Another amp preview.. HELP ME!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 6th, 2008, 12:40 am

I am really not aware of anyone that turns on their amp and then rapidly restarts it like you are doing

:roll: :roll:

he said he turned it off to start the car..if i remember...
wats wrong with that?

i dont turn on my car with my amps off... i turn it off..then back in as soon as i start in like..wat...ummm...5secs?

Perhaps it is an anomaly with your turn-on procedure that simply has never effected anyone else to date due to normal turn-on procedure being applied.

i eh go lie..that one there real crack me up :lol: :lol:

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » July 6th, 2008, 3:04 am

I apologize for the situation you are in at this moment.

The original amplifier was exchanged and the same problem was also experienced with the exchanged unit.

Both units are brand new.

Next week, when I return to Trinidad, I will investigate the problem and we will come to a solution.

Sorry for the inconveniences caused.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 6th, 2008, 6:04 am

sundownz wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:yeah, i did try in on a 13.8V regulated power supply.. it turned on like normal.. then on the restart, protection mode.. :x

I am going to test with this on Monday - I am really not aware of anyone that turns on their amp and then rapidly restarts it like you are doing.

Perhaps it is an anomaly with your turn-on procedure that simply has never effected anyone else to date due to normal turn-on procedure being applied.

come on.. that just a wild guess in my opinion..

there's nothing unusual about my restart times.. every other amp i have ever used has handled that normally.. remember that the amp even goes into protect when i start the engine with the radio on! i'm sure you will realise that is not normal..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 6th, 2008, 6:52 am

dude i 'm really sorry to hear that

my condolences to the dead amp

markzz

Postby markzz » July 6th, 2008, 7:29 am

:roll: :? :lol:

wat to tell you boy bess you buy a Atomic 3000D :mrgreen:

Lance

Postby Lance » July 6th, 2008, 7:47 am

I'm not sure if you did it,

But did you try to jump the amp without the use of the remote?

ie, from the B+ itself, with the deck off? Did it still protect?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 6th, 2008, 7:58 am

hear this .. next time u ready to install let me have a go maybe i will have better luck:D

i know some amps go into protecton while 'booting' up and then starts to play normal.. liek when u turn it on the green comes then red then goes green and the system comes on .. some sort of turn on delay ..not sure if the sundown does that

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 6th, 2008, 9:43 am

3stagevtec wrote:
sundownz wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:yeah, i did try in on a 13.8V regulated power supply.. it turned on like normal.. then on the restart, protection mode.. :x

I am going to test with this on Monday - I am really not aware of anyone that turns on their amp and then rapidly restarts it like you are doing.

come on.. that just a wild guess in my opinion..

there's nothing unusual about my restart times.. every other amp i have ever used has handled that normally.. remember that the amp even goes into protect when i start the engine with the radio on! i'm sure you will realise that is not normal..

I think you are taking me the wrong way - I simply don't know of another customer that turns their amp on like you were doing before. This is not to say this is an improper procedure or you are wrong - but I am simply not aware of another customer of mine doing so. Hope you understand now, and perhaps we are just unclear as to what one another is saying :)

I plan to test an amp that way on Monday to see if I can repeat your results. If I cannot I'd be glad to look @ your amps and see if I can repeat it with them if I cannot do so with a new amp out of the box.

You must understand that 3000s have shipped to at least 10 countries and there are hundreds in the USA - and this is an issue that has never been reported to me, and now it is reported on two amps in a row - both of which I had tested to operate normally before they left the USA. So, I am left only to make wild guesses to try and help you solve your problem until I can see them for myself.

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 6th, 2008, 9:45 am

Chiney wrote:he said he turned it off to start the car..if i remember...
wats wrong with that?

Read my other response - I am not saying he is wrong, only that I am not aware of other customers doing this.

Being that this is not a problem I have ever seen I am simply proposing anything out of the ordinary as a possible cause of his issue.

trdfire

Postby trdfire » July 6th, 2008, 9:53 am

sheit dread!! :?
you spoil that sweet piece of ass..
hope its nothing realy bad, doesnt sound that bad
good luck tho.. 0X

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 6th, 2008, 11:55 am

hmm thats super weird that 2 BNIB amps doing d same - 3stage if u want maybe u can come try the amp in my ride & lets see what happens ...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 6th, 2008, 12:12 pm

sundownz wrote:
Chiney wrote:he said he turned it off to start the car..if i remember...
wats wrong with that?

Read my other response - I am not saying he is wrong, only that I am not aware of other customers doing this.

Being that this is not a problem I have ever seen I am simply proposing anything out of the ordinary as a possible cause of his issue.
ok i understand wat u saying there Jacob..

but ...with my DD mono.. i played a switch along the remote switch to allow me to swtich it on and off wen i need my mids alone..

thing is..i turn that on and off so much times eh....with 2 other amps as well.. int he space of less than 5 secs... and never heard of this problem...

maybe it can be something that those boards u guys use has some sort of protection and u dont even kno it? :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 6th, 2008, 4:17 pm

sundownz wrote:I think you are taking me the wrong way - I simply don't know of another customer that turns their amp on like you were doing before. This is not to say this is an improper procedure or you are wrong - but I am simply not aware of another customer of mine doing so. Hope you understand now, and perhaps we are just unclear as to what one another is saying

I plan to test an amp that way on Monday to see if I can repeat your results. If I cannot I'd be glad to look @ your amps and see if I can repeat it with them if I cannot do so with a new amp out of the box.

You must understand that 3000s have shipped to at least 10 countries and there are hundreds in the USA - and this is an issue that has never been reported to me, and now it is reported on two amps in a row - both of which I had tested to operate normally before they left the USA. So, I am left only to make wild guesses to try and help you solve your problem until I can see them for myself.

it is surprising that you have never heard of anyone else who turns off their equipment before starting their vehicle.. that seemed like a normal (safe) practise to me..

ok, just to be clear..
this is what i did to get the problem, so you can use this for your test tomorrow..
-start the amp, see if it works..
-turn off the amp
-wait a couple seconds (e.g 5 - 30secs)
-try starting it again..

everytime i did that, the protect mode can on.. if your amp restarts normally and works.. then the problem has to be in the batch of amps you send here.. maybe something happened to them during shipping.. (guessing)

i'm very curious to know what went wrong.. i really want one of these 3000s... so i'll wait to hear further..

i understand that this is the 1st time you are hearing of such an issue with these amps.. that's why i made the video showing you real time what was happening.. to help remove any doubt that i did something wrong..

anxiously awaiting test results....

ReneR

Lance wrote:I'm not sure if you did it,

But did you try to jump the amp without the use of the remote?

ie, from the B+ itself, with the deck off? Did it still protect?

yup, tried that.. i also tried the amp on a 13.8V regulated supply.. same problem surfaced..

Postby 3stagevtec » July 6th, 2008, 4:29 pm

oh, one more thing.. if i did discover an unknown problem in those amps.. you gotta send down an autographed 3000D for me! :D

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 6th, 2008, 5:18 pm

maybe you just not ready for this kind of power...

it's a sign :shock:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 6th, 2008, 6:47 pm

^^ bullshat! :lol:

u is talk with sh!t eh.. hahahahahah

hoss...3stage...bro..pall....

i feel your pain..

well no i cant eh..

but still...... i picturing it like this..

having 2 girls..and one yuh just hadda let go..
like they say..2 is better than one ( last time i tell de wifey that.. meh face had marks for 2days )

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 6th, 2008, 9:45 pm

^but is one amp :|

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 6th, 2008, 9:59 pm

DJ Q wrote:^but is one amp :|

doe wrry nah

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 6th, 2008, 11:58 pm

when u reach dat stage i go hear yuh talkin

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 1:29 am

MonsterPower wrote:when u reach dat stage i go hear yuh talkin

what stage is that?

3stage? :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 7th, 2008, 1:32 am

FAIL

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 8:54 am

The 3000s I was running in my SPL truck before I sold it (they are still in there with the new owner of the truck) are from the same batch that these two are from, so I don't think it's a batch problem.

Is there anything else I should know about your test conditions besides just turning them off and back on within 5 seconds ? I want to be sure I'm repeating it exactly.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 8:56 am

Well his video was well explained... I don't think there could be anything else...

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 9:35 am

3stagevtec wrote:it is surprising that you have never heard of anyone else who turns off their equipment before starting their vehicle.. that seemed like a normal (safe) practise to me.

I am aware of customers that have the amps turned off from the beginning with a switch - then turn them on with the switch after the vehicle is started.

Perhaps I mis-understood you before but I read it as you had them turn on then turned them off, then started the car, and turned them back on.

Is that correct ?

Also, on the test bench test - was there any relays involved like the car test ?

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 10:00 am

So far I have not been able to cause protection with turn-on by either trying to immediately turn it back on, wait 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15 seconds, etc.

Have not used a relay in the turn-on circuit yet, though... but I do not suppose that *should* make a difference.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 10:06 am

sundownz wrote:So far I have not been able to cause protection with turn-on by either trying to immediately turn it back on, wait 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15 seconds, etc.

Have not used a relay in the turn-on circuit yet, though... but I do not suppose that *should* make a difference.

thank u sundownz .. never had cause to use one ..except with alpine decks cuz of their low turn on amperage

but in theory it shouldnt cause anything

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 7th, 2008, 10:36 am

So far I have not been able to cause protection with turn-on by either trying to immediately turn it back on, wait 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15 seconds, etc.

any drawn conclusion to 3stage's problem?? or gettin there?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 11:02 am

sundownz wrote:

Perhaps I mis-understood you before but I read it as you had them turn on then turned them off, then started the car, and turned them back on.

Is that correct ?

Also, on the test bench test - was there any relays involved like the car test ?

Correct, that is my usual procedure. Also remember that the amp did trip when I left it on to start the vehicle.

No relays were used on the bench test. The power wire was connected to the remote turn on lead to start the amp. Nothing else was connected.

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 11:04 am

Chiney wrote:

any drawn conclusion to 3stage's problem?? or gettin there?

Not yet.

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 7th, 2008, 11:05 am

3stagevtec wrote:
sundownz wrote:

Is that correct ?

Correct, that is my usual procedure. Also remember that the amp did trip when I left it on to start the vehicle.

No relays were used on the bench test. The power wire was connected to the remote turn on lead to start the amp. Nothing else was connected.

Hmmmm. I'll keep testing to see if I can find any situation where they are tripped into protection on turn-on, but have not found one yet.