Postby riadb » July 7th, 2008, 6:26 am

boom
Why 0.5 ohm???

i hearin 2.67 ohms, 1 ohm... all kinda ting
wha power you lookin for @ 0.5 ohm???

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 7:41 am

riadb wrote:^^ most amps can operate down to 11V with decreased efficiency Q once there is enough current to meet it's needs.

Isn't that bad??

riadb

Postby riadb » July 7th, 2008, 7:52 am

DJ Q wrote:
riadb wrote:^^ most amps can operate down to 11V with decreased efficiency Q once there is enough current to meet it's needs.

Isn't that bad??

2 ohm nominal = 948 watts @ 85% efficiency (voltage fell from 14.3v, to 13.6v)
.5 ohm nominal = 1615 watts @ 72% efficiency (voltage fell from 14.3v, to 11.8v)

yea it is...up to a point, If it dips from 14 - 11V while during play then you have a problem, for burping it could pass...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 7:56 am

i think it's better to get an amp that will give the power + efficiency @ 2 ohms

riadb

Postby riadb » July 7th, 2008, 8:06 am

VR2000D FTW!!!!!!!
2 ohm stable
2000W @ 13.8V
2432W @ 14.4V
3512W @ 16V

but daz over 350 - 400+ Amps of current needed dey...

boom i think you should invest in ah SPL dynamics amplifier

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 8:41 am

guys u all think that a stable currant system comes from a better alt but in fact a stock alt rated @120A will perform better idling cold than an upgraded alt which needs to idle at 2000rpm.. so in this case stock alt will be better ..

once booom can get max currant from that alt i.e the big 3 upgrade and his batteries are fully and properly charged with correct guage wire runinig from front to back with proper grounds he can safely burp with a voltage drop up to 12.5 up from 13.5

a proper power foundation on an average amp will beat a very bess amp on a shitty power setup ... thing is spl is just not about the amp as other factors come into play like box design ,power transfer and install

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 8:50 am

once booom can get max currant from that alt i.e the big 3 upgrade and his batteries are fully and properly charged with correct guage wire runinig from front to back with proper grounds he can safely burp with a voltage drop up to 12.5 up from 13.5

that's the electrical upgrade i was talking about

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 8:52 am

delete

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2008, 12:46 pm

pioneer wrote:As i said a sub handling 500W @ 1 ohm, isn't gonna handle more power if you wire the sub to 0.5 ohm.

this is a popular misconcepion that pple hav, lower impendance = more power :? (esp down by me).

I donnow hen they will unnerstan that 500 rms @ 4 ohm & 500 rms @ 0.5 ohm is still 500 rms :roll:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 12:53 pm

actually slacker u confusing amps with subwoofers..

most class d amps the more u load them .. in terms of the lower the impedence the more power they will output .. i.e some amps give alot more than rated power at 0.5 than at 1 ohm or even 2 ohm ..

now a subwoofer no matter hwo u wire it will not raise the ratings .. if it is 500wrms if u parallel it it will not handle 1000wrms

however i have powered subs with well over their rated power and never had them burn ..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 1:00 pm

pioneer in spl comps pple try to squeeze every possible watt out of the amp .. if u start to read up on the stuff pple do ... in trini pple just read a magazine and see soundstream 6500d doin these number so they rush out and buy it then to realise it doesnt put ot those power cuz some pple runing the amps at half ohm and 16v of currant to get the maximum power out ot fhe amp

now i am not applying this to daily playing nor sq which i know boom is not gonna do

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2008, 1:02 pm

naw, i meant hose idiots down by me think that if you wire subs down to 1 ohm you will be "louder" than if you wire the subs @ 4 ohm.

I hav an idea of how the amps config does usually go: 250 rms @ 4 ohm, 500 rms @ 2 ohm, 1000 rms @ 1 ohm if it capable of goin down to 1 ohm etc. most cant go down to 0.5 ohm (like some ah de ever popular boss chaos 1000).

but what i meant like with respect to amps, they believe that the 500 rms from a 4 ohm stable amp putting out 500 rms @ 4 ohm (cant go lower than 4) is less than the 500 rms that you will get from an amp that puts out 500 rms @ 1 ohm.

riadb

Postby riadb » July 7th, 2008, 1:04 pm

Optidrive Series 2000 Watt Half Ohm Stable Mono Block Digital Competition Class Amplifier

SPECS

700 Watts RMS Power @ 4 Ohms
1100 Watts RMS Power @ 2 Ohms
1600 Watts RMS Power @ 1.3 Ohms
2000 Watts Max Power @ 0.5 Ohms
4000 Watts Bridge Max Power @ 2 Ohms
Mono Block Subwoofer Amplifier
0.5 Ohm Stable
MOSFET Power Supply
PWM (Pulse-Width-Modulated) System
Double Sided Epoxy PCB Circuit Board
Gold Plated RCA Inputs
Custom Terminal Block for Speaker Connections
Thermal, Overload Short Protection
Remote Bass Control
Soft Turn On/Off
THD @ 1Watt/4 Ohm: 0.1%
S/N Ratio: 90dB
Frequency Response: 15Hz - 150Hz (+/-3dB)
Damping Factor @ 20Hz/4 Ohms: 400
Low Pass Filter: 50Hz-150Hz, 24dB/Octave
Variable Subsonic Filter: 15Hz-40Hz, 24dB/Octave
Variable Bass Boost: 0 to 18dB
Variable Phase Control: 0 to 180
Input Sensitivity: 200mV ~ 8V
Input Impedance: 10k Ohm
Line Output Impedance: 100 Ohm
Fuse Rating: 30A x 6
Dimensions: 10.08'' (W) x 2.12'' (H) x 19.1'' (L)

i know it eh all dat but daz de only 0.5 ohm stable amp I findin

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2008, 1:11 pm

yuh mean the only 2000watt 0.5ohm stable amp?

cuz i think rf hav 0.5 ohm sable amps.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 1:12 pm

most amps dont give u .5 ohm specs

as well as this amp gives specs in bridged mode which is 2 amps daisychained together

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2008, 1:25 pm

ok, nah looks like i was mistaken, rf eh hav 0.5 ohm amps...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 1:59 pm

^i believe that's the category

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 1:59 pm

pioneer i think u really need to open ur mind..

db drag street class mandates that u compete with 1 battery 800si with engine off..

yes still pple doin over 155-160..WITH ONE BATTERY !!!!! no alt power .. why u think they doin that

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 2:11 pm

alt dont make a diff once ur currant system is stable.. some ple burp at .5 ohm with a voltage drop of 1.5v at most

look at some of the tests on termpro.com

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 7th, 2008, 2:48 pm

pioneer as much as u know ur reaidng .. u should go out sometimes

in the real world sometimes winnig a competition means winning by .1db yes .1 db

so if u competing an prepare all ur life and get beat by .1 db just cuz teh other team did it

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2008, 7:30 pm

amp/sub health is not an issue in SPL pios...

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2008, 8:36 pm

pioneer wrote:I'm not into SPL

I'm just talkin bout the health of the amp and car from a logical perspective

But hey what i talkin bout, damage de amp n car n then say de amp is crap :|

i ran my SS 2000D on a stock alternator and a Track 11 plate battery for over a year and never had problems either with the amp or car... (the battery would only last about 6 months though..)

of course, i was always abit careful to not let the voltage drop to low below 12V...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 8th, 2008, 8:38 am

Never saw the point of SPL, i always thought car audio was made to listen to...

SPL is not about audio

SPL is all about the numbers

Just like drag racing as opposed to circuit

yuh car doh need to be pretty/have good cornering/have plenty whatever to drag. once it could stay in a straight line and get to the end very fast... yuh good.

in circuit racing there are many other factors.

understand now?

SPL is not for everybody, and for those that arent' into it... they will never get it.

It takes a certain level of dedication to turn a car into a big speaker box.

riadb

Postby riadb » July 8th, 2008, 8:55 am

Q is right pios....SPL is not for the everyday audio enthusiast and sometimes demands more than the usual from the competitior and his equipment...

Boom just wants to know if the amp can handle the strain of a 0.5 ohm burp
and since nobody knows for sure the answer will obviously be NO as it has not been tested yet and nobody want's to put up the paper in case the amplifier fails so end of discussion rite dey, the Atomic as far as "we" here in this ched know cannot go down to 0.5 ohm until proven.....

Boom purchase an amplifier u comfortable with, i don't think when you're doing a SPL vehicle you would want to have any doubts about the reliability of your equipment..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 8th, 2008, 9:26 am

actually i spoke to some pple who compete and they say the atomic 5000d goes down to .5 as welll as the 1500d

my best bet would be to look at price and support ..i.e who u can call up and get instant help

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 8th, 2008, 9:51 am

you can't be serious about SPL if u fraid to spend the money

because at the end of the day, equipment WILL fail, subs WILL burn.

either u in it or u not

and if nothing fail or burn... then you eh doin it right yet.

casper

Postby casper » July 8th, 2008, 10:03 am

DJ Q wrote:and if nothing fail or burn... then you eh doin it right yet.

that is not necessarily true

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 8th, 2008, 10:44 am

casper wrote:
DJ Q wrote:and if nothing fail or burn... then you eh doin it right yet.

that is not necessarily true

yes it is... because imagine you are trying to squeeze every last watt of power...

you ARE going to strain the system

if nothing burn... there's more you can do

not so?

casper

Postby casper » July 8th, 2008, 11:01 am

^^^i dont think so ....are u aware that when someone breaks a record in IASCA they have to back it up 3 times before it becomes official???....if ure philosophy is true about u HAVE to burn/damage ure equipment in order to be at ur maximum potential then how do u expect to back up ure score if u burn everything down in ure 1st or 2nd attempt???? :|

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » July 8th, 2008, 11:12 am