Is SQ dead???

Re: Is SQ dead???

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2025, 9:06 pm

Are those Dayton speakers rated for in car environment?

Postby timelapse » August 14th, 2025, 2:02 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Are those Dayton speakers rated for in car environment?

I can't see why not.
Men using Pro Audio in cars normal now..

Postby nervewrecker » August 14th, 2025, 5:50 pm

And they are all short lived.

Postby nervewrecker » August 14th, 2025, 5:51 pm

I asking because I'm feeling adventurous and wanna try some parts express speakers as well.

Postby sMASH » August 14th, 2025, 6:18 pm

These are indoor use. Not sure if they can stand up to the sunlight on a dash.

Probably a grill might be able to dim the sunlight to not affect it much.

Postby nervewrecker » August 14th, 2025, 8:50 pm

Was looking at some Dayton 7" for the doors. Suffering from lack of upfront jaw breaking midbass and most separates can't dig below 50hz so they can't do 50hz with authority. The exodus anarchy 7" are put of production so it's a lapse on my part.

Worried about the humid environment because I intend to hammer them.

Postby timelapse » August 15th, 2025, 6:11 am

nervewrecker wrote:Was looking at some Dayton 7" for the doors. Suffering from lack of upfront jaw breaking midbass and most separates can't dig below 50hz so they can't do 50hz with authority. The exodus anarchy 7" are put of production so it's a lapse on my part.

If I had Audiofrog money right now....
I might put this car on hold for the hour. I got it in my head that I need a Jimny.That would be a whole different setup.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 16th, 2025, 3:38 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Was looking at some Dayton 7" for the doors. Suffering from lack of upfront jaw breaking midbass and most separates can't dig below 50hz so they can't do 50hz with authority. The exodus anarchy 7" are put of production so it's a lapse on my part.

Ent you had a bassline door setup in one of your pickups?

Postby Gladiator » August 16th, 2025, 4:17 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Are those Dayton speakers rated for in car environment?

It's actually much better built than most car audio speakers...and its $35 so why not...LOL

Postby Gladiator » August 16th, 2025, 4:20 pm

timelapse wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:Interesting ... Nice for a 2.1 desktop or soundbar IMG_20250809_181354.jpg
The frequency response on it looks amazing on paper

The wideband midrange response is unreal and it wont break the bank. The construction is also extremely overbuilt... cast metal basket, aluminum phase plug and rubber surround.
I know each car is different, but how do they sit in your mix? Eq, crossover point,time alignment,etc?

Up on the dash, almost on axis.
Wideband midrange duty
250Hz to 3000Hz
6dB slopes
Very little EQ... just some taper in the 1kz region
Time alignment using the DSP... images nicely
If you delay it more, would your soundstage widen?

The delay is set to compensate for the difference in physical distance from the listening position... the soundstage is as wide as it can be.

Postby nervewrecker » August 16th, 2025, 5:12 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

Ent you had a bassline door setup in one of your pickups?
One of my jbl stop working. Jusso!

Can't find anything to match it since. I have a suspicion these mini amps are also a waste. Now don't get me wrong, it's alright but the low end freq response is just not there. I want jaw dislocating, head concussion, teeth breaking mid bass. The low end response is just not there with the mini Amp. I mean don't get me wrong, it does its job but what you expect from a $700.00 four channel Amp rated at 300 watt rms and small like a two deck of cards stacked on top each other.
Thinking of replacing it with a jp sounds Amp and see if it makes a difference.