Pioneer and their grounding problems

Postby 3stagevtec » July 22nd, 2009, 1:25 pm

i had 2 different Pioneer decks with CD eject problems..

Postby SR » July 22nd, 2009, 2:07 pm

as stated b4
since pioneer started using the 50x4 mosfet chip this is an issue

however i do belive the pioneer internal amp has the most power over any other brand when driving speakers direct

small price to pay for an issue that can be avoided if the installtion was done properly

IMHO
more decks should be offere without an internal amp as in most cases external amps are used

cost of deck can come down

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2009, 2:10 pm

SR wrote:do you facts stating this is a worlwide problem or just locally??

we have had ZERO issues with any pioneer deck that we sold and installed
as well as ZERO issues with those that were sold and installed elsewhere
over the last 8 years

Then i guess it's a local random thing then, judging from the number of threads/complaints people have/had on this forum.

wrt to the grounding issue, how come it doesn't/hasn't happen to decks of other brands eg. Alpine? I could pull my rca's in and out all day and nothing will happen.

lame design?

anything name pioneer cyar be good :idea:

Postby SR » July 22nd, 2009, 2:28 pm

pioneer's line drive is better than alpine's
especially the subwoofer

markzz

Postby markzz » July 22nd, 2009, 6:25 pm

hmm.. here's my $0.02c

Fact- more people in Trinidad own Pioneer decks than everything else.

Fact- Pioneer decks have the most value for money function wise than the majority of other brands.

Fact- Many Pioneer deck users neglect their units because they are relatively "cheap" vs a user of another more expensive brand who would tend to take better care of their units.
(eg. Nike sneakers vs Flame.. lol. i dont think the flame owner would care as much for his sneaker than the Nike due to cost and "brand" hence a Nike sneaker is perceived to last longer when actually it may be of a similar lifespan.)

Its about perceived value.. the greater the perceived or actual value the more care is taken to preserve it. Its a fact!

I am not disregarding the fact that all decks have a failure rate.. and all companies have returns.

However do a quick head count of tuners that own Pioneer decks vs say Alpine.
The figures will be way off. Hence the likely hood of a Pioneer failing due to neglect, mistreatment, improper installation or manufacturer defect is far higher.

Its not possible to make a fair comparison in this regard.

Failing grounds- as SR said due to improper/ incorrect installation practices and troubleshooting.

With respect to CD eject and feeding mechanism failing or becoming weak "sticking".

This could well be due to pulling Cd's out of the slot before they are properly ejected.
or pushing it into the deck and forcing the mechanism rather than allowing the mechanism to feed it as it was designed to.

This can cause the springs in the units feeding mechanism to weaken with time.

N.B. the use of Cd's with stickers or raised printing or designs can also put strain on this mechanism as it affects the thickness of the media and the mechanism will have to work harder to do its job.

I have owned and installed many a pioneer decks and never seen a problem. my oldest deck is a 4yr old DEH-P6700MP still going strong...

Comments...???

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 22nd, 2009, 6:52 pm

as for the poineer deh p880 VS the alpine cda-9887

forget the alpine! i have had both units and ill tell you hands down the pioneer is better in MANY Aspects including performance!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 7:05 pm

^^^man i always wanted to know that - great !

so i guess d 800prs is supposed to be a even better & improved version of d 880 ?...

markzz

Postby markzz » July 22nd, 2009, 7:20 pm

well i have nothing bad to say about either unit.. both seem to be basically @ the same level as well as pricing..

the pioneer has a little edge with respect to equalization though.. both have small differences otherwise nothing to rant about.. i say the choice between these is based on user taste and the need for EQ.. as different speakers require more or less EQ to reproduce sound accurately.

markzz

Postby markzz » July 22nd, 2009, 7:27 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:as for the poineer deh p880 VS the alpine cda-9887

forget the alpine! i have had both units and ill tell you hands down the pioneer is better in MANY Aspects including performance!

I wouldnt say that.. id say it was probably better for your application.. :wink:

as i said previously IMO its based more on user tastes and system configuration and requirements.

lets rid our minds of one thing being better than another without fair reason and think about why and whats it gonna be used for.. whats good for your use in a particular system may not be good for another in another system.

before you start bashing me just think about it...

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 22nd, 2009, 7:54 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:^^^man i always wanted to know that - great !

so i guess d 800prs is supposed to be a even better & improved version of d 880 ?...

Na same POS with a beautiful black finish and a copper chassis for appeal I guess.

I still get noise with this unit and afaik the only cable I had out was a symbi-link end.

I have turn-on pop on my midbass and a pop when my volume goes from 1-0 and vice versa.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 22nd, 2009, 10:15 pm

honestly, we installed about 8 of the pio decks last year and never had a complaint or problem. with anything. and surprisingly, it was mostly the lower end ones.

imo, its the best bang for buck, and it all comes down to how you use and care for your equipment.

and pios, so you saying i should buy a boss deck or what? cause i haven't seen any threads where they talking about problems that need fixing. :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

markzz

Postby markzz » July 22nd, 2009, 10:20 pm

pioneer who are the ppl suffering from this problem? what exactly were they doing with their decks?
and whats the statistic? out of 1000 how many were bad? or possible damaged by the user due to possible abuse?

ppl complaining on trinituner are the same ppl over and over.. people all over the country buy pioneer decks everyday.. and many people i know as well have never had any problems.. something is definitely wrong... :?:

no company sets out to make a bad product if this was a large issue pioneer would have had lots of returned decks.. especially in the states where 2 and 3year warranties are offered.. just dosent add up.. and if this was so something would have been done to resolve the matter else pioneer HU sales would have dropped. not making sense to me!

show me the proof! its like calling a man guilty without supporting evidence!

just a few folks makin complaints on trinituner giving pioneer electronics a bad name... :|

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 22nd, 2009, 11:26 pm

Most pioneer decks fail with respect to installation, but that is not a design defect, the picofuse does what it is supposed to do,protect against the deck from grounding through the rca's . Which would in turn damage your more expensive, well most of the times amplifiers. The ground cable must not be connected when any type of work is done involving swapping (which is where most units gets damaged) had a personal experience with this, I was installing my pioneer 690ub when a padner of mines come by and decide to help out. I was in the back and before I know it home boy decide to swap the rca's. Boy that get me blue vex, because immediately you could have heard about 3-4 fuse blowing *paks* *paks*.

Problem is easily solved by grounding your rcas, or opening up your deck and soldering a 1ohm resistor in which case if you ever forget to disconnect your ground wire, you will blow your amps. a better idea is extending the wires from inside the deck and put the fuse outside so if it ever blows again it would be easier to change.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 22nd, 2009, 11:28 pm

pionner head unit are extreemly good for the price

i can't remember the last time i have ground noise problems using them, just follow correct procedure and they will last a lifetime

right now i'm doing my personal system, and the head unit is an oldddddddd deh-3700mp, and belive it or not, the deck does not have the highest voltage out, but it does not distort even at the highest volume

and what i love, is the simplicity of it all, no internal x-overs ect

this deck was made great, simple and straight to the point and for the price i paid, it was well worth it's weight in gold

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2009, 11:34 pm

slight OT but

this thread reminds me of ever so often threads posted on ppl saying RE subs get beat out fast & that its a faulty sub - its been explained many times b4 so i wont say it again & u dont see these complaints on any usa forum about RE subs yet who knows what T&T ppl doing ....my RE subs r in very good condition after a 1 yr of owning it while u hear others say 2-3mths their's gone through ... :? :? :?
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on July 22nd, 2009, 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 22nd, 2009, 11:36 pm

still have the re se's here, over powered and abused like hell

any problems yet?

nope

Postby Gladiator » July 23rd, 2009, 8:51 am

Almost every deck with a motorized face pioneer has fails after some time due to the ribbon cable issue. Regarding the grounding problem, I know of two instances where they blew out and nothing was disconnected or switched. For real enthusiasts the 880PRS is the only thing worth lookng at and I owned one myself and was quite satisfied..... (installed 5 880prs in total 1 works fine, 2 had ribbon cable issues and two had ground issues)

The signal to noise ratio on all their other units are quite low, but if you have a pair of RCF and some bullets.... you ent go notice dat anyway....

No problem for men to back what they sellin too eh.... jus sayin :wink:

Postby nervewrecker » July 23rd, 2009, 9:12 am

I think the instances of problems occuring with a pios deck is due to the fact that there are so many in use in comparison to other brands (eg alpine) so the probablity of hearing about a problem will be higher. I have spent nearly 5 years (3 full time & 2 part time) working in a garage where I am constantly around cars & I have a tendancy to "makko" everyones audio system, I have seen a few kenwood, nakamichi, jvc & sony head units (these were in roro vehicles & they came with the vehicle), a few clarion, pyramid, power acoustik & boss head units & even less alpines, as a matter of fact I can recall seeing about only 3 of them, I saw 1 rockford in total so far.
bear in mind that this is trinidad, trinis will seem to find a way to spoil slug from a ball bearing & mash up steam roller wheel, wrt audio installs on the whole there are so many poor installs that I have seen, there is no suprise to me that one hears of problems in the long run & people saying that the stuff not good.
I wont doubt that there are retailers out here that selling defective goods on the market as well, anything can happen out here. I have seen a fuse holder come in a sealed package with a screw missing.

as for the cd eject mechanism giving trouble, well so far I have seen a few giving this problem & they were used & abused decks. I wont doubt that it has been as a result of people forcing in discs & pulling them out damaging the unit.
with respect to the ribbon in the motorized face units, has anyone ever investigated the occurences of the ribbon thingy giving trouble in those flip phones? there is a thin strip of metal in it, what happens when you constantly keep bending a piece of metal?

anyhow, my pioneer deh1900 will be up for sale month end :mrgreen:

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 24th, 2009, 6:49 pm

the grounding problem as most of the guys said is because of poor installation. have you ever notice when you connect the battery pole when you have a amp it sparks<<<< duhh. well think of it in this way. you install a amp connect the RCA to the deck and amp. connect the +ve wire to the battery and amp. without even knowing it you have already connected a ground to the amp :roll: sounds dumb :?: your RCA is connected to ground VIA your deck, so doing this your are damaging the internal grounding in your deck.... :wink: :wink: