Tools Used I.C.E ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 24th, 2008, 1:04 am

yeh d B&D kinda big\bulky

never used d rotozip b4 but i find its looking kinda too 'light duty' though i could be wrong - u cud buy a small mini router\laminate trimmer ...

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » May 24th, 2008, 1:11 am

I have ah rotozip with all d attachments and other trinkets. imo it lacks power but its good for small projects.

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2008, 10:38 pm

Pioneer, the most common pro level small router is the Porter Cable 690
they also make a kit which can turn it into a plung router, the 690 has been around a very long time and is still the standard for small routers
routers are good tools, if you have the bushings you can make templates so the speaker is countersunk flush with the surface

for jigsaws the bosch progressor is the standard
toolless blade release and their blades last a very long time

You can make a good straight edge by laminating a pair of 1x4 dressed good quality lats, screwing them together and then taking them to a woodshop with a planer machine to straighten the edges, if they are properly glued/screwed they will not warp

Its not hard to build a makeshift tablesaw either, I have seen many carpenters bolt on a circular saw underneath to a 4x4 sheet of ply and make a fence to rip big sheets
the saw has to be parallel to the fence though otherwise the blade will bind

btw dewalt owns b&d or the other way around, they have both the pro and home market

Postby X_Factor » May 24th, 2008, 11:44 pm

ne body seen either SP120 or 175 on this link?...how much u guys think it will cost to bring in one of those?...i used the 175 today and thats the sweetest solder iron i ever used..

also for a heat gun..which u all recommend?..what brand and model, and where sells them?...i know someone told me about a ace hardware brand for 250?

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2008, 7:38 pm

dunno but FTfarfan and WilliamHScott are the dealers

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 2nd, 2008, 9:40 am

Looking for a drill press guys.

10-12", >3/8" chuck. 110vac.

Has anyone seen any that is reasonably priced. Not brand specific.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 2nd, 2008, 10:04 am

nigel whm 2 d one u have home?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 2nd, 2008, 10:09 am

Relevance?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 2nd, 2008, 10:34 am

So did any of you do any woodworking courses or it was basically a trial and error scene?

Looking to invest in some tools myself...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 2nd, 2008, 10:46 am

I did woodworking at Mod Sec till form 3, and then hung out a lot with the guys that did woodworking at cxc levels. Mod sec had a massive woodwork shop. If they ever close that school down, I'll gladly grab their table saw and planer.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 2nd, 2008, 1:41 pm

trial and error

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 3rd, 2008, 1:08 am

Well I have CXC TD on my side so I guess this shouldn't be that hard.

I'll go Bhagwansingh by the airport and Pricesmart to do some shopping month end.

boom

Postby boom » June 3rd, 2008, 6:28 pm

^^ They have a sale on right now, theres an advert in the papers.... Cheak them out you might get that handheld router u wanted

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 3rd, 2008, 7:27 pm

$$$?

boom

Postby boom » June 3rd, 2008, 9:39 pm

pioneer, newsday, I didnt bring the papers upstairs I cant tell you. It was to the back of the papers..

They didnt advertise routers but they had powertools listed so cheak them they might have what u need..

riadb

Postby riadb » June 4th, 2008, 7:19 am

noicee i go pass dey later... hadda get a new jig. It firetruck up when i try to cut 8 10" speaker holes in 1" MDF lol

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » June 4th, 2008, 11:10 am

Looking for a drill press guys.

10-12", >3/8" chuck. 110vac.

Has anyone seen any that is reasonably priced. Not brand specific.

A1 tools has a delta 10'' drill press 3/8 chuck for $1200
an a 12'' drill press for $1800

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 4th, 2008, 11:38 am

riadb wrote:noicee i go pass dey later... hadda get a new jig. It firetruck up when i try to cut 8 10" speaker holes in 1" MDF lol

had a econo B&D jigsaw which served me well for d lighter 3\4" jobs but u can sense how it ketching tail to cut 1" ....i bought a dewalt for $850 & it has good power & doesnt strain to cut anything once u have a good blade on it ......

Postby 3stagevtec » June 4th, 2008, 12:01 pm

my real old school B&D does fight up to cut 3/4" even with a good blade.. but that jig has a ridiculous amount of miles under the hood and it just keeps in ticking...

a new B&D hammer drill my pops bought though is already experiencing problems.. the hammer / normal drill switch stopped working and the variable speed trigger is now an on / off button.. :?

riadb

Postby riadb » June 4th, 2008, 12:10 pm

yea i waz lookin into the dewalt...seems like a good investment

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 4th, 2008, 12:19 pm

Got a 1/2" chuck drill press yesterday. 10" and 120vac. Laser drilling guide, 5 speed adjustable, etc etc. We paid $1200.00

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » June 4th, 2008, 12:34 pm

having tools iz one thing
usin safety equiptment iz another
i find d 3M 8210 Particulate Respirator does work rel good
What are u guys usin 2 protect yourselves from MDF dust ?

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » June 5th, 2008, 9:01 am

audiopipe wrote:having tools iz one thing
usin safety equiptment iz another
i find d 3M 8210 Particulate Respirator does work rel good
What are u guys usin 2 protect yourselves from MDF dust ?

i think is d 3M CA4115 i have :D

Postby 3stagevtec » September 11th, 2008, 5:05 pm

need a review..

how good do these types of sanders work?
http://www.blackanddecker.com/ProductGuide/Product-Details.aspx?ProductID=8832

intended use is for building enclosures.. to sand off uneven cuts etc.. working with 3/4" mdf or larger..

Postby 3stagevtec » September 11th, 2008, 8:50 pm

so noo body ever used these?? i really don't want to buy it to find out...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 11th, 2008, 9:18 pm

good for fine sanding on small surfaces - i wouldnt advise it for smoothing rough edges on boxes since it will take long ....best u buy a good belt sander instead ...

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 11th, 2008, 9:22 pm

We have a manual one, works nice, minus the sores..

I looking to get a plunge router to cut speaker holes in the baffle..Jigsaw would work but Ill get tired too fast..

Postby 3stagevtec » September 11th, 2008, 9:25 pm

i have a manual one too but that takes too long.. belt sander, hmm...

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 11th, 2008, 9:33 pm

Is there anywhere that rents tools? I just need a router for like a week..
Last edited by kurpal_v2 on September 11th, 2008, 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 11th, 2008, 9:33 pm

when u all say 'manual' u mean a rubber sanding block right - not me & that ketch ass thing nah .... :lol:

trust meh i own both d palm sander & d belt sander - belt sander will be alot faster on d edges ... :wink: