whats the worst peice of musical equipment u come across

Re: whats the worst peice of musical equipment u come across

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2011, 10:56 pm

Jensen Amplifiers - Poor Design, massive heat generation and high failure rate
Pioneer low and mid range decks - Noisy RCA outputs, high THD and ribbon cable issues
ID MAX (First Gen ONLY) - first one was DOA, Second one was sounding like a jack hammer
Diamond Audio metal domed tweeters - Sounded like 2 cockroach fighting in a coke can
TMA amps - Not for the audiophile
Eclipse Decks - Lots of cd player issues
Older Clarion Decks - Plenty mechanical issues
Cadence Preamp - DISTORTION
Chinese DVD double din decks on Ebay - Piss Poor GUI, noisy, poor SQ, functionality issues
JL Audio foam surround subs (when they reach the dry rotting stage)
Power Acoustic NB1 tweeters - Just a very lame product

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 20th, 2011, 11:28 pm

NB1's are da bomb yo

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 22nd, 2011, 7:32 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:NB1's are da bomb yo

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 18th, 2013, 4:37 pm

Cousin gave me a lil wonder 4.620 cuz it was giving trouble,
one of the channels plays on full range only if you send a high signal to it at first, then u can play it norms, then after a random time it will cut off ,
but it works perfectly on HPF/LPF
I er seeing any components that visibly bad, hadda do more tests after exams

I checked out the internals, my Boss/xplod/optimus (old radio shack amp) have neater internals
-untidy solder blobs on component legs and traces
-many tiny solder balls all over the place
-main toroid transformer wound very horrid
-plenty flux residue from using so much damn solder

The circuit board on the same level as the board inside my small 5A nippon america PSU
I rather a company that takes more pride in the internals rather than the externals, as I consider the circuit board to be a work of art. Me en care bout showing off a glossy heatsink

wanted

Postby wanted » April 18th, 2013, 8:23 pm

MMATS pre-amp, I had a audio control 4.1 pre-amp installed in a vehicle and the customer brought down the mmats to replace the kicker and it was so disappointing. The mmats had poor drive and quality so I ended swapping back the kicker. I'll never use that again. By the way, the rest of the equipment was kicker cross,mmats and mtx amps.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 19th, 2013, 11:24 am

Firewall wrote:worst piece of musical equipment i ever come across is without a doubt this thing called the installer.

from dispensing gems such as "m&m'z does song cork", "jess turn up d gain" and "4 ohm loud, 2 ohm louder", this device certainly falls into the category of "you get what you pay for".

When faulty this piece of equipment can cause problems such as alternator whine, grounding loops and it sometimes also aids in the production of copious amounts of magical white smoke. Also many problems that you are having with your system may be rectified, by changing this piece of equipment first.

Price ranges from low priced which do the job...adequately and nothing else, there are the more reasonably priced models which work excellently, and some higher priced pieces which you only pay MSRP for.

So anyway, before you go out and get yourself one, make sure of the quality and workmanship of the product.

x3, most times lower priced/ low end equipment can work well, but we all know how that goes here......

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » April 19th, 2013, 6:50 pm

The worst equipment I ever used was a ridiculous Techical Pro Amplifier from Courts (Lz-2200). Fellas dont waste yuh money on them amps. They only make to run their company speakers (TP) and nun more. I tried to run two 1000 watt zebra subs and the volume cant pass half.. Clipping hell out. God alone know how they eh blow yet.
Rite now it running two compression drivers.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 using TriniTuner mobile app

SQ Audio

Postby SQ Audio » April 20th, 2013, 8:53 am

scared to post but i agree with most that was posted here...:)

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » February 18th, 2016, 3:09 pm

reviving these old threads.

NB1 tweeters... It was like pouring molten metal shavings down my ears.

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2016, 6:59 pm

Anything from mobile authority.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 20th, 2016, 12:04 pm

NB-won addi realist

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » February 20th, 2016, 6:13 pm

nb-1 cannot stand them

Postby Rovin » March 2nd, 2016, 1:02 pm

any tweeter or compression driver crossed too low - easily irritates my ears , while ur amazed at others standing in front it normel ....... :roll:

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » March 2nd, 2016, 4:55 pm

:sick: Hifonics BXIpro10, because it behaved like the Epicenter's "special" cousin.

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » March 2nd, 2016, 6:56 pm

D.S.S wrote:THE STEEL PAN.

^^^^
Lol true......