nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 18th, 2008, 8:35 am

word.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 18th, 2008, 9:05 am

silent_riot,

Where you getting the shop pack tho???...

anybody know how to take out de interior of a b13?... :| i was watching it and the floor looking kinda hard to get out, and doh talk for where de firewall is.. oh gorm... and i have less than 3 weeks to do the entire installation and register with IASCA...

nigel1977,
whats the south contact for IASCA?... i need to register this week to get the rule book and start my build..

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 18th, 2008, 9:27 am

south contact. shameer. 681-4144

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 18th, 2008, 10:07 am

what are the benefits of deadening the floor of your car?

Lance

Postby Lance » September 18th, 2008, 11:04 am

Road noise

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 18th, 2008, 11:10 am

Racegod,

ur install is going to be done for oct 5th or a show after that ? ...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 18th, 2008, 11:14 am

If your funds are limited Racegod, concentrate on the front doors, and trunk area. If you have material left, then do firewall and work you way down throughout the floorpan and then roof.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 18th, 2008, 7:15 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:Racegod,

ur install is going to be done for oct 5th or a show after that ? ...

hoss i finishing everything in 2weeks.... 8-) :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 18th, 2008, 7:21 pm

^^^hmmm :shock: well i really want to see u build a good sq competitive car within that short period .... :o

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 18th, 2008, 8:25 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:^^^hmmm :shock: well i really want to see u build a good sq competitive car within that short period .... :o

dis weekend is deading going in along wid wiring while the car down... sunday the amps will be in as well as the comps going in same day with the deading...

I NEED YOU TO BUILD ME A SEALED BOX FOR A 10inch d4 P3...

PM me a price..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 18th, 2008, 10:12 pm

oho that sounds like a good plan

thing is i have already put off all box building until after oct 5th ...i really need d time to start work on my own install soon ... :oops:

looks like 3\4 mdf around my area suddenly get scarce so 2 days now i looking & who have , d price recently jumped by about 40-50% .... :? :shock:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 18th, 2008, 10:28 pm

Racegod, the second skin shop packs can be replaced by multiple trunk kits. (a trunk kkit is 20 sq ft not 40 like i said before). 4 trunk kits are the same cost and acreage as a shop pack. Check fen for it.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 18th, 2008, 11:41 pm

silent_riot,

yea i already got the pricing from fen.. so i'll collect Sat morning, and start installing...

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » October 12th, 2008, 9:53 am

I finally got some sound deading and installed. It was not that difficult to do for a first timer, just needed an extra pair of hands and some patience. After stripping the doors and starting, I realise just how easy it is. I did have some difficult with the stock wires on the doors. Pics below of one of the doors after completed, it may not look as good as others, but for a DIY I am pleased with the outcome.

Did both inside the door and the outer area, door got alot heavier afer finished.

Comments are welcomed.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 12th, 2008, 12:10 pm

looks professional imho

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 12th, 2008, 12:15 pm

what is the price to install (have the dampening material already) on the trunk lid?
also who can do this install very neat?!?

what is the cost of the rubber roller to smoothen the sound damping?

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » October 12th, 2008, 12:41 pm

Q, thanks for the compliment, means alot from the guys who have done this before..

Pirate, I got the roller for 125.00 @ Fens. When I got the Mat, I thought I needed an installer also but I am glad I did it myself. IMO you don't really need an installer. Just patience, maybe someone to help and a heat gun. I got one burrowed for the job. I saw someone even used a hair drier on the forum.

After small trial and error this is what worked for me:-

measured the area needed and cut to suit
peeled the back of the mat just a little and stick one end onto the area I was covering, Sticking and rolling and peel only a little area at a time, working along this way until finished.

The hardest thing for me, as I am not an installer was the wires and doing the inside of the door. With a little patience and accessing the job first before you start I am sure you can do this by yourself.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 12th, 2008, 5:50 pm

i'm feeling lazy and i NEED a professional finish.
i already put cascade mats on the inner and outer door by my self...i just want the trunk lid to be flawless.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2008, 5:58 pm

Labour $200/hr

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 12th, 2008, 9:46 pm

''''Did both inside the door and the outer area, door got alot heavier afer finished. ''
''

looks good man ....thats d correct way to do it ...most ppl r lazy & just do d outer area .....not hard to at all but takes some time\patience to do it properly ...

waiting to hear ur review on how d music now sounds ...

...* as if i dont know what u going to say .... :wink:

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am

This has been the first upgrade on my little project so far. Currently still using a Pair of 6" 18 Sounds (Changing to Alpine SPX-17Pro) on the door until I acquire all the other components to begin, so my reviews on it is based on the 18 Sound.

Considerable improvment in the Clarity of the Vocals of different Genre of Music.
Was able to set crossover HPF lower from where it was to a little below 80 HZ and still sounded cleaner and clearer. Prior to putting the Mat, 120 Hz was probably the lowest I could have gone where the mid bass started to sound distorted which for some reasonaffected Vocals...

I have bass upfront :) Music blends in much with the sub in the back and speakers up front sounds fuller. "Imaculate Collection" have never sounded so good in my car before.

Small drop in External Noise, nothing much to talk about, but when added to the increase clarity in the sound it is quite noticable.

I would recommend this to be the first thing anyone does to upgrade any music system. I am sure even stock speakers will sound a lot better with sound dampening... It is not overrated...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 13th, 2008, 11:33 am

when u get those comps in ur car u will be :shock: at d amt of midbass u going to get compared to what u have now .... most ppl wont expect what matting ur fronts doors properly can do ....

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » October 13th, 2008, 11:46 am

The comps will be going in shortly... guess what I finally got... after patiently waiting a long long long long time... for... a brand new

H701

bye bye Clarion Cross :D

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 13th, 2008, 12:50 pm

Happy you got the 701.

2 words for you.

GO OPTICAL.

:mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 13th, 2008, 10:59 pm

means alot from the guys who have done this before..

eh? :?