Postby pimptacular » August 20th, 2007, 10:54 pm

jeff wrote:lol casper talkin bout tonal accuracy imaging and soundstage :o
what is goin on here :mrgreen:

:lol: for real eh

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 21st, 2007, 7:19 am

silent_riot wrote:^^^Whas your system? :)

ads 346 comps, dls classic 4 channel, orion deq and kenwood excelon hu

casper

Postby casper » August 21st, 2007, 8:23 am

gfbl wrote:nobody using horns? usd, id?

yea...me and HITTLER using compression drivers....he is using RCF drivers and flares and i using 18sound drivers and flares

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 21st, 2007, 8:55 am

dat wasnt quite the horns i had in mind

jeff

Postby jeff » August 21st, 2007, 9:05 am

^^ :o :faint:

casper

Postby casper » August 21st, 2007, 9:06 am

:oops:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » August 21st, 2007, 9:25 am

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 21st, 2007, 11:06 am

gfbl should have asked if anyone is using waveguides or HLCD's.

And the general answer is eh, wais dat.

No they're not using them.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 21st, 2007, 11:20 am

time to change that then :D

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 21st, 2007, 11:28 am

only 'horn' my car have is d horn u press to blow --- :lol: :lol: :lol:

HLCDs - http://www.elitecaraudio.com/home/html/print.php?sid=37

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 21st, 2007, 11:41 am

^^^^time to go back to the drawing board.. lots of homework to do my friend

waveguides has been used in many many sq cars abroad.. and since i see alot of pple trying to copy what they has been using its a surprise lots of the so called "installers" aint using them

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 21st, 2007, 11:49 am

waveguides have had their time. Thwy were real big when the imaging portion of the iasca scoresheet was worth more points than the tonal accuracy section... Wait, you were there when this was discussed.

The fundamental flaw of a HLCD is its limited lower freq resp. Based purely on what was discussed, and the engineering data, HCLD's can properly do full vocal reproduction. (Ive never seen/heard a HLCD do as low as 200hz).

Go back to your notes. YOU DONT NEED HLCD's. :twisted:

Postby crazybalhead » August 21st, 2007, 11:53 am

I just add two ah dem alarm horns. Gold. 0X Sweet mids yo.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 21st, 2007, 11:59 am

right nigel i rember that but what about the ones who werent there? ... those who still think that speakers in the doors are the best place for optimal sound reproduction ...

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 22nd, 2007, 8:22 am

but doesnt horns have their advantages,
"horns will control the dispersion of the sound and in a car because most horns do a great job of attenuating the output of the far left and right sides of the horns when compared to the output directed towards the center of the car...this is good because there will be minimal door reflections and as such the soundstage will be more focused and the system more linear in frequency response ASSUMING the horn itself is quite linear in frequency response". Those were taken from someone else and are not my words

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 22nd, 2007, 8:31 am

Thats 100% correct.

HOWEVER...

As we have learnt, the lower octaves of a Baritone performer can drop down to 200hz, if the baritone is placed on the center of the sound stage, and you are using hlcd's, and the midbass driver is put in the door, where do you think the baritone singer will be reproduced?

Waveguides are excellent, but ony for a narrow band of frequencies.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 22nd, 2007, 8:36 am

so the frequencies that are excluded make such a difference when listening to music?is it audible to "regualr" ppl not audiophiles and ppl trained ins uch things?

jeff

Postby jeff » August 22nd, 2007, 8:48 am

around 100 to 200 hz.. yep people can hear that

most cars..in trini..dont have much sound in this area tho...and they are quite satisfied with how their music sounds, people only want what they know..so if they accustomed with this they wont know somethings missing there ...scene?

so you cant miss something if it was never there

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 22nd, 2007, 8:48 am

Look at it this way, what is the lowest frequency a waveguide can reproduce? 800, 630, 500?

Where are all the male vocals? Where are all the percussion instruments? Lower than 500? So basically, the waveguide will only optimize the frequencies it can reproduce, and leave out everything else.

Anyone, and I mean anyone can listen to a system and pick up basic instruments. You don't have to own a degree to do that hoss. I can promise you, if you're into learning things like imaging and staging, there is no way you will listen to systems with speakers mounted rearwards of your ears again.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 22nd, 2007, 8:50 am

so if i was using hlcd's per say would adding a pair of tweeters help in reproducing all frequencies?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 22nd, 2007, 8:56 am

youre looking at the wrong end of the spectrum.

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2007, 9:06 am

adding tweeters will pick up where the hlcd's has ended

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 22nd, 2007, 9:13 am

nigel1977 wrote:youre looking at the wrong end of the spectrum.

elaborate some nah?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 22nd, 2007, 9:16 am

edited...
Last edited by nigel1977 on August 22nd, 2007, 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

jeff

Postby jeff » August 22nd, 2007, 9:16 am

the hlcds drop off in the lower end IE around 200hz and... tweeters are for the upper end of the spectrum...IE Heights...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 22nd, 2007, 9:17 am

100% correct.

Adding tweeters will extend the response.

From my minute level of research, imaging cues are almost non existent above 6-7k. So I dunno.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 22nd, 2007, 9:20 am

i see. what should be used to fill the lower frequency gap?

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2007, 9:26 am

midbass drivers

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 22nd, 2007, 7:35 pm

a good pair of shallow subs or a pair of 6" subs up front