fiberglass thread...boxes eyelids kicks etc

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 18th, 2007, 7:23 pm

ey working fiberglass easy..if u a amateur once u take ya time(a long a$$ time) an be patient it ya work wud come out good buh working fiberglass easy

casper

Postby casper » April 18th, 2007, 7:50 pm

^^^i figure to be good at this yuh hadda be good in woodwork and art yes... :lol:

casper

Postby casper » April 18th, 2007, 8:03 pm

^^ok ....i see....i still wanna learn yes boy pioneer....and from what i seeing....i more blind dan u ...cuz at least u get ures in a shape...i had some the other day and a leave the ting rest down to long and it just get hard yess.....waste meh money....didnt know yuh had tuh work with it within a limited time :oops:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 18th, 2007, 11:28 pm

use 32 grit sand paper to cut the zgrip.

don't let the filler get too hard. rub it down when its semi soft and it doesn't clog the sand paper. thats called green stage sanding.

custom inc.

Postby custom inc. » April 20th, 2007, 2:17 pm

Hey guys next time allya doing another fiber glass project try getting "Wax"...
Its an additive that u can use in your Resin/MEKP mix. The ratio of use is jus about the same as your MEKP.
As your fiberglass project gets hard the "Wax"settles to the top making it Very easy to sand.
Be sure to not mix your resin too "Hot"... Cause the wax wouldn't have time to settle on the top... :D
Too much hardner can also cause resin to go exothermic :D
Be careful with this stuff and always remember to wear your respirator....

casper

Postby casper » April 20th, 2007, 4:39 pm

yea...it looks much nicer with the sleepy look i find...looks great how u have it there...but i rather the sleepy style u drew up there more

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 20th, 2007, 8:49 pm

pios y u didnt do dat 1 time? buh make sure an u glass the eyelids u make an dat together eh..buh if i was u i wuda remake it..cuz if u did it wuda be easier an any mistakes u made last time u wuda get it correct.. :wink:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 20th, 2007, 11:14 pm

dat sleepy look reminds me of when dem woman does put on dey eyeliner make up .... :mrgreen:

back on topic - u know alot of ppl just simple use spraypaint to achieve d look u going after , its not d same thing but way more easier to do ..... :wink:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 22nd, 2007, 12:16 am

so when yuh painting pios man yuh rel stickin dawg..i do mine in 2 days :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 22nd, 2007, 1:05 am

arite..wa exams u have?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 22nd, 2007, 5:03 pm

jus till the entire surface area smooth den u put on ya filler buh i reccomend u put on a nice thick layer an den sand ya way down from dere so it wud line up with ya hood

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » April 23rd, 2007, 3:12 pm

looks great, how does it sound?

casper

Postby casper » April 23rd, 2007, 3:24 pm

^^^^^??????????SOUND?????....wasnt pioneer building a fibreglass attachment for the headlights for his car???

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 23rd, 2007, 6:41 pm

casper, daiz wa i kno de man building eyelids fuh he car how dat go affect the sound :? :lol: ..the man hadda be talkin bout jeff trunk

casper

Postby casper » April 24th, 2007, 9:09 am

^^^i figured so.... :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 2nd, 2007, 11:22 pm

all u hadda do now is make a mold an sell like crazy :twisted:

lookin good pios rel good job dere i doubt u cuda do it any better

casper

Postby casper » May 3rd, 2007, 2:34 pm

^^^^ent....man pios...yuh a boss jed....relll neat work for a lil project jed :wink:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 3rd, 2007, 2:44 pm

ok ok, yuh forcin meh hand pios, i going make for the hilux.. :twisted:

spam

Postby spam » May 3rd, 2007, 2:56 pm

i could tell alyuh he had real practice doin them thing cuz the pods i make for meh car doh look nothing so hahahahah

well is meh first time i go learn

but it lookin real decent

:shock: :shock: :shock:

jeff

Postby jeff » May 3rd, 2007, 3:07 pm

argg.. as soon as i get back my camera i will post ones that we did for a xtrail a lil while back :twisted:

jeff

Postby jeff » May 3rd, 2007, 5:39 pm

yep it can be done..jus angle to get away from the aircondition thingy by the tweets in the xtrail..

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 3rd, 2007, 8:21 pm

As long as you could minimise pld's yuh orn.

And don't even hope that time alignment will help. It wont.

At the end of it, it sounds nice, but images and stages shitty. Been there, done that, wont go back. Stick to kick panels. Much more benefit for the effort.

Hole dis palos....

jeff

Postby jeff » May 3rd, 2007, 8:48 pm

^^nice..thats the 3 inch leg? how the drivers side kick came out?

in the xtrail the kick is jumbied by the tcm box but it can be done..

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 4th, 2007, 7:23 am

Driver side is just as sunken into the panel. Both panels are actually SMALLER than the original ones.

Edit... 3" leg, with the possibility of a change out to a 4' leg.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 5th, 2007, 10:03 pm

pioneer wrote:hmmm....plus the xty bonnet pull lever is built into the existing kick...i doh see how it gonna work

thaz y i was lookin at the dash

Dont make excuses. do it right the first time.

go to www.fiberglassforums.com to see how its done with bonnet release handles

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 7th, 2007, 7:55 pm

I'm concerned meh boy pios, that you're cutting into the surface area of the light so much that you're actually reducing the output of each headlight. Have you tried out the lights with the lids on to see how much more dimmer the lights are?

To get rid of them holes, either use glazing putty or mix a few drops of fiberglass resin with the filler, use the normal filler creme hardener, plus a tad extra, and it will self level and run smooth. It dries real quick, so don't wait till its real hard to start sanding.

Wet sand the thing with 220 sand paper afterwards (water with a lil squeezy) :mrgreen:

Postby cinco » May 7th, 2007, 9:08 pm

nigel i feel is the angle of the last two pics is a tief head
but it lookin good pios make it real official and cut the ring off the top edge of the bigger light just so it wont look so straight across

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 7th, 2007, 10:30 pm

pioneer, think he talkin bout the housing of the headlight bulb..it coverin the top part of that by a half inch or 1/4 inch..buh pios leave it jus so

pios how come some spots missin filler? it 1 level an smoothe?

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » May 8th, 2007, 8:59 am

jeff, we waiting to see how the box lookin in th x-trail, organize some progress pics nuh.

spam

Postby spam » May 8th, 2007, 9:11 am

i watchin all these pics alyuh postin and i goin to start a lil project on my own i goin to attempt to make a back dash for my 2 8" speakers

i will try to take some progress pics and alyuh could comment and tell me where and what i doin wrong

:shock: :shock: :shock: