Thinking about a amp

stinger_elite

Postby stinger_elite » July 2nd, 2008, 10:04 am

ok Q look @ this rite - Quantum vs MTX

i had a Quantum QP220.4 rated as a 880W 4channel amp....i would assume around approx 440W RMS from this amp rite, has 2x30A fuses.
Was rhelll good....didn't have any problems with it, extremely good 4 channel amp.

now i have a MTX ThunderX X704 rated as a 420W RMS 4 channel amp. This is it's 70x4 @ 4ohm, 105x4 @ 2ohm rating that it states in the manual (CES Certified). Bridged it's 210W RMS x 2 @ 4 ohm....so the rating is on par @ 840W Max output. This amp has 2x30A fuses also.

Honestly, without a doubt the MTX has proven to me that it has more power. The signal processing is superb and the processing is more accurate and cleaner than the Quantum. The amp is even built more durable and comes in a smaller chassis than the Quantum taking up less space.

I can say this because i've used them...and pushed them to their limits....

Between these 2 amps lies a $800 difference in price....

I'm not saying Quantum Audio isn't good....for the price hell yea it is, you can't get anythin better on the market nowadays...

But it still isn't a top of the line amplifier....It's good but still low end grade...
Last edited by stinger_elite on July 2nd, 2008, 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2008, 10:09 am

MTX & quantum being compared side by side :shock: well we kno de mtx woulda win.

I think a more fair comparison would hav been against soundstream & power acoustik.

boom

Postby boom » July 2nd, 2008, 10:10 am

MTX 1501-Sundowns 1500 or 1000.1 amps?? Which way would you go for spl?

How do the sundowns perform at 2ohm loads Jacob?? Can I push it down to .6ohm?

stinger_elite

Postby stinger_elite » July 2nd, 2008, 10:17 am

well jack we lookin at low end vs high end here

the difference shows that although both amps use 60A of current, with the MTX you will get more because of build quality & components etc.

Soundstream and power acoustik are still low end to me :lol: :lol: :lol:
is basically PA -> QA -> SS
All in the low end range.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 2nd, 2008, 10:22 am

They just don't make them like before......

while that is true... we still have to live with it bro...thats wat is available to us...

and again .... MMATS is not like Audiopipe... WTF dread

stinger_elite

Postby stinger_elite » July 2nd, 2008, 10:23 am

while that is true... we still have to live with it bro...thats wat is available to us...

i totally agree...

back to topic...boom still needs an amp

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 2nd, 2008, 10:25 am

at least we on the same page there!

MTX 1501-Sundowns 1500 or 1000.1 amps?? Which way would you go for spl?

MTX :shock:

boom

Postby boom » July 2nd, 2008, 10:27 am

It is to me, they can never come close to the LM or the SQ series with those new amps..

How do the sundowns perform at 2ohm loads Jacob?? Can I push it down to .6ohm?

stinger_elite

Postby stinger_elite » July 2nd, 2008, 10:34 am

yea but boom dey not bad like pipe come on mengg

as for d choice.... MTX hands down

boom

Postby boom » July 2nd, 2008, 10:37 am

yea but boom dey not bad like pipe come on mengg

Dont like them talk done..

The MTx would kick arse at 2ohm but how would the Sundowns do at 2 ohm das what Im asking, and can I carry them down to .6ohm..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 2nd, 2008, 10:38 am

Chiney wrote:
They just don't make them like before......

i doh think so ... we have a wider array of amps availble to us .. just t the right price

this weekend i was able to test a hifonics 2000d .. and lets just say all i saw was the balanced input and trust me if the schematic lines up with my zapco then ll i can say is WTF ... those amps will kill

and mmats while it is not as low as audiopipe it is still being mass produced in china with the same componants as ss or audiopipe ... same technology being sed since the amps that made them famous back in the 80's

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 2nd, 2008, 10:42 am

this weekend i was able to test a hifonics 2000d .. and lets just say all i saw was the balanced input and trust me if the schematic lines up with my zapco then ll i can say is WTF ... those amps will kill

please do elaborate!! :shock:

** looks over at 2000d hifonics **

stinger_elite

Postby stinger_elite » July 2nd, 2008, 10:46 am

boii how much amp u really have??

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 2nd, 2008, 10:48 am

^^ aye aye...let shivan answer :lol:

boom

Postby boom » July 2nd, 2008, 10:52 am

balanced inputs, symbilink-5wires xlr plugs- oh let shivan reply..

stinger_elite

Postby stinger_elite » July 2nd, 2008, 10:57 am

lol lol

i waitin for eettt!!!!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 2nd, 2008, 11:43 am

well from lookin at the amp it has somn called balanced input which really lets u run 16v input instead of the weak 2v output the pioneer gives

i have all my transmitter from the zapco and i was lookin at the plugs and it looks the same ,i just need to find out if its the same wireup as zapco which if it is then i on like corn cuz no more rca's and u gettin full power from the amp .. u could even run the wires next to 0ga power wire and no interferrance

by anychance u have the install manual for that amp that gives the wireup for the balanced input ?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 2nd, 2008, 12:07 pm

nope.. this is all it says:

" BALANCED INPUT: Accepts balanced line inputs from 0.04v to 18v for the optional MMBLD-1 balanced line driver."

nother page states: " Accepts balanced line inputs from 0.04v to 18v. The XX-BLD can be used as a balanced line driver."

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 2nd, 2008, 1:54 pm

stinger_elite wrote:ok Q look @ this rite - Quantum vs MTX

i had a Quantum QP220.4 rated as a 880W 4channel amp....i would assume around approx 440W RMS from this amp rite, has 2x30A fuses.
Was rhelll good....didn't have any problems with it, extremely good 4 channel amp.

now i have a MTX ThunderX X704 rated as a 420W RMS 4 channel amp. This is it's 70x4 @ 4ohm, 105x4 @ 2ohm rating that it states in the manual (CES Certified). Bridged it's 210W RMS x 2 @ 4 ohm....so the rating is on par @ 840W Max output. This amp has 2x30A fuses also.

Honestly, without a doubt the MTX has proven to me that it has more power. The signal processing is superb and the processing is more accurate and cleaner than the Quantum. The amp is even built more durable and comes in a smaller chassis than the Quantum taking up less space.

I can say this because i've used them...and pushed them to their limits....

Between these 2 amps lies a $800 difference in price....

I'm not saying Quantum Audio isn't good....for the price hell yea it is, you can't get anythin better on the market nowadays...

But it still isn't a top of the line amplifier....It's good but still low end grade...

Ok let me make it clear that I am not comparing Quantum Audio to MTX, Zapco or Sundown.
My problem is that you talk down the amp as though it's not worth it and it's a cheap pile of *ahem*. Then you turn and say MMATTS = AudioPipe.

Pure ignorance.

Quantum Audio is not low end, it is mid-class.

boom

Postby boom » July 2nd, 2008, 2:03 pm

DJ Q, you have a problem with that? Get yuh own damn thread...At the end of the day Im still not gonna buy anything quantum or anything mmats..

stinger_elite

Postby stinger_elite » July 2nd, 2008, 2:03 pm

Quantum Audio is not low end, it is mid-class

yuh know what...i could live with that yes

QA is middle class

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 2nd, 2008, 4:19 pm

QA is middle class

all the experience i had with them..they never fail me

good stuff for price!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 2nd, 2008, 6:43 pm

dj q yuh on yuh own yes.....

riadb

Postby riadb » July 2nd, 2008, 6:54 pm

Chiney wrote:

QA is middle class

all the experience i had with them..they never fail me

good stuff for price!

hey fellas i back on riadb again....Much thanks to Duane

Chiney we didn't say Quantum Amps are no good yuh kno. They are excellent amplifiers for the price. It's just that it isn't a top class amplifier... daz what this big argument is all about.

But i understand where Q is coming from when he says the are not low class but instead mid class due to their performance, and i agree with him...so from now on a reclassification needs to be done.

PA,Pipe,Boss.Pyramid, - LOW class amplifiers
QA,SS,etc - MID class amplifiers
SPLD,MMATS,PPI,etc - TOP class amplifiers

ok now that settled, back to the topic at hand....
no more QA comparisons in d ched

Boom you decide on ah amplifier yet??

boom

Postby boom » July 2nd, 2008, 6:57 pm

no... It kinda hard to choose...I studying the box more right now..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 3rd, 2008, 1:08 am

eh Shivan

check this

http://carjamz.com/zen/index.php?main_p ... cts_id=673

thats wat i gotta get for the hifonics if i wanna run with Balanced input

a little louder

Postby a little louder » July 3rd, 2008, 6:13 pm

i got a MTX 1501d
its 1000 @ 2ohms @12volts
and 1500 @ 2 ohms @14.4volts
but i want $2500 :|

riadb

Postby riadb » July 3rd, 2008, 7:04 pm

^^ wha condition it in bro??
link to de ched in classifieds??

boom

Postby boom » July 5th, 2008, 8:10 am

aight I settled down my choice to two amps

Atomic 1500.1 and the SAZ-1500

Which would you choose and why?

boom

Postby boom » July 5th, 2008, 8:30 am

on amp guts Im only seeing 1800 and 1500 somehow.. Anyway, anyone could link me tests for the atomic? Im getting a lot of feedback on the sundowns but i dont see much of the atomic..