? frequency response: 25-500 Hz
? power handling: 200-500 watts RMS
? peak power: 1,500 watts
? sensitivity: 85 dB
? sealed box volume: 0.57-1.00 cu. ft.
? ported box volume: 0.75-2.00 cu. ft.
? Recommended Q-Logic Box Type: 1, 2, 3
? warranty: 1 year

since space is an issue and you have to go sealed, i'd recommend the 25lbs :shock: Alpine over the DD..

Mr Rovin wrote:d blue 15' audiopipe subs 3stage has (his box i did & is also in my subs thread) is 1 of d best econo loud subs around these days $1195 or less (rated 1000wrms)....d man come by me last wk when was d holiday & shaking up my workshed yes .... :D

i does love the look on people face when when they hear them play, and especially when i tell them is Audiopipe subs i have... :P

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 12:20 am

0.57??? isn't that kinda rel smal

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2007, 12:20 am

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2007, 12:21 am

personally id go with the US AMPS over quantum anyday.

any well..thats wat the company says

but rovin go hook u up..doe study

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 12:25 am

my bro had an xterminator once... rel beat up a 306.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2007, 12:26 am

^^ there u go

fuss hand experience

jeff

Postby jeff » September 8th, 2007, 2:08 am

ok meh boy i tryin to save you lots of money here

alpine does not have metal cones recheck your facts... kevlar pulp fibre cone and the sensitivity is 85
these are just numbers and apparently you cannot base a sub choice on these facts..how does 85 sensitivity sound? have you ever heard them play?

and i think everyone here can agree with me ..based on the kind of components and what you stated ie eminence etc... its not goin to make sense to go either sealed or buy a sq sub

if i was to play a audiopipe a cadence a pioneer kicker etc you would not be able to tell the difference cause it seems that you are new in setting up this system and dbs have the preference over linearity and decay

so my advice is get decent entry level stuff and learn about it rather than spend a seta money on brands

so you can go ahead and get your eminece bullets and maybe audiopipe subs ..lil wonder amps etc and i think this will satisfy what you are looking for.. this is not bashing your choice just trying to help im sure people here can agree with me here and see where im commin from

8-)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 8th, 2007, 3:27 am

man does have a point^^take ya time and doh rush a system i learn dat only recently

but the type R cud work with eminence..did work on a car an did a system with that and it sounded pretty good and was using coustic amps and bullet tweets..but if u want to go deaf by all means..ppl get the misconception that components cant play loud..it can eh u would be suprised what some good components could do with enough power

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » September 8th, 2007, 4:06 am

only $1000 for d 500wrms model

i cud see clearly now...... 4 DD1512s
doh stick rovin :P

DJ Q get a DD1512 too... for that price u cya go wrong man.....

Lance

Postby Lance » September 8th, 2007, 8:12 am

lil wonder amps are great budget amps,

People seem to be using the Sen. Rating to tell you how loud a sub will be, Thats misguiding.

Sen. is rated at 1W at 1 M.

Apply 1000watts and the end result will not result in a proportional change from the 1w@1m rating, power compression will vary per sub and will ensure that this will Never happen.

The Double power 3db theory hardly ever if ever happens.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 10:27 am

and i think everyone here can agree with me ..based on the kind of components and what you stated ie eminence etc... its not goin to make sense to go either sealed or buy a sq sub

well i lookin to see what good comps it have! rovin still eh tell me any good 6x9s...

SOMEBODY suggest good comps to use with the alpine. I gettin the QSA mono today. of course rovin will be buildin d box for the alpine IF i get it...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 8th, 2007, 10:46 am

Jeff sorta reinforced what i was trying to tell u about mixing street loud mids\highs with a sub more suited for SQ ...there is no law preventing ppl from doing dat but dise IMO

if were up to me i would put NO rear speakers just 1 good pair of 6.5 quality comps (@ least 75wrms) up front ...i prefer d front stage no or very little rearfill set ups but dise jes me & alot of ppl wont agree with me

but if still want d 6x9s go buy a place like triple R which has alot of brands u can choose from on ur own ....dise my honest opinion since i dont like to chain ppl to go by mr. x or mr. y since all he want sell u is what he sells & wont give an honest opinion

how much u getting dat Q amp for ? - d JBL amps at 3r reasonably priced i find or check RIK in marabella for other brands ........

jeff

Postby jeff » September 8th, 2007, 10:54 am

actually WHAT is your definition of loud....you shud pass by rovin for real and hear how loud his 1 pair coax in the front doors

6x9s could also work and for your purposes they are way capable of crossin the 120db threshold

but it all depends on how loud is loud for you

you should listen to a few different cars with different setups and make your own decision with your ears
Last edited by jeff on September 8th, 2007, 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » September 8th, 2007, 11:19 am

neway 2 12 type R cant go wrong it at all..had 1 in a seal box and dat used to trip alarms

wat waz the size of ur seal box, and how low it used to go

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 8th, 2007, 11:25 am

cant remmeber dawg dat was some years ago like 4yrs.. it was in a camaro tho but the box was small tho

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 11:43 am

MR. ROVIN i prefer rear and no front. I dunno why. I just like it like that...

jeff my definition of loud is when we could go by the beach or go and lime and my car is the DJ booth. But nice & clean.

So i'm studying now.. I can get 2 champion series 12" from rovin + box for $1500 (correct me if i'm wrong) vs payin about 2900 for 2 alpines to do te same thing. I might even keep the QLS amp i hve right now to run my mids. wait na... da song like a plan!!!!

ok dise it i nuh sellin my QLS no more.

sorry bout d epiphany there...

but yea.. if i get 2 champion series in a sealed box (designed by rovin of course) those could take the 1200rms? i kno when you add it up you get 800 rms from the speaker but u think 1200 is pushin it?

where is triple R? i supposed to go down strokers jes now. rovin yuh cud meet meh dere a wa?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 8th, 2007, 11:58 am

ahhh..strokers good place but so early u going dere :? and tripple r in gulf city mall

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 8th, 2007, 12:06 pm

now dat u being honest on what u want d system to do then i def rec u get d dj speakers dem & port d 2 pioneer 12s if u going with dat (cud keep dat white box u have if u decide to go dat route

if ur amp actually doing 1200wrms then dat go be perfect but if u want to save space then get 1 15 blue audiopipe 1000wrms sub

i have to be in my shop so cant meet u dey .......

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2007, 1:20 pm

hoss....doe over power those pioneer subs yo!

prob de premeir spl line..not those.

they say 400rms...450rms for de most..

those subs "take jamming" its wat ppl say...

u will not have dem for long in that case...

iv seen those voice coils heat up and burn like beyotches alrdy..

went by my cousin and he real doin it...feeling nice he jus build he new system..

homie have 600rms on de poor 12"..

after bout 15mins of playing...no bass....bass amp trip

sub dead..... and his gain waz set good...no even pass half yo..no bass boost...

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » September 8th, 2007, 5:33 pm

600rms on what pioneer boy chiney? he do somn wrong there, because the pioneers DO take more power than the rated rms and not jus a lil 50rms overpowering. rovin is de man with them so he'll know about them. DJ Q, u gonna have to scrap that sealed box idea for real. space is an issue? get one powerful sub an done de place :lol: how do those audiopipe 15s sound?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2007, 5:50 pm

hmm
waz that 306dvc i believe

but thats wat i been tryin to tell djq for de longest while!!

1 alpine type r or 1 12 atomic ele

and he safe

but he wants sealed

so i stickin to my type r sealed.. the damage that will do with the quantum mono..

boy..... u go be deadly!

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » September 8th, 2007, 5:53 pm

fo real eh. tha alpine in a sealed box will get on bad. but its not suited for his application...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2007, 6:11 pm

^^ he wants sealed for quick responsive bass..den he gonna use dj speakers for voice..

yow

sealed type r
6x9s..
good to go

or

ported 2 10s pioneer
2 10" eminence and 2 6"
loud and mad

choose :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 8:19 pm

so i now reach back from strokers (yea Chiney, daz where ah was wen yuh call) alllllllmoss drunk...

buh anyway. d man wit d QSA f*ckup and jus piss me off mannn..

if i get d deck sold i cud get it tho...

SO 2 12" in a box designed to givee me somewhat of trunk space. :( or 1 15 in he mc... 3stage.. whey yuh get da sub? it have red? yuh cud spray paint a speaker?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 8th, 2007, 8:58 pm

dont want to make chiney cuz seem like he dont know wha he doing but only 600wrms on a 306 & it bun in 15mins ... :shock:

not boasting of showing off but i used a soundstream 880.2 (rated 880wrms @ 4ohm - 3 25A fuses) on a new 12" champion series shaking down d place here & setting off ppl alarms & not 1 thing happen to d sub - same with d 4 new 10" champion which i have for sale SS picasso rated 2000wrms on all 4 ...subs dont even get hot or smell
...strong input signal & no gain raise when i set something up yet d full power flowing

back to DJ Q scene - u want beach loud music so i suggest u do get d DJ mids\bullets
u wasting a good quality sub like d type R for dat purpose ^^^^
....if u get 2 12s it will take up a lil more space as a 1 15 sub box ....u cud also do a 1 powerful 12" & take up less space than either combo ^^^....
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on September 8th, 2007, 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 9:02 pm

3000spl?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 8th, 2007, 9:08 pm

^^had 1 of those too but since i love loooooow freq bass i had mine tuned to 33-34hz ....only d 2nd wk i had it in my wagon it completely shake out d trunk's key lock mechanism which jes dropped down inside d trunk panel ....when u crank up dat sub it actually used to distort d way words come out ur mouth when u in d car - sort of like if u talking in front a fan

never tuned it high but was a really good low freq performing sub .......

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 9:11 pm

yuh see das d prob... i love lows, but i want a full spectrum

i HATE to hear cars passin and the upper bassline jus missin.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 8th, 2007, 9:19 pm

dise y i love components so i can enjoy d music INside my ride

if u set d lowpass filter on ur bass amp at around 60-70 & u have good components which play from around that same level all d way up to 20khz ...then what else u want - u have d whole heap rite dey ..... :wink:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 8th, 2007, 9:23 pm

well i love music that i can enjoy IN and OUTside the car..