Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2008, 12:52 am

btw audiokev, thanks for de new avatar 0X

boom

Postby boom » February 3rd, 2008, 11:57 am

audiokev, that age group proberly was posted to show that its for ppl who are EDUCATED and have finished school, there by haveing different aims in life and have already finished CXC and thing..

Doh take it on man, I have 16 and could give most installers a run for their $$...

silent_riot

Re: For the younger ICE tuners

Postby silent_riot » February 3rd, 2008, 7:47 pm

audiokev wrote:
silent_riot wrote:I would like to know what are the car audio interests of my peers (18-25yrs) on the ICE forum. This would include interests and your long term goals in the ICE industry.

For example,
    How many of you are looking to become car audio competitors?
    How many are enthusiasts who are not interested in competition, but interested in the science, design etc of the car audio or audio in general.
    How many would like to be formally trained in car audio?
    What interests you in car audio?
Or any other concerns...

There's a lot of interest in some areas of car audio, and if those are made clear, maybe there can be some greater development in the sport. Eg. formulation of teams, sponsorships, training etc.

This applies to all genres of the sport, be it sq, spl, db dragging, etc.
In the same way there is SQS for generally sound q applications. There can be sessions for the other genres of the sport.

What say you?

i find that offensive....

*sigh*
that's just the age of my peers...i'm 22, so i +/- 3 yrs.
I myself started up in car audio at about 15. Your comments are very much welcomed here.
But the 18-25 age group are generally those who would have the finances, time and ability to get serious into their hobbies, and would most likely own their own car.

larry_ois3

Postby larry_ois3 » February 3rd, 2008, 8:23 pm

I was abt 15 with house amps then abt 2yrs ago started diggin up in car audio. i always wondered abt formal training; i didnt know a place down here giving formal edu. in that field. As far as competing- Hell no!! my cousin still living with his mother b/c all his money went into L7s,HCCAs and Mmats. :lol: (serious story)

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 3rd, 2008, 8:43 pm

watch i start wid computers now i in small sales u does get somwhere is jus u have to make it so

larry_ois3

Postby larry_ois3 » February 3rd, 2008, 8:48 pm

words to live by

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 31st, 2009, 1:15 am

i am 15 an i hav a MC bike

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 31st, 2009, 2:18 am

and that stops you how?

govin1231

Postby govin1231 » May 31st, 2009, 6:27 am

im 21 an i love car audio. and i am intrested in everything i already started my little double 15 project. i would love to learn an experience new thing an c how i can develop my experiment to become stronger...
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 31st, 2009, 9:05 am

meh first box was 2 lil coby speakers in a shoe box den a loss d box so a jus had d cover...wicked mids in yuh rooku

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » May 31st, 2009, 9:52 am

i saw an iasca build off on tv d oda day and i think its very interesting...it doh require a billion dollars to enter ...jus ur tools and box building skills... sound off and spl fun eh but only when you winning (well thats what i think)...with d build off yuh actually have fun doin it even if u dont win...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 31st, 2009, 10:07 am

oh i am late to this thread, im 21 and love car audio

thing is.. my personal opinion is that anyone can go loud and clean, dats if they want 2 fling out all dat cash..

the real challenge is a well built, thought out sq system... this is where the principle , 80% installation 20% equipment comes into play the most.. to me

right now i am workin on a SQ system and the challenge is amazing!!

but as for competition..no

SQBOY

Postby SQBOY » June 1st, 2009, 9:07 am

im 25 and love SQ...
but as for competition..no

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 1st, 2009, 9:29 am

For those who haven't heard competition cars, or don't know what SQ competition is about, pass in on June 7th for the IASCA SQ event. It's free to the public. The guys there should be able to demo their competition systems.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=246812

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 1st, 2009, 9:35 am

25. I dont compete. im into the street beat. Love my music clean and loud. Want to learn about tuning and would love training instead of having to go by my tuner every month to do over my tuning. Jeez! :|

casper

Postby casper » June 1st, 2009, 10:40 am

silent_riot is ONLY 22??? :o ....and FLICKIN Rene is 23???...nah nah nah...

BWDMCID?!?!?!?! :shock:

i'm 24 :oops:

i wouldnt lie...sometimes i envy some of ya'll younger guys like SS626, and 3stage and Jon and markzz etc who have time to educate themselves in I.C.E...dont have much time to do reading as how i hadda see about the mk site and also d crew.. :(

while ya'll getting smarter in car audio...i behind times and have outdated knowledge...ask me anything about a car show and i could give u full run down and info...DONT ask me anything bout boxes please....i have no tools to experiment in building boxes neither the space at home so i knows nothing bout how to tune a box etc...all i know is to divide total volume by 1728 to get cub ft... :lol:

i have plenty experience with Dj speakers, loud subs, amps and processing so i may be able to give good advice there

basically i'd like to learn more and expand/gain more knowledge behind different genres of car audio such as SQ and SPL...

i always try to encourage ppl to compete in anything...what we did in the earlies with our crew was evaluate each member's strength...and help them build towards that...some ppl dat came in the crew in the earlies wanted to compete in CP and when we realised budget and equipment being used, we adviced them to try they hand at SPL...the 2 that we gave that advice to (yos19 and DJ Q) came in at 2nd in their class at last year's MK/IASCA national finals in IDBL :twisted:

i really in this thing to help ppl out by encouraging them to dig deep within themselves to unleash their potential...an individual feels stronger with a team behind them...plenty ppl that used to go car shows and never had the belly to compete now competes because they have us as a family behind them giving them encouragement...that alone is enough happiness for me...although i still would like to be more informed bout other stuff as well...i guess when i have a lil more free time i wont mind doing some reading up....

riadb

Postby riadb » June 1st, 2009, 11:01 am

i'm 23
been doing this audio thing since i was 15 on a very small scale but over the years it has expanded and is now my full time hobby..

tried my hand at SPL and crowd pleaser and i suprised myself alot with the outcomes..especially with the equipment i'm using :D

Over the years i've gathered knowledge on the whole "car audio scene" and it has worked well for me since but i have no problem with taking up any formal training etc that would further advance my capabilities :wink:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 1st, 2009, 12:41 pm

casper, a year and a half passed since the thread was started so I'm 23 now.
All of the guys on Team 2lo2flo are around the same age, 22-25, even uncle fuzz.
It's nice to see that most people in this thread have taken up some form about competition after the responses earlier last year.
People must also remember that competition is also a means of learning, and you need to fall a few times before you learn to stand on your own two feet, so don't be afraid of losing.

casper

Postby casper » June 1st, 2009, 12:47 pm

ya'll bumping lod threads...dats so unkool... :lol:

this thread so old???...how i never see this before???...i thought this thread make like last week or somn :oops:

audiokev

Postby audiokev » June 1st, 2009, 8:30 pm

haha i was 14 wen i commented on this thread! LOL now im 16, car audio is MY THANG!and i'm into galley at the moment, i guess gradually as ure knowledge increases, the SQ or maybe SPL stuff start to come in, well most ppl from wht i've seen.. as i get some ting during the summer, hopefully then i would put together everyting and head for competitions :shock:

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2009, 11:59 pm

from the time i was in form 1 and ah fella come wit ah 6"and two motorola tweets, powered by a coby walk man (no cassette(disc man did not come to trinidad yet)), and it was supposed to use 2 penlite batteries but he use 4 @6volts,,,, i was hooked.
i ripped speakers from anyting i could get and put them in any ting it could at least rest on * sewing machine draw, heater box, brylcream container, mayonaise jar, 6" pvc collar, milo pan etc, etc, etc.

until i did physics for o' and a' just to learn more about sound waves. ( yes my subjects was done to learn about music)

i came up with a design for 4" 20 watts sound blasters to fit in a gym bag powered by a pio deck run off a motor cycle battery to carry to skool.. heard the bass from the third floor all the way to the volley ball court during lunch time!!!
the original design i wanted to do but did not think it could work i later discovered that bose designs their internal just like that

so doh feel badd u jus go boy ruffneck_12,

angel_player

Postby angel_player » June 5th, 2009, 9:46 am

well I am 24 and I am interested not too much in loud loud music, but more into the sound quality that I get. I love my bass to be balanced along with everything else in the music. I dont want over bearing basslines that drown out the other parts of the music or rattling the whole damn car lol. I have other threads I posted inthis forum simply to find out what are good pieces of hardware to achieve what I want to hear

Lance wrote:Sound Quality its different, you don't develop an ''ear'' for Sound Quality over night, you don't build a system in one day or a week for that matter.

And that is very true, I have been a music enthusiast since...as far back as I could remember and I know what good beats and basslines sound like on an audio system. sometimes its really hard to explain to someone else when it sounds good or not. Its jus that you either have an ear for good sound quality or you dont. And as mentioned it takes time.

Many times also I would hear music playin and point out certain background instrumentals to my friends and they wouldnt hear what the hell Im hearing lol but to me I'm hearing it loud n clear and groovin to it anyways.

In the end I am just a heavy music enthusiast. I may go to car shows just to see others compete but I'm not all int ot competing or anything...however I would like to be able to eventually have a good "stealth" system in my ride :lol:

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 9:51 am

suggest attending the sq event this weekend

angel_player

Postby angel_player » June 5th, 2009, 9:54 am

by the way interesting thread...

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » June 5th, 2009, 5:06 pm

i am not quite 18 yet but i have 17.

i love car audio and all aspects about it. i love crowdpleaser , spl and SQ i enjoy all of them. i would stray more to the crowdpleaser side because of the loud liming kind of system.

right now i have a small 1 12" system and i am planning on improving this system as the years go by. The system will be a CP system but spl oriented so i cant compete in it cuz i really like spl as well.

i also like originality and in doing my system in the future i am looking for equipment that you don't see in much cars , and i try to look for unique designs in the system.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » June 7th, 2009, 4:53 pm

well i am 17 years old, and my license on the way, i doin music since i was about 11 years old and i start out with a pioneer SA-9500II that i get from my father old room in my grandparents house. Somewhere else i was lookin by my uncle and i find 2 piezo tweeters, my older brother a month later went and get a klipsch promedia 5.1 system with a blown sub amp and he gave me the box and speakers.

So now i had the pioneer amp, the piezo tweets, and the 2 klipsch 8", and i was rell lovin myself.

Since then i have grown in the car audio thing and have moved onto better things, still have that pioneer amp though, i now have 2 10" JBL W10GTI, Polk Audio MOMO Mids, and a JBL GTO14001 for bass.

I know that i still i still have years worth of knowledge to gain and i can't imagine what i will know in the next 6 years.

If anyone decides to give classes and ting, i would be the first to come for classes, i really wanna know more about car audio schematics. I recently started to do fiberglass and wanna learn a little bit more about that. When it comes to going into car audio as a field, maybe as a side business, but i really wanna do architecture instead.

nirmal_333

Postby nirmal_333 » June 7th, 2009, 5:35 pm

i'm 22 and as a trini honestly i does dig up off and again i would like to learn some techniques in the electrical area along also with box building techniques how to design build and tune properly

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » June 7th, 2009, 6:10 pm

well since i wasn't around wen dis post was made i'l comment now.
I'm 20 and i also hav a deep fascination with ice..all aspects of it.i especially hav a likin for competitions and gallery systems.love the loud bass..lol..but i also love a good sq system and will always admire guys with a clean loud well balanced system in their car..not like now adays wen fellas pullin up in a show makin noise wit a set a speaker ontop d car soundin distorted.
I've also been experimentin wit car audio since i was like 11 hookin up cassette deck and the old pioneer speakers that used to com in foreighn used cars at the time, in my father 120y..i've never been to an installer in my life and can safely say i've never burnt a sub either.lol..i got my first car a couple years back wen i was17 and did d normal cd deck and 6x9 speakers everybody does put at first.saved my money and bought a boss 2000 amp used and added a 10" old model pio also used and left the 6x9's for mids.gradually i kept savin my money and up grading and now i'm usin a 15" atomic wit ciare 10's for mids.i'd say i came a long way however i hav alot to learn.
i wud love to learn more about the theory and science behind ice.will also love to get formal trainin in speaker repairs,amp repairs,box construction as well as any knowledge about car audio i dont know.bcuz although to me my music sounds great i kno it can be better and i kno there are tings i can do wit the same equipment i hav to sound better thats why everytime i play my music i listen carefully to check if anything sounds offkey.Almost every other day i does do a tune over and every time i hear a difference.but thats experimentin i wanna be able to do it and kno exactly wat i'm doin not jus tryin.
So far i've done near to 24 installations and they all sound great but i cant help the fact that i feel i can do more.maybe make them sound extraordinary.lol..but most of all i wanna be able to build the boxes so if som1 comes to me for an install i eh ha to reccommend som1else i can do it.i also will like to learn more about the electrical area as well concerning alternator upgradin and installin high voltage alternators.but all thats my goals i'l reach there dont worry. :twisted:

vin123

Postby vin123 » June 8th, 2009, 1:33 am

22 and love all aspects of i.c.e., but education taking most of my funds right now..but that not gonna stop me from learning more abt music related stuff

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » June 13th, 2009, 12:21 am

18 years of age so far,....I'm into car audio,....currently I'm mixed on options in going into gallery or a hardcore sq system. I've been hooking up music since I was 12(as usual i started off small). I was introduced to this aspect of a lifestyle by my cousin and uncle,.....till this day I've been hooked on car audio and well I keep having the urge to keep upgrading. So far I've only had 5 smallish systems but due to an emergency I had to sell out to help out a friend for a very rewarding purpose. As i said before I'm thinking of doing a 1 15'' SPL system to use on weekends seeing tht i dont use on a vehicle i dont use much often or a SQ system to a daily driven car. Its very niice to see this thread,.....I'll keep overviewing it from time to time. :wink: