Audio Tuning

Re: Audio Tuning

Postby SR » August 20th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Yup if the front stage freq range went down to 50hz u may have gotten a better response try damping the doors especially the area right behind the driver

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » August 20th, 2013, 5:08 pm

give em some time u should be getting some strong midbass out of em

Postby SR » August 20th, 2013, 6:46 pm

Tru speakers need to break in and then the system can be properly tuned

Postby pioneer » August 20th, 2013, 7:56 pm

dampen dem doors son

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 25th, 2013, 8:08 pm

finally got a chance to follow the JL audio guidelines in setting the input sens. Thanks to TK! for lending me his fluke multimeter.

Disconnected all speakers, HU flat eq, vol at 3/4
checked front and rear voltage with the 1khz tone, 0db
checked the sub voltage with 50 hz tone, 0db

I reconnected and adjusted the parametric to boost the low 31.5hz band and MAN this thing came alive.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 27th, 2013, 8:06 pm

how the tuning coming along man

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 28th, 2013, 9:36 am

Much better than when I started, still some way to go.
Upfront bass is there, although not as solid as I'd like, methinks I need to dampen doors.
Rear fill is liveable. I'll leave it at that for now.

Sub is not as boomy, due to the tiny sealed encl, but it really woke up after I properly set the input sens.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 28th, 2013, 9:38 am

nice nice...did some tweaking on my system after the show on sunday....a lil limited since i left the tweets in oem positions but an improvement as well....

Postby SR » August 28th, 2013, 9:44 am

Aaron how does the system compare to the previous system as the tweets were also in the oem location

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 28th, 2013, 10:06 am

Stage depth mainly is affected but i always like the stealth install. Tonality isn't really affected but mainly the stage depth as stated before. It's something you can live with. both scores for depth and ambiance were almost the same in both installs....

In the case of my navara and civic, the tweets were at the top of the dash.

I'm really happy with the in depth review I got from sully, Dinelle and yourself on what adjustments that I can make to improve.

Always room for improvements :)

Postby SR » August 28th, 2013, 1:09 pm

Try changing the angle of the tweeter inside the oem pod as well as the angle of the midbass on the front doors

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 12th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Another update, experimentation is fun.

I disabled the sub to fine tune my door speakers. Realized that the bass was crossed a bit too low on the fronts and they were sounding 'knocky' upstairs. Went very steep on all 3 slopes
63Hz front, 80 Hz rear and 50 Hz sub @ 24db/octave
Flatlined the parametric, 0 across the 9 bands, 3.0Q, Center Freq - 40, 63, 125, 500, 1K, 2K, 4K, 16K
Fired back up the sub and turned the sub level all the way up.

Sounding TONS better than before. Lost a little (< 5-10%?) upfront bass, but the sub WOKE UP!!! overall it sounds cleaner, crisp and tight.

One of these good days I might get around to dampening those doors.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 12th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Damoen thise doors and u will never believe the upfront bass that you can get.I have mines crossed at 50hz an it is incredible.only problem an I rember sr for this is the rolla door panels are a pita to work with,too much plastic.I am hoping some closed cell foam and spray on dampner helps there

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 12th, 2013, 10:20 pm

What yuh have in the rolla now? Next time yuh passing in gimme a lil demo nah ;)