Postby jeff » July 3rd, 2008, 9:59 am

last time i got i got from a fabric store in south but they sold out
fleece realll rareeeeee in trini...lol i wonder why

i brought this one down from away

jeff

Postby jeff » July 3rd, 2008, 10:15 am

and the resinin and glass laying starts

i left out the layering of glass pics cant seem to find them now but i will update once i find them

light coat of filler and Plenty of sanding

Still pretty simple....EVERYTHING U SEE HERE so far I DID BY MY SELF, NO HELP
The only thing i got help with was wrapping the boxes with vinyl...i was totally clueless how to stretch that to make these shapes

i could show you all the millions of errors and issues i did tryin to figure this out but this thread is to show youall what to do... and Not "what not to do".

spam

Postby spam » July 3rd, 2008, 10:17 am

so yuh cant use normal cloth ?

if no why not ?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

spam

Postby spam » July 3rd, 2008, 10:56 am

oh yea jeff or anybody else

when you doin a box right when do you check the cubic feet ? is it when the glass in already applied ?

and with the irregular shapes how do you find out the tuning ?

i gonna try my hand on a glass box for the apxx :twisted:

:shock: :shock: :shock:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 3rd, 2008, 11:02 am

sweeeeeeet

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 3rd, 2008, 7:51 pm

sweet work dread, one day i will get the nerve to do that

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » July 3rd, 2008, 7:56 pm

Firewall,for reeeal

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 4th, 2008, 9:07 am

nice work dude

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 4th, 2008, 11:32 pm

jeff wrote:^^^ nope not cling wrap!!!! the resin when it reacts and goes exothermic will give of HEAT and will Melt that cling wrap one time! and it will get all over the place...

there are a few ways to do this...one method commonly seen away, they use blue painters tape and then a layer of foil on that...then a barrage of layers of mat sometimes the thicker mat (roven) and resin

in applying the mat and resin there are also many different techniques to doin this,
FOR example One way of adding layers is to use your hands to bring out the bubbles in the mat (as seen from Scott Buwalda in the sqs)!!

make sure you have on a chemical respirator and good latex gloves.

a layer of mat, woven, mat woven etc..tends to do the trick quite well jeff
but jeff..u shudve gotten ur hands on a bubble chaser.. makes life hell of a lot easier with those bubbles and helps reduce weak spots..

but good work none the less

Lance

Postby Lance » July 5th, 2008, 7:23 am

I used woven Roven on my box,

Its drinks up resin, but strong like a mofo,

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 5th, 2008, 3:53 pm

yea alot of resin is right!
but those who into the fiberglass shud really look to get that bubble chaser
it really makes a difference

really nice work on the install Lance and i didnt get a chance to tell u congrats on coming first sunday

jeff

Postby jeff » July 5th, 2008, 5:14 pm

i have my own method of taking out bubbles, and am not really familiar with a bubble chaser

then applied glue

then used Heat Gun and laid on the carbon fibre vinyl

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » July 5th, 2008, 8:37 pm

reall nice jeff....nice install!..really looks good

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » July 5th, 2008, 8:39 pm

good work jeff...for the next outing i will be there

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 6th, 2008, 9:33 am

Good effort overall.
Thereare a bit of finishing items to complete the install, a few gaps to close in, a few edges to neaten up, and youre good to go.

Lowbaseline

Postby Lowbaseline » July 6th, 2008, 9:37 am

Really good work Jeff, keep it up !!!

jeff

Postby jeff » July 7th, 2008, 9:55 am

the boxes contain a few secrets..il show this one
open cell acoustic foam was added to change the Q of the box until desired response was met (yes i said Q and NOT Cubic)

out of all the sq cars that day i wont lie mine was the most bass heavy..but what can i say..i like bass

Maybe a little lower cross point with the gain backed down on it and it would sound a lil more audiophile but i went in there with exactly how i listen to it to see how it would score

many asked why this choice of sub as it is not a regular sub but it plays very smooth, tight and MOST importantly it is prob one of the most authoritative Subsonic transducers ive heard down here..yes that means 18 hz

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » July 7th, 2008, 1:17 pm

nigel1977 wrote:Good effort overall.
Thereare a bit of finishing items to complete the install, a few gaps to close in, a few edges to neaten up, and youre good to go.

Jeff boy, i could swear yuh finish. :roll:

Anyway respect to the great job STILL IN PROGESS. :wink:

casper

Postby casper » July 7th, 2008, 3:04 pm

they probably didnt document theirs.............u got any pics of the progress during ure install lance?

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » July 7th, 2008, 3:40 pm

or they dont want to share :lol:
when i was tryin the fibreglass i forgot to take pics,
good thing i dint, it embarassin

Lance

Postby Lance » July 7th, 2008, 3:50 pm

I do have pictures,

But i still run dial-up,i'm in the ''waiting list for blink'' and my area isn't Digital ready for Flow.

Its not easy if impossible to upload pictures when i download at 2kb/sec. There is a fast connection at school, but the firewall wont let you upload pictures.

That being said, At every car-show, i have my complete buildlog with me on hardcopy, anyone can come take a look at it when they pass by. a few had a look at it at the last show.

Sorry for spamming your Thread Jeff.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » July 7th, 2008, 7:08 pm

Lance, use a proxy server.
pioneer, or that.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » July 7th, 2008, 7:12 pm

good work jeff.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 7th, 2008, 10:26 pm

lovely !

& it sounded gr8 too ..... :wink:

jeff

Postby jeff » July 8th, 2008, 11:25 am

thanx yall :oops:

i wont bother to post how the amp rack was built ...pretty simple stair design

and there we have it the completed fibreglass trunk build V2! :)
in the following weeks i will be posting my kicks dash pillars and door builds
any questions or comments?

presently car is scrapped out and missing my bass :(

day shot

night shot

shot with 2 amps playing with my team logo in place, yes it blury the bass was shaking my lense

Samo

Postby Samo » July 8th, 2008, 11:31 am

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » July 8th, 2008, 11:43 am

what type of filler was used and when ur ready for posting more builds can u start with the pillars 1st.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 8th, 2008, 11:44 am

Jeff if u want a quality pic of ur bassline check it here http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=195241 .... :wink:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 8th, 2008, 3:17 pm

( SKEEEETTTTTTT !!!!!!!!!!! )

** brb **

jeff

Postby jeff » July 8th, 2008, 11:46 pm

pioneer wrote:Question jeff...wrt to the vinyl and curves in the fiberglass...do you NEED a heatgun?

I think i saw somewhere the guy put the vinyl over an open box then pressed the fiberglass box onto it

this was the only part i got help in in this build, it was pretty challenging

yes a heat gun is necessary for this box in particular, but not all boxes tho,
for some extreme curves and angles it is needed

and an extra hand is necessary as some Extreme stretching and pulling with foot on box was necessary do this as this particular vinyl wasnt stretchy at all and was rather thick...