned...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 9th, 2008, 12:22 pm

casper wrote:i go rel laugh if evo stik hit Q a clout in d meeting :lol:

i cud picture evostik doing dat..
so dont bet against him

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 12:45 pm

So looking at the fact that speakers that cost in the 10s of thousands weren't used in this install, do you think, with the proper processing, my equipment may achieve a high score?

Because I realise that alot has to do more with time alignment and those things. It's obvious that my tonality will be a bit off since I'll be using drivers with a limited frequency range... but otherwise, do you think I can score high or even possibly achieve a podium position with this equipment?

I'd like to break the barrier that states that pro audio speakers can't make it in SQ.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 9th, 2008, 1:02 pm

that my friend would be exceedingly difficult to do but thats to say it hasnt been tried before eh

ive yet to see a proaudio driver 8 inches or less that will cover from 60 hz to 4k effectively ... most cant drop below 100 but i have seen some that go to 7k tho

also the resposse curve within its rated bandwidth has lots of peaks and dips that ud need a hell of alot of processing to equalize

with what trinidad has to offer these days wrt sq competing cars , podium is well ... a far stretch to say the least

as for the s2000 ... the dimensions of the car i believe has a good bit to do with it ... ie volume of door as stated before and also position of speakers from driver seating position

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 9th, 2008, 1:02 pm

I'd like to break the barrier that states that pro audio speakers can't make it in SQ.

You'd also be the at least the 4th person to join the line of those who have tried and didnt want to talk about it after wards. There is at least 2 of them here on this forum. I am NOT calling anynames so dont ask.

I will say, once upon a time, a silver/grey primera wagon tried it. He tried doing sq, a bit of gallery and spl, and was never able to do his best at any. If any of you need to ask who he is, yuh aint around long enuf to be causing trouble. lol.

The minute he switched to car audio speakers, he began taking podium spots.

Its been done. Im not doubting your abilities to tune and build a system, Im simply telling you, guys that know a lot about this, have tried it before.
Last edited by nigel1977 on December 9th, 2008, 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

casper

Postby casper » December 9th, 2008, 1:06 pm

DJ Q wrote:So looking at the fact that speakers that cost in the 10s of thousands weren't used in this install, do you think, with the proper processing, my equipment may achieve a high score?

Because I realise that alot has to do more with time alignment and those things. It's obvious that my tonality will be a bit off since I'll be using drivers with a limited frequency range... but otherwise, do you think I can score high or even possibly achieve a podium position with this equipment?

that has been done already....it had a guy that used to enter with dj speakers in sq and get pretty good results...u never know eh...its possible...

btw....check out MY sexy RTA curve :D

:mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 1:09 pm

nigel1977 wrote:

You'd also be the at least the 4th person to join the line of those who have tried and didnt want to talk about it after wards. There is at least 2 of them here on this forum. I am calling anynames so dont ask.

I will say, once upon a time, a silver/grey primera wagon tried it. He tried doing sq, a bit of gallery and spl, and was never able to do his best at any. If any of you need to ask who he is, yuh aint around long enuf to be causing trouble. lol.

The minute he switched to car audio speakers, we began taking podium spots.

Its been done. Im not doubting your abilities to tune and build a system, Im simply telling you, guys that know a lot about this, have tried it before.

Thanks for the advice.. but I have lots of faith in my speakers :)

I WILL be talking about it afterwards to explain my personal experience as to why they can't work. I don't want to give this overall thing of "DJ Speakers won't cut it" I'd at least like to TRY (since I have them already).. get my score... pass/fail and then give MY review.

I'm *supposed* to get back my car today... I'll see what I can do to have it ready for the meeting tomorrow.

I'll be honoured if you take a listen with me in the car and give me a detailed review. :)

Postby SR » December 9th, 2008, 1:10 pm

and wait nigell yuh forget to mention that he never returned to the pro/dj speakers again

as when he wanted it louder he just doubled up on the sq comps instead

his words were
he never knew he was missing this much all these years

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 1:18 pm

SR wrote:and wait nigell yuh forget to mention that he never returned to the pro/dj speakers again

as when he wanted it louder he just doubled up on the sq comps instead

his words were
he never knew he was missing this much all these years
well honestly.. so far I've listened to three SQ systems.
All of them sound REALLY nice..

The staging, imaging and tonality is lovely.

But I tuned my system to deliver exactly what I want and at the volume I want.

In fact, in my room, I dodged the original speakers from my panasonic home system for two directed 6*9s because they sound so much better even though I don't get as much bass in that little sealed box.

So yes, I do have a deep appreciation for sound

Postby SR » December 9th, 2008, 1:30 pm

i have the correct speakers for you xprogram line dls

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 9th, 2008, 1:33 pm

DJ Q,

boy i eh know what to say again nah - like u alone in ur own audio planet ... :|

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 9th, 2008, 1:48 pm

wow

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 2:17 pm

silent_riot wrote::shock:
wow
what??

i read up on those a while ago.. what's the pricing like?

boy i eh know what to say again nah - like u alone in ur own audio planet ...

what i do now...
i'm just setting a goal for myself :?

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » December 9th, 2008, 3:16 pm

DJ Q wrote:
wow
what??

what i do now...

You kinda mad in yur arse DJ Q, its not your thread and who d eff is you to question silent riot? Stop spamming and gtfo.

Let me see allyuh come to defend DJ Q.

casper

Postby casper » December 9th, 2008, 3:26 pm

Chris90 wrote:
DJ Q wrote:
wow
what??

what i do now...

You kinda mad in yur arse DJ Q, its not your thread and who d eff is you to question silent riot? Stop spamming and gtfo.

Let me see allyuh come to defend DJ Q.

u doin as if u helpin or contributing anything

roger

Postby roger » December 9th, 2008, 3:34 pm

Degeneration..... :( :( :( :(

comeon guys, this is not necessary.

everyone has their own opinions and have a right to them, whether they have agreement or not...

it always a shame to see a thread with such potential to inform and educate degenerate into flaming and bashing, whether deliberate or not.

we are mature and can and must do better!!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 3:35 pm

I really hope I get some high numbers with this stuff :)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 9th, 2008, 4:42 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:mods - i feel d last page & some of this page where d topic rail roaded shud be deleted ........

clean up on isle 5 .....
:)

Lance

Postby Lance » December 9th, 2008, 6:32 pm

We have a pair of X-program 5 1/4'' for sale

Postby SR » December 9th, 2008, 8:45 pm

and for that reason i will not be sponsering anymore equipment towards the rookie class in sq

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » December 9th, 2008, 8:58 pm

nigel x4 and sr x6 i spoke to the man with the primera and he admitted he didn't know that car ausio was the way to go...it sounded way better