Car audio advice thread

Re: Budget 6.5/ Now car audio advice thread

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2021, 5:31 pm

What's you intention for staging? Band in front and vocalist sitting behind you singing in your ears?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 12th, 2021, 5:55 pm

rollingstock wrote:What's you intention for staging? Band in front and vocalist sitting behind you singing in your ears?
nah. Trying to get the sq system a tad louder. But still sound pretty nice.

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2021, 6:11 pm

That's not sq then.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 12th, 2021, 6:21 pm

rollingstock wrote:That's not sq then.
The system was never suppose to be an sq set up. The aim was something tonal, slightly loud but as stock looking as possible

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2021, 6:36 pm

In that case I would look for a speaker with a full range response for the front doors, and some loud but still tonal mids like higher end faital or beyma etc for the rear that can be attenuated for everyday listening.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 12th, 2021, 7:24 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:That's not sq then.
The system was never suppose to be an sq set up. The aim was something tonal, slightly loud but as stock looking as possible

You guys really throwing around the "SQ" and "SQL" terms loosely here.
So for sure your intent is not anything near an SQ System. Seeing that you are looking for something with good tonality and not imaging per say, good advice again would be given by suggesting proper speaker location for your woofers, both lefts and rights. Remember if you are doing a 3 way per say, you would position all drivers to "sum" together best by selecting good speaker locations. i.e. to minimize path length differences. With different bands of the spectrum coming from different path lengths and directions you are setting up your self for disaster.

As recommended a better option would be to have a more capable 2 way system on your door. I don't see why a simple Faital Fe200 and Dome tweeter cannot achieve this.

Postby Rovin » December 12th, 2021, 7:54 pm

d term SOUND QUALITY is an IN car sound system designed to make d driver feel he\she is sitting in a live concert hearing every detail precisely as its being played or every detail of what was recorded in a studio

SQ shud not be confuse with a loud clear\clean "full sounding" system which can also be misnamed "SQL" which btw is not even a recognized term but more of a common slang

anytime a sound system is purposely built to be heard OUTside of a vehicle then its whats locally called a "gallery" system

... i am not bashing\discriminating what ppl like : jes saying what is what

Postby Rovin » December 12th, 2021, 8:02 pm

Jeremy , a wetman has 4 door speaker holes so put dem 4 orion cm6 along with a quality 150rmsx4 4 chan & i doubt u will want anything more mids unless u loosing ur hearing .... or another option with a 4 chan amp is to leave ur pair of door speakers always connected & get 2 mids box with neutrik jacks for when u liming to connect to d other half of d 4 chan ...... u will def need a strong bassline to keep up these 4 speakers

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 12th, 2021, 8:30 pm

Rovin wrote:Jeremy , a wetman has 4 door speaker holes so put dem 4 orion cm6 along with a quality 150rmsx4 4 chan & i doubt u will want anything more mids unless u loosing ur hearing .... or another option with a 4 chan amp is to leave ur pair of door speakers always connected & get 2 mids box with neutrik jacks for when u liming to connect to d other half of d 4 chan ...... u will def need a strong bassline to keep up these 4 speakers
I already have good quality midbass speakers and some decent silks. I think you all misinterpreted what i said. Correct me if am wrong. When i said "sound quality" i meant it as what the words actually means,sounding good. I must agree with rovin, i want full clean sounding music. An i enjoy the fading from left to right. So yes, i want to make it a 3 way system, those front doors got lots of TLC for those midbass and am keeping, i really like my silks also, i want to add some high mid just to make it sound a bit brighter if you know what i mean. The goal wasn't in car only listening, i don't lime by bars and rivers for gallery playing but am sure i want if someone stands next to my car an i play they can be impressed of the quality of sound coming from the car, without trying to be the loudest on the block. I want my car as stock as possible also, thats why i was thinking some compact headrest boxes or something small for the back dash for the high mid. Hope yall understand where am coming from

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 12th, 2021, 8:33 pm

Rovin wrote:Jeremy , a wetman has 4 door speaker holes so put dem 4 orion cm6 along with a quality 150rmsx4 4 chan & i doubt u will want anything more mids unless u loosing ur hearing .... or another option with a 4 chan amp is to leave ur pair of door speakers always connected & get 2 mids box with neutrik jacks for when u liming to connect to d other half of d 4 chan ...... u will def need a strong bassline to keep up these 4 speakers
Lol its not for liming, everything staying inside the car. I plan on using the jl to power the mid bass and high mid speaker if we can decide on one around 75-100rms 4ohm to cover 500hz-3khz perfectly. An ill get a decent small amp just for my silks which are covering 3khz up.

Postby Rovin » December 12th, 2021, 8:53 pm

we all understand what u saying but putting speakers even with specific ranges all over gonna sound like toots eh

jes put 4 speakers in d stock door locations ...

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 12th, 2021, 9:10 pm

Rovin wrote:we all understand what u saying but putting speakers even with specific ranges all over gonna sound like toots eh

jes put 4 speakers in d stock door locations ...
Nice. What to add to the back doors? Bear in mind the power i got. And just to confirm, don't do the midbass plays midbass only and midrange for midrange again? An i want to keep the midbass speakers i have infront

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2021, 9:58 pm

What speakers do you have in front? Not sure if I missed it.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 13th, 2021, 6:31 am

rollingstock wrote:What speakers do you have in front? Not sure if I missed it.
Resilient sounds es65c and a pair of arc audio x2 tweets

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 13th, 2021, 12:21 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:

Those woofers cant get up to 3kHz to pair with your tweets?

Postby rollingstock » December 13th, 2021, 1:10 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:

Those RS will play into tweeter territory easily. I don't see a need for an additional speaker for voice for the front.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 13th, 2021, 3:44 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:

Those RS will play into tweeter territory easily. I don't see a need for an additional speaker for voice for the front.
I feel as though it lacks in the high mid area. I had it at 3.1khz with a 24db slope on the 80prs to match where i had my tweeters and it sounded kind of weird at high volumes. I dropped is to 2.5khz with a 12db slope and they sounded better with the tweeter staying at 3.1khz

Postby timelapse » December 13th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:

I feel as though it lacks in the high mid area. I had it at 3.1khz with a 24db slope on the 80prs to match where i had my tweeters and it sounded kind of weird at high volumes. I dropped is to 2.5khz with a 12db slope and they sounded better with the tweeter staying at 3.1khz
Bro, do you RTA? Could just be your hearing biased to high mids.

Postby rollingstock » December 13th, 2021, 4:58 pm

The rs would have a flatter response across the bandwidth compared to the popular pro audio drivers.

As suggested before the faital 4" or elektra playing the higher mids on the sailpanel in a 3 way might give you what you want

Postby rollingstock » December 13th, 2021, 5:04 pm

What area you from? I could let you hear what a simple 2 way can sound.

Postby rollingstock » December 14th, 2021, 12:30 am

Faital pro 6fe200 4ohm version

PRV 6mb250 4ohm version.

Postby rollingstock » December 14th, 2021, 12:30 am

Vids might get pulled for copyright just now :lol:

Postby timelapse » December 14th, 2021, 7:28 am

If allyuh ever want custom audio tracks, gimme a holler.Not remixes .Songs from scratch to test music.
The faitals sound better imo .Can you do Rebecca Pigeon - Spanish Harlem?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 14th, 2021, 8:20 am

rollingstock wrote:Vids might get pulled for copyright just now
My vote goes to the faitals also

Postby rollingstock » December 14th, 2021, 8:30 am

PRV won though. I'll pull the buju and play it with the prv. Faital had better midbass, but those were crossed 65hz up because the sub was tuned 18hz. PRV crossed at 80hz, subs tuned mid 30's.
Music can be so subjective though, that's why I advise anyone to go into a store like rovin's where you can hear the speakers before purchase.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 14th, 2021, 9:13 am

Fellas, i have a nvx jad800.4 that was doing some weird stuff. No protect or anything,powers on fine. When the music is playing the output level/volume coming through speakers fluctuates. I suspect is cold solder to be done. Anyone can recommend a good amp repair man? Hopefully in the tunapuna to grande area. Except allyrat as i heard he is not fixing amps again for whatever reason.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 14th, 2021, 9:14 am

rollingstock wrote:PRV won though. I'll pull the buju and play it with the prv. Faital had better midbass, but those were crossed 65hz up because the sub was tuned 18hz. PRV crossed at 80hz, subs tuned mid 30's.
Music can be so subjective though, that's why I advise anyone to go into a store like rovin's where you can hear the speakers before purchase.
Sub tuned 18hz? Can i ask what sub you were using?

Postby rollingstock » December 14th, 2021, 9:47 am

Earthquake subzero 12", still have it in the garage collecting dog hair.

Using a pair of dd608, much rather these subs for everyday listening and I have a lot more trunk space.

david12

Postby david12 » December 14th, 2021, 9:55 am

I'm very much intrigued. Why tune so low? What were you going for?

Postby rollingstock » December 14th, 2021, 10:24 am

Shits and giggles.
Naw I listen to a lot of rebassed music, love the lows was also using that sub and enclosure for lfe for home theatre.