Open Sound Quality Class 7th June 2009

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » June 3rd, 2009, 8:42 pm

Thanks Jon. I had NO intention to compete but this event made me change my mind.

Will be there bright and early on Sunday morning. Aaron 2NR, I want to listen to them Elementals.

Postby X_Factor » June 3rd, 2009, 10:25 pm

same here, my install looks crappy, seeing the hot glue used to mount the tweets RCA's speaker wire visible but im glad to know the install was purely DIY with advice from everyone

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » June 3rd, 2009, 10:53 pm

I am no installer (by far). Did my stuff by my self... (well got some help from the better half). Not pretty but working on it. As with everyone else, it does not matter a what I score. The opportunity to gain knowledge and insight on how I can improve is the driving factor to entering on sunday.

I have never heard any SQ vehicles prior to this post and I hope Sunday will be the first. Honestly with regards to build and tunning I do not know what it is I am doing but I am reading alot of forums and advices (via internet). Google is my best friend in all this. I am looking foward to competing on Sunday even if I am entering blind folded.

I have problems with my system. Lots of problems. Things are not how they should be or how I would like it to be, but if it is fixed or not ah coming.

Postby SR » June 4th, 2009, 5:53 am

Soundstream_626 wrote:are the categories being split?

and also point of interest : what about ppl who did not build their own car ?

it may be argued that they have an " advantage " over the other competitors if their set was done professionally

same argument can be said for the rookie class in iasca sq as well

however to put an end to this stupiduty

aaron's van was built as an everyday install not for competition nor does it have any "high end" anything or special install of anything

so its a true daily driveer system

now if smurf's car was in the competition then obviously that car was purpose built as well as its not a daily driver system and would not be fair to allow it in the open class

its the same as with the s2000 when it was in competition
basic simple daily driver install

what people need to keep in mind is this is an open class for people who have never competed before to get thier feet wet in sq

the obvious progression would be to becoming an iasca member and competing in a relevant iasca category

as for professionaly installed systems one would be surprised of the amount of do it yourselfers that can install and tune just as well and somtimes even better than some proffesional installers

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 4th, 2009, 9:21 am

Will the s2000 and smurf be there for demo or otherwise?

Postby SR » June 4th, 2009, 9:57 am

both vehicles are out of commission for the next coiple weeks

both are in the paint shop

if the weather is good on sunday and i dont have to walk with the tent i will bring the civic for demo as that system is competition ready

Racegod

Postby Racegod » June 4th, 2009, 10:13 am

SR,

i agree with you on the SQ open cat, with regards to Aaron... that was never built with the intent of comp, so i don't see a problem there... and it doesn't matter who put it together... things like staging and imaging may not have been considered, as this is a daily driver set... but i can't wait to hear and see all these cars...

big up to SR and the Iasca team for putting this together, i think this is the way for the future for SQ...

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 4th, 2009, 10:24 am

Racegod I still using that box as a chair.

Put me down rookie class

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 5th, 2009, 7:56 am

:scatter:

jeff

Postby jeff » June 5th, 2009, 8:06 am

nigel1977 wrote:^^^ We'd like to get an idea of the classes your 2 cars are coming in Jeff.

ups is playing around

if they do not pull through with a replacement for what seems to be more than a firmware issue soon, this may affect this number

ppl bring your original cds and come out and listen, promises to be a fun informative and competitive day

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 5th, 2009, 8:07 am

aye SR whey yuh..lol

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 8:10 am

iasca sound q cd's and t shirts willbe available for purchase at this event

it is most unfortunate that some people have been using a burnt copy of the iasca test cd for tuning as well as it is also most unfortunate that i am told this was distributed by an iasca member

$150 for the original cd
$150 for a t shirt at this event

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2009, 9:24 am

I could come with no backseat? :oops:

the ole noise I just cant seem to get rid off :?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 5th, 2009, 1:53 pm

sqi question, I may not have my sunvisor in the car, problem there?

And can I show my build log via my iPhone cause I may not finish to have all my pics printed

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 2:22 pm

as an iasca memebr you will need to preseent in writing as to why the vehicle interior is not in its stock form

otherwise vehicle may be bumped up in class as it can be considered a modification to the vehicles interior for the purpose of enhancment of sound

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 2:24 pm

you can present the car as you see fit however overall presentation will be looked at

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 5th, 2009, 2:31 pm

Rookies are exempt from build log books.

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 2:32 pm

wait since when he in rookie :mrgreen:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 5th, 2009, 2:35 pm

I must have mis read somewhere in this thread. Ah well.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 5th, 2009, 2:36 pm

As we on the topic of rookies.

Which of the previous rookies are allowed to stay in rookie, and which ones have to move up?

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 2:36 pm

if he is in rookie he doesnt need to explain anything regarding the interior

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 2:38 pm

anyone who has competed in rookie in a previous season must move on up
which means i dont expect to see any previous rookie competitor in the rookie class this weekend

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 5th, 2009, 2:41 pm

lol. certainly clears that up. lol

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 2:47 pm

depending on the amount of competitors in the open class SQ i may need to split the class into 2 groups

but only on sunday when i have the acutal registration forms that will be decided

groups split will be decided by 4 ohm power class
total rms power at 4 ohm of all amplifiers in the vehicle

0-1000 watts and over 1000 watts
however if a class only has one competitor then we will not split the group

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 5th, 2009, 2:49 pm

SR wrote:anyone who has competed in rookie in a previous season must move on up
which means i dont expect to see any previous rookie competitor in the rookie class this weekend

Sucks to be them. I mean I did compete rookie this whole season in spl.

I brougt up the log book issue as I may have to show my ground connections, just incase i'm asking from now

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 2:53 pm

spl rookie class does not count

runs off to find someone to join and compete in rookie class so boom will not be alone :mrgreen:

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2009, 3:00 pm

SR wrote:runs off to find someone to join and compete in rookie class so boom will not be alone :mrgreen:

what class im in?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 5th, 2009, 3:00 pm

SR wrote:spl rookie class does not count

runs off to find someone to join and compete in rookie class so boom will not be alone :mrgreen:

Please do, would be interesting where I stand. I just aiming for a 130 point frontstage.

I'll make you guys a deal, if it's me alone in rookie, put me in any class you think I should be.

Postby SR » June 5th, 2009, 3:06 pm

slacker_jack wrote:
SR wrote:runs off to find someone to join and compete in rookie class so boom will not be alone :mrgreen:

what class im in?

i dont ahve anyone registered as an iasca competitor under the name slacker jack

however if you are not an iasca member you can compete in the sqc open class which is for non members only

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2009, 3:12 pm

SR wrote:
slacker_jack wrote:

what class im in?

i dont ahve anyone registered as an iasca competitor under the name slacker jack

however if you are not an iasca member you can compete in the sqc open class which is for non members only

double check just to make sure :lol:

open class it is then 8-)

damn I goin to fail miserably with that noisy backseat.