2010 teaser

Postby X_Factor » December 21st, 2009, 11:21 pm

jeff, yuh sellin that rcf 850 driver in the back dey or wat?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 21st, 2009, 11:46 pm

i wonder if jeff, putting d rcf on d head rest ..... :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » December 21st, 2009, 11:52 pm

oh sheit, like Jeff is a closet gallery man.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 22nd, 2009, 9:18 am

jeff, good choice with the RCF. (Is that a DC ref zapco in there too)
Remember, aim towards the crowd...

RCF or die trying!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 22nd, 2009, 9:28 am

Also seeing a DC 18 in there.
18Hz like never before.

jeff

Postby jeff » December 22nd, 2009, 9:31 am

what are yal talking about

all i see in that pic is a 4 " bi amped point source with a response of about 150 to 20000 in a psuedo aperiodic damped membrane :mrgreen:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 22nd, 2009, 10:41 am

in english that wud be ? ... 8-)

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 22nd, 2009, 11:49 am

jeff why u sayin d big words?

all you had to say was te=he 4" in the foam baffle ;lol

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » December 22nd, 2009, 12:16 pm

Jeff U fitting that N850 in d pillars ? :lol:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 22nd, 2009, 6:27 pm

I hear a talk about headrest boxes.

jeff

Postby jeff » December 22nd, 2009, 6:55 pm

ok ok yal make me out :oops: :oops: :oops:

the 850 is going on axis on the a pillars

roger

Postby roger » December 29th, 2009, 9:32 am

2010 build v.2

just another idea i have been working on. will post the other install ideas as i go along.

same tweet and 5" midrange concept.

so far i have tested the upper limits of the woofer all the way to 10k, and found that it sounded best up to 4.5k. on the lower end, even though it states a response to 65hz, it sounds best at about 90hz. so i have it running from 90hz to 5hz with the tweet going the rest of the way.

i am doing another build on the right pillar so i post pics when completed.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 29th, 2009, 10:19 am

Nice work. It doesnt pose that much of a blind spot as I'd expected.

roger

Postby roger » December 29th, 2009, 10:27 am

i hit blind spots with 8's.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 12th, 2010, 11:37 am

my teaser.......

Postby X_Factor » January 12th, 2010, 12:10 pm

like u finally gonna put the L3's and 1's

roger

Postby roger » January 12th, 2010, 12:46 pm

lancer3 wrote:my teaser.......

you will not be dissapointed, provided that you have the required processing. It is easier to go awry than to get correct in may instances...

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 12th, 2010, 1:11 pm

X_Factor, yea i finally goin to drop them in.. but it may take me a lil while to get the pillars finished.

roger, dont hav that much processing but i will try to get it the best with what i have.

Are u also saying that it is easier to get them soundin gud on axis than to have them off axis

Postby X_Factor » January 12th, 2010, 1:15 pm

im gonna try answering that question
i think on axis might be easier as u may not hav to deal with phasing issues and alot of reflections, as the drivers are pointed away from windscreen, dash, etc

am i on the rite track ppl?

roger

Postby roger » January 12th, 2010, 1:25 pm

lancer3 wrote:Are u also saying that it is easier to get them soundin gud on axis than to have them off axis

you are on the right track...imo they benefit significantly in an of axis arrangement. i am just saying you will now get the opportunity to put everything you know about accurate soundstage reproduction to the test.

remember that tonal accuracy is foremost though

Postby X_Factor » January 12th, 2010, 1:27 pm

lancer3, what kinda procesing u gonna use?...4way active xo?

jeff

Postby jeff » January 12th, 2010, 1:33 pm

lancer3 wrote:roger, dont hav that much processing but i will try to get it the best with what i have.

ent u have a 880?

that is adequate for what you are doing there...you can use the amp pre out to split the deck "low" and then use the amp's built in cross to cross the sub

with the 880 you can amplitude and time align the right and the left

i like how this thread going

roger

Postby roger » January 12th, 2010, 1:43 pm

i have exhausted that same setup (same woofers and same arrangement) in the same model car, and you can have great success.

holla if yuh need any help....

Aimar

Postby Aimar » January 12th, 2010, 2:18 pm

Like is everyone upgrading :?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 12th, 2010, 2:33 pm

jeff wrote:
lancer3 wrote:roger, dont hav that much processing but i will try to get it the best with what i have.

ent u have a 880?

that is adequate for what you are doing there...you can use the amp pre out to split the deck "low" and then use the amp's built in cross to cross the sub

i was thinking along that line but i only have a 4ch and a mono amp. if i had 2- 4ch it would of been ur way..

will go bak 2 std mode and use the Quasi-Active Crossover configuration

guess wat roger is ur same woofer....lol

Postby X_Factor » January 12th, 2010, 2:39 pm

^ lol....i wonder if he knows that

btw, why dont u get a 2 channel with a small footprint and u can use that to power a respective pair of drivers

wen i was gonna try that similar build, i was of the opinion that i would need 6 channels of amplification, and some way to attain 4way active xo or a 3way front stage passive, probably the ones on the DLS classic 3 way comps, but i didnt get them ne more and that was one of the reasons i scrapped my ideas

jeff

Postby jeff » January 12th, 2010, 2:56 pm

lancer3 wrote:
jeff wrote:

ent u have a 880?

i was thinking along that line but i only have a 4ch and a mono amp. if i had 2- 4ch it would of been ur way..

guess wat roger is ur same woofer....lol

yup passives will be involved then and the next solution is to buy my amps to match with yours 8-)

roger

Postby roger » January 12th, 2010, 3:06 pm

lancer3 wrote:

i think you need to use the deck in the network mode, as it is the only way to bandpass the midbass??

wont going back to standard give you front HP rear HP and sub?

if you go back to standard, how will you BP the midbass?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 12th, 2010, 3:15 pm

HP deck ---> for mid + tweeter

HP deck LP amp = BP for midbass

jeff if u hav a 50% sale then maybe

roger

Postby roger » January 12th, 2010, 3:21 pm

gotcha....

my only concern is that the xo in standard mode only allows 6 and 12bd/oct slopes, and with the highest HP point being 200hz...you hafta be real careful with the mid.

i would keep it in network, use HPs for the tweet and midrange with steep slopes and still use the amp to split the midbass/subwoofer.

this way you can be much more flexible with the settings on the midrange and tweet, and you would have the ability to control them independantly

ihth